We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mondrian SoHo Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mondrian SoHo Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mondrian SoHo Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Crosby Street, New York City, NY 10013 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUITE VIEWS
Ranked #210 of 452 hotels in New York City
San Francisco, California, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I come to NY often on business and my regular hotel was too expensive. I decided to try this hotel and really liked it. The rooms are just the right size, loved the bathroom and the products. I found the bed comfortable and the blue color of the room is very soothing. I found the staff to be helpful and friendly. If you love to shop, this is the neighborhood to stay in. I also love the restaurants in the area. My only complaint is that it is hard to get a cab. I'm making this my regular NY hotel.

Room Tip: I stayed on a lower floor and it was fine. No issues with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary T, General Manager at Mondrian SoHo Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Jenny N,

We are so happy to hear that we have become your regular NYC hotel. We want to take the time to thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay and apologize for the delay in our response. Just so you know, our toiletries are Malin+Goetz and they do have a store in Chealsea if you are interested in purchasing their products to take home with you . Our blue paint is a custom made color made exclusively for our hotel and we are happy to know that you are also a fan.

We are sorry that you had trouble finding a cab while you were with us but please know that our door team is always happy to assist you in finding transportation while you are with us.

Thank you again for your feedback Jenny N, and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    347
    266
    89
    51
    27
See reviews for
93
336
54
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This hotel tries hard to be a hip, cutting-edge state of the art establishment. If you like white leather furniture, blue pompom fittings, mirrors everywhere and people-watching this is the place for you. For middle-aged Europeans like us it seemed pretentious and poor value. But, the views of New York from the upper floors are spectacular.
Our room was tiny with the bathroom virtually next to the bed. We drank what we assumed was complimentary bottled water only to be charged for it when we checked out. However, when we complained this charge was refunded. Given the expense of the rooms this seemed particularly penny-pinching
The narrow corridors leading to the rooms and the lifts lend a claustrophobic feel to the place more reminiscent of a prison than an upmarket hotel.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevator and choose a room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary T, General Manager at Mondrian SoHo Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear AlstroemeriaLondon,

We thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay with us and apologize for the delay in our response.

We truly value your opinion and although Mondrian Soho was not the best fit for you, we encourage you to check out one of our sister properties for your future travels to New York City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhodes Town, Greece
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Even though we stayed only 3 days in this hotel, we found it excellent. It is very beautiful, we loved the concept, the colors. The service was perfect, all the staff was friendly and willing to help. The hotel offered complimentary bottles of water every day in room. We loved the amenities and the iPad provided in the room. Free Wifi everywhere.

The breakfast could be better though. I think this is the only minus about this hotel.

All in all we would recommend it and will certainly prefer it if we ever go back to NY.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary T, General Manager at Mondrian SoHo Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear PrincessAndri,

We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully the next time you stay with us it will be for a longer period of time. We recommend you explore our À la carte breakfast menu and encourage you to reach out to any member of our concierge or Isola staff for menu recommendations.

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay and please accept our apologies for the delay in our response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles CA
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
423 helpful votes 423 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

For our most recent NY visit over the MLK weekend, we opted to try this newest offering from the Morgans Hotel Group, again using a flash sale from our favourite private website. Although we have stayed at the Mondrian in Los Angeles, this was our first NY Morgans stay (we have visited the Royalton and Hudson, however). Morgans hotels are well-known for their contemporary, sometimes quirky style, often in partnership with French designer Philippe Starck, and their active lounge/bar scenes. I would say they cater mostly to a younger crowd, and are not particularly family-oriented. They also are perhaps less known for their service.

The Mondrian Soho is situated in the southeast corner of Soho, just a block away from Chinatown and a Holiday Inn. Jil Sander, Derek Lam and the famous Opening Ceremony boutiques are steps away. The only other Soho hotel we have stayed at is the Mercer (an Andre Balazs hotel), which is more centrally located within Soho, as is the Soho Grand. The James and Trump Soho hotels are on the southwest edge of Soho. Soho is a tourist destination mainly because of its high calibre shopping opportunities, as well as its art galleries, restaurants and bars. Most businesses are situated in historic cast iron buildings; the area is a National Historic Landmark.

