We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay at Mondrian” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NoMo SoHo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added NoMo SoHo Hotel to your Saves list
NoMo SoHo Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Crosby Street, New York City, NY 10013 (Formerly Mondrian SoHo Hotel) (SoHo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #250 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Second stay at Mondrian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

This was my second time at Mondrian hotel and once again I really loved it. What brings me back to this hotel is the cool vibe and the location. We were here for 6 night and we had a great stay. Loved having breakfast in the dinning room each day. Found the bar expensive but that is the case with all of New York. Joey was great with his recommendation and help with getting around New York.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Manager at NoMo SoHo Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear jgillingham,

We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your first stay so much, you decided to come back. Thank you for sharing your review with Trip Advisor. Joey is a wonderful asset to our concierge team and we will make sure to share your comments with him.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,

James Bryant

Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    329
    127
    63
    35
See reviews for
119
397
69
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

While I am well aware that in NYC you pay big $$$$ for tiny rooms (especially in an area like Soho), and while I loved the decor and location, there were some minor flaws in this property.

For one, the "king" size bed is definitely not normal dimensions as my 6'3 BF had half of his legs hanging over the edge (a problem he doesn't even experience with a regular queen bed).

Also, during both days/nights we stayed there, all on property food/beverage services were not operating at all. While this wasn't an issue for us, I can imagine being really annoyed if I were a business traveler and didn't have time to venture out of the hotel for meals. They did provide us with breakfast boxes, which were nothing to write home about (think packaged danish, muffin, piece of fruit), but thoughtful nonetheless.

Found front desk staff to be helpful and personable.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Manager at NoMo SoHo Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear BMelanie,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I see that you stayed with us during the time that we experienced a challenge with the refrigeration in our kitchen which caused us to shut down food and beverage service. We have since then resolved everything and are up and running. We hope that you will join us again soon to experience our wonderful outlets.

Please come visit us again soon.

Kind Regards,

James Bryant
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIYADH
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Great hotel, rooms are a little small but who stays a long time in the room when in NY?
Beds are great, front desk very helpful, concierge desk with great advice.
They have a great restaurant, Saturday brunch was delicious and service was very friendly.
They have this small garden in the front where you can sit and enjoy a smoke and see the most beautiful girls pass you by. Was very happy sitting there while my wife went shopping.
Forgot to say the rooms have those ceiling to floor windows some of the views are a beauty.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Manager at NoMo SoHo Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear SOBHI E,

It sounds like you had a very enjoyable and relaxing time while at Mondrian Soho. We are very happy to read that you had a great stay and hope that you will be joining us again soon.

Kind Regards,

James Bryant
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed for 8 nights at the end of June/ start of July - what a great hotel!

Rooms were small, but very comfortable. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud and the bathroom was beautiful with very nice toiletries.

Location cannot be beaten, we love Soho and its such a perfect spot to shop, eat and drink.

My only minor negative comment was the inability to visit the rooftop bar without being on a 'guestlist', I understand that the rooftop is run by a separate company, but I would have thought hotel guests would get priority. Again just a minor gripe as we had so much fun hitting bars in Soho and the LES.

I loved staying at the Mondrian Soho, strongly recommend it to anyone who'll listen, and we will return hopefully in the not too distant future!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Manager at NoMo SoHo Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Jrod-1979,

How wonderful to read that you ventured off to the Lower East Side while you were here. Our location and neighborhood has a lot of wonderful options for dining and entertaining. We are sorry that you were unable to experience Soaked during this visit and truly value your feedback.

We can't wait to have you with us again in the not too distant future. Please contact our Guest Experience Manager, Isabel Prado prior to returning so she can assist in accommodating any special requests you may have.