The Mondrian's main entrance is on Crosby street, with another entrance on Lafayette. It seems to be one of the taller buildings in the area, if not the tallest, and thus commands nice views from its upper floors. One enters the hotel via an ivy-trellised walkway alongside the greenhouse-like restaurant (Isola). The hotel's interiors were designed by architect Benjamin Noriega-Ortiz, inspired by Jean Cocteau's film "La Belle et la Bete" (Beauty and the Beast). I found the hotel's colour palette of white and shades of royal blue quite lovely. The ground floor features seating areas, a bar with a private room beyond it concealed behind bookcases, and the aforementioned restaurant Isola Trattoria and Crudo Bar. The reception desk is on the 2nd floor, where there are also meeting rooms and 2 whimsical outdoor decks. The top floor (penthouse) also has rooms for private events as well as a large outdoor terrace. The small fitness centre is in the basement. There apparently is a lounge called Mister H somewhere in the hotel, but we did not see it. Service overall was quite friendly and surprisingly non-judgmental, as service from beautiful young people can sometimes be.

The room we booked was a Deluxe One Bedroom Suite, about 350-400 sq. ft. Standard rooms are a compact 200-250 sq. ft. Our suite featured a sitting room with a sofa, chair, large HD TV, the hotel's signature chrome desk with an iPad from which you can access hotel info as well as numerous newspapers), minibar with whimsically labeled selections, and both an orchid and succulent plants. The bedroom had a king bed with storage drawers underneath, chair, bedside tables with a large iPod player/clock, and another TV. The bathroom had a small sink area that was open to the bedroom, with the toilet and large marble shower enclosed behind opaque glass. There was a thermostat in each room that gave temperature readings about 10 degrees apart. The floor-to-ceiling windows (that can open a bit) allowed in plenty of light; our views were to the east, where we could see glimpses of the East River as well as 3 bridges--Williamsburg, Manhattan and Brooklyn--plus the Lower East Side. Aside from some nearby street construction that continued until about 10pm, noise was surprisingly minimal, and the windows quite noise-suppressing and cold-insulating (it went down to the 20's during our stay). Our package included Wifi, which was pretty speedy.

We had cocktails and crudo one evening at Isola, and it was very nice, but a bit pricey. The nights we stayed at the hotel, there did not seem to be nearly as much of a bar scene as at other Morgans hotels; in fact the outer bar was closed. There are many restaurant options in Soho--we particularly liked Andrew Carmellini's The Dutch (on Sullivan at Prince), and you can't go wrong with Keith McNally's venerable and atmospheric Balthazar Restaurant a few blocks north on Crosby at Spring. We in fact gorged ourselves at restaurants throughout Manhattan, since our visit coincided with Restaurant Week.

Overall, the Mondrian is a solid, stylish lodging choice in this part of town. I would certainly like to try the James in the future, having enjoyed their Chicago property in the past, but I prefer the Mondrian's Soho location to the other Morgans hotels' locales.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary T, General Manager at Mondrian SoHo Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear pillowsofwanderlust,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We love your knowledge of our properties and the fabulous neighborhood that is Soho.

I want to take the time to comment on a few of your observations regarding our property.Our hotel is in fact the tallest building in Soho. We didn't place any artwork in our rooms and instead installed those fantastic floor to ceiling windows which are meant to display the NYC view as art. Our restaurant, Isola, is now offering a wonderful weekend brunch menu which has become extremely popular with our locals. Perhaps next time you join us, you will be able to experience Isola during the busier hours when the restaurant really comes to life.

We hope you will be staying with us again soon. Thank you again for your posting and I do apologize for the delay in my response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Overall a good experience at the Mondrian Soho. I stayed only for 1 night, so I did not have much time to enjoy all the hotel has the offer. First thing when I got to the hotel, I noticed the bellman wears regular cloths, which almost looked like mine. Kind of confusing but i was cool with that. Then getting in the hotel, I was a bit disappointed by the ''poshness'' of the place. From the people in the bar to the smell of the hotel to the music that was playing, it was very poshy and superficial. As we got to the check in, we were upgraded to a suite. Which was amazing, because we only booked a standard room. The girl at the front desk was very kind.

The suite looked great, very simple, but very nice and clean. The suite had an Ipad we could use to browse the internet which was very pleasant. Rooms have bathrobes, nice toilet amenities, a pretty large shower.. The suite isn't very big tho, i'd say around 400sqf, which is a about the size of some rooms in other new york hotels. Still, much better than their 170sqf standard room.

Area is great, right in the center of Soho and walking distance of the Village. Overall we enjoyed it, I would maybe return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary T, General Manager at Mondrian SoHo Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
HG56,

Thank you for your recent stay. Hopefully next time we can welcome you back for a longer visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed at the Mondrian Soho on my own for a few days in early January. The room was small - as are most NY hotel rooms unless you pay through the nose - but perfectly comfortable. The white bedding and soft, thick duvet and pillows were delightful to sink into after a long day and late night.

Lovely shower and toiletries. It didn't bother me that the vanity unit was in the bedroom, although I realise some people find that a problem.

Breakfast was delicious - as was the service. Coffee poured even before I realised I was ready for a second cup. In fact, the staff were all helpful and friendly - particularly the bellhops, who greeted me cheerily as I came and went.

I arrived from a long flight pretty late and wanted a quick meal so chose the hotel restaurant. In the evening, this is an incredibly buzzy place that attracts a cool crowd: not ideal for eating alone but the food was terrific. The place's 'cool' factor extends to the lifts, where the music - which is pretty loud in the lobby - feels rather overwhelming. Not enough to spoil the trip!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary T, General Manager at Mondrian SoHo Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Lynn G,

Thank you for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

You have to ask yourself what you want from your hotel in NYC. If it is a great Soho location, cool lobby, chic and happening bar scene, tiny rooms but with super comfy beds and linens and great views of Manhattan skyline.. then choose the Mondrian. I am a former NY'er but now live in Europe. Stayed at Mondrian with my teenage daughter. We literally had to take turns to pass at the end of the bed, space was so tight! I would say this is the place for hip singles and couples. NOT family oriented. Breakfast / restaurant room impressively decorated. Request a high floor, it is NYC after all. I would stay again, but upgrade from the standard room for space. Free coffee and NY Times in the lobby for the early risers, like me, was nice.

Room Tip: Request a high floor with a view, away from the elevator bank.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary T, General Manager at Mondrian SoHo Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
dpvathens,

Thank you for the feedback! We have various room configurations available and hopefully can find one that works better for you on an upcoming visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mondrian SoHo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian SoHo Hotel

Address: 9 Crosby Street, New York City, NY 10013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , SoHo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#122 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#178 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#189 Business Hotel in New York City
#219 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian SoHo Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by Jean Cocteau’s cinematic interpretation of the tale of “La Belle et la Bête”, Mondrian SoHo is yet another innovative vision by Benjamin Noriega Ortiz. With Mondrian’s design, Noriega awakens the imagination and invites guests into a fantasy that offers an escape. The hotel boasts a mesmerizing ambiance that captures the sparkling charm and romance of New York, Isola Trattoria & Crudo Bar - a Coastal Italian restaurant with food and ambience inspired by the Amalfi Coast, Italian Riviera and Sicily. Mister H - an intimate downtown nightlife concept inspired by old New York, and 270 guest rooms - each with stunning views wrapping around the island of Manhattan, custom-designed bath fixtures, and a clever nod to the tale here and there. All guest rooms at Mondrian are non-smoking rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Splendia, Tablet Hotels, Tingo, Otel, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Mondrian SoHo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian Soho Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mondrian SoHo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.