Kind Regards,

James Bryant

Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft collins colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Mondrian over a long weekend. What a delight! This hotel is an oasis in the craziness of NYC. It has a unique style and ambiance that is refreshing. This is not a "big box" hotel. Try the Sunday brunch w/ DJ in the "greenhouse" bar. Great food and drink and even better people watching. I was especially impressed with the concierge (Leah). She planned an itinerary that made our visit a memorable one. Even made a reservation at a nearby restaurant that was booked 3 months out. Amazing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Manager at NoMo SoHo Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear mike h,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent special stay. We are very happy to learn that Leah was such an amazing help to you and that you truly enjoyed our property. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

James Bryant
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I was in New York for a long weekend at the beginning of August and this is the second time I've stayed at this hotel. I love this place! In fact I'm a big fan of Morgans Hotels in general (especially the Sanderson in London).
The rooms are small but nicely done with floor to ceiling windows and as another reviewer pointed out they have lots of power sockets (it's so annoying when you get to a hotel room and have one plug half way across the room). The crowd that goes/stays there is a young affluent lively crowd and I was in New York to party so the staff were well catered to my needs of lots of wine at 6am if needed and didn't batter and eyelid that I was having an after party in my room. Also the rooms must be well sound proofed to keep the noise contained. The rooftop bar is nice for drinks in the evening and the lobby conservatory bar is very nice with good brunches on the weekend. The hotel is in a good location in Soho and near fun places like the Meat Packing district for restaurants, bars and clubs. In summery this is a great stylish hotel ideally suited for people working in wall street during the week and for people looking for a fun time in New York. I'll be coming back soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Manager at NoMo SoHo Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear David N,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again during your recent travels to New York. We are so happy to read that we were able to cater to your needs. Stay tuned for the amazing new projects Morgans Hotel Group is currently working on including Mondrian hotels in both the Bahamas and Doha Qatar.

We thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,

James Bryant
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Loved the hotel, not just because i had a great room, but because of the small things- the staff was perfectly wonderful, helpful, and the room was impeccable, with like 3 million outlets (not always common), a great bed, great products, great shower, and incredible views. The location is just absolutely perfect. Great breakfasts, super fast internet, great cocktails at night. I'd stay here again in a minute. One SMALL thing.. whenever i wanted a taxi the bellmen always pushed SUPER hard to use the various car services outside.. which cost more than a taxi. They repeatedly said taxis are impossible to get and said flat out that if i want a taxi i would need to wait at least a half hour before they could procure one. I felt "railroaded" and agreed to the car service thing two times. It felt kind of unseemly, like a bellman's income is built on kickbacks from livery drivers. I felt uncomfortable arguing with them over it as they were so insistant. But again i love everything else about the hotel. just fantastic.! The concierge made awesome restaurant recommendations, the maids were fantastic, the front desk was warm and friendly, and the breakfast and cocktail waiters were amazing. I normally stay on the West Side (Standard, Yotel, Maritime) and tried Soho for a fun change. Smart move, it was just wonderful and I would love to return. By the way, the gym is small but great. Loved it.

Room Tip: My room was a corner room with a window in the shower. Loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Manager at NoMo SoHo Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear chrisengletx,

Wow! We are so happy to read how enjoyable your stay was. I am sorry if you felt a bit uncomfortable with the approach of our bellmen regarding taxi's. Unfortunately at times, it can be difficult to hail a taxi in our area and our team always want's to be sure they offer alternatives for our guests to avoid delay.

We hope that you will be joining us again very soon so you can continue to explore more of SoHo!

Kind Regards,

James Bryant
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NoMo SoHo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NoMo SoHo Hotel

Address: 9 Crosby Street, New York City, NY 10013 (Formerly Mondrian SoHo Hotel)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#146 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#197 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#215 Business Hotel in New York City
#248 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — NoMo SoHo Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NoMo SoHo is perfectly situated in New York City's SoHo district, an area renowned for fashion, art, and design. The modern, sleek design and energetic ambiance of the hotel are evocative of the surrounding neighborhood, which offers plenty of opportunities for shopping, dining, and exciting nightlife. Guests are just minutes from New York’s remarkable cultural and historical landmarks, including the nearby Battery Park with quick a boat ride to Ellis Island and The Statue of Liberty, the 9/11 Memorial and Museum, and the Empire State Building. NoMo SoHo features a conservatory-style restaurant that serves delectable dishes from award-winning chefs and a nightlife hotspot that offers craft cocktails and extensive wine selection for a night out in the city. After a busy day in NYC, the luxuriously appointed guestrooms and suites provide a relaxing oasis complete with exquisite bedding, premium amenities such as daily newspapers, minibar, and iPod® docking stations, plus breathtaking views of the city below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Splendia and HotelTravel.com so you can book your NoMo SoHo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian Soho Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NoMo SoHo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.