We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Blue: The Mondrian Soho does not disappoint” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NOMO SOHO Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added NOMO SOHO Hotel to your Saves list
NOMO SOHO Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Crosby Street, New York City, NY 10013 (Formerly Mondrian SoHo Hotel) (SoHo)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Up to 15% off Best Rates!
Ranked #258 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Whitchurch-Stouffville, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cool Blue: The Mondrian Soho does not disappoint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Loved it. Super sleek and beautifully furnished. The Deluxe rooms are a perfect size with beautiful touches. Breakfast in the Isola is great. Order the greek yoghurt with homemade granola. You will not be disappointed

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary T, General Manager at NOMO SOHO Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Frogpad,

Thanks so much for the feedback! We're glad to hear you enjoyed our home-made granola. Be sure to ask for some to take home during your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    348
    141
    68
    36
See reviews for
127
418
75
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Good hotel in NYC - its very trendy and has a good location on Crosby street. New York hotels can be noisy from various street noises - this hotel is tucked away on a quiet side street (if your room faces Crosby - facing Lafayette is a little noiser...). Good also as its a tall hotel - others in the area are a little bit more low rise - so noisier... Its a good hotel and comfortable. As I visited on business it was great as the bed was really comfortable. It tries a little too hard though and almost too `trendy` for its own good. The staff have a bit of attitude and room service poor / expensive and slow (have had several experiences - not just a one off). No coffee available on the floor or in the room (as it is in the Soho Grand) so you have to go to the lobby - not so great with jet lag and in need of a coffee in the early hours... Some of the rooms have the bathroom IN the room - not good - some dont though. The rooms are very feminine - again ok - but a little too many cracked glass mirrors / crystal wine glasses for me! Good hotel - not shabby - but tries too hard to look good but doesnt deliver on service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary T, General Manager at NOMO SOHO Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
JasonR1_12,

Thank you for the feedback and the suggestions. We do have complimentary tea and coffee each morning on the Ground floor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Fashionable Wedgwood blue & white interior, a subtle smell of lemon grass pumping out of the aircon, Nightmares on Wax & the like, playing in the background and funky tunes in the lift (me & the girls couldn't help but break a few sneaky moves), welcoming staff, glossy white rooms, i-pod docks & a good hairdryer the Mondrian had pretty much everything covered.

Additional bonuses were the tiny exclusive club we found attached, the chandelier adorned restaurant, the candle lit cocktail bar and a secret restaurant hidden behind a bookcase.

We particularly liked the location, the cocktails and the staff, genuinely nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary T, General Manager at NOMO SOHO Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
MasieB,

Thank you for your recent visit from across the pond! So glad to hear you had an enjoyable time during your visit to NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

What a highlight!!!

After years of being depressed by awful and ugly hotels in the US, a star is born.
Nice funky design, fresh colours and not these awfully dead greenish, blue and pinkish colours and furniture of an amazing bad taste you are normally used when you enter an average american hotel.

But it is exactly not an average american hotel!

The staff is very, very nice and polite. Everybody is helpful and tries to make your stay fantastic.

Our room was on floor 24 and had an amazing view on midtown. Even from the bathroom we could see the lights of midtown and the roof gardens of SoHo.
The restaurant is a very nice place to be at in the evening and the food is very good - the prices are not.

Unfortunately especially the prices for breakfast are not reasonable at all. Also the offers are a bit poor. But SoHo gives you a lot of other choices like e.g. go to Dean and deLuca for breakfast.
It is absolutely worth it!
Another minus is the very tight policy of a late check out. They could be more flexible!

Nevertheless it is a great place and I will love to come back. At least for Aleks the wonderful lobby manager!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary T, General Manager at NOMO SOHO Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thanks for the kind words and shout out to Aleks. We love to offer a complimentary late check out when our availability allows, but it looks as if you stayed with us during a very busy time! We hope to welcome you back soon for another great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We decided to stay away from midtown this trip and I'm glad we did. We chose to stay here and at the Trump SoHo which are both beautiful, new properties. The Mondrian's got a real modern and funky feel to it, with eclectic decor and furniture. Everything's blue so you kinda feel like you're staying in Smurf Town. We arrived early (around 7am) and they allowed us to check into a different room from what we booked. Of course they offered to move us to a different room after our first night which was nice. The room's are tiny and I felt somewhat claustrophobic. We could only open a single suitcase at a time because there wasn't enough space to have both open. Sink is fancy and useless and the bathroom's got a poor design to it. The shower head faces the door which allows water to escape out on to the bathroom floor so we had to walk in a puddle of water to get out. Bathroom door is a thin piece of glass that doesn't offer much privacy or noise-resistance, everyone can hear you use the toilet.

They use great bath amenities but there wasn't any toothpaste or complimentary bottled water. You can buy a cute bottle of VOSS for $10.00 or pick from their overpriced snack/treat bar. No turndown service and nothing was provided to us even though I had advised them that we were celebrating our anniversary. Maybe I'm too needy or spoiled? Trump SoHo sent us complimentary champagne, chocolate covered strawberries, bottled water and NESPRESSO!NESPRESSO!! Ahh whatever right??

Anyways, the restaurant on the lobby floor is really cute and pretty. Food's okay but too fancy and unique for me. I ordered an eggs benedict and it came out deconstructed on purpose with the ham separated from the egg and bread. Weird. Staff is friendly and helpful to a certain extent and I'm sure this is pretty typical for hotels in NY.

Overall the hotel is gorgeous with tiny rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary T, General Manager at NOMO SOHO Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
AlohaGuest808,

Happy Anniversary! Thank you so much for leaving us feedback so we can continue to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

A perfect location if you prefer the vibe of Soho to mid town NYC. The hotel is a boutique/chic kind of place, even that the number of rooms is not that boutique size. The rooms are small, but they do have the amenities you need – including an ipad with wifi access. Restaurant serves decent food and great breakfast (a bit pricy though). I would go for some of all the great restaurants in the area though. The staff is very helpful including concierges who can get you a table at “difficult” restaurants. The night club in not worth paying to get into.

Room Tip: As high as you like to pay for. Rooms facing Crosby lower than 6th floor will get the music from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary T, General Manager at NOMO SOHO Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Tina P,

Thanks for sharing your wonderful experience and the room tips!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I was a bit wary that it was going to be a "too cool to be comfortable" boutique hotel, but it was great. Fantastic location in Soho, small but comfortable rooms, good restaurant on site, genuinely helpful and professional staff, complimentary wifi. Loved the greek yogurt that came with breakfast. And nice little touches like giving you a tiny blue notebook, which was useful.

If the bedroom windows were bigger and the gym had great views (like the Standard), it would be perfect. But this is a better location. Good base to spend time in Soho, visit Brooklyn. Will definitely plan on staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary T, General Manager at NOMO SOHO Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
K M,

Thanks for the stay! We hope to welcome you back for the holiday season again this year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#158 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,901 reviews
SoHo
The James New York
The James New York
#148 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 976 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#185 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#6 of 464 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
TriBeCa
Tribeca Grand Hotel
Tribeca Grand Hotel
#155 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,272 reviews
SoHo
Solita Soho Hotel
Solita Soho Hotel
#304 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NOMO SOHO Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NOMO SOHO Hotel

Address: 9 Crosby Street, New York City, NY 10013 (Formerly Mondrian SoHo Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#157 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#211 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#218 Business Hotel in New York City
#236 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — NOMO SOHO Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NOMO SOHO is perfectly situated in New York City's SoHo district, an area renowned for fashion, art, and design. The modern, sleek design and energetic ambiance of the hotel are evocative of the surrounding neighborhood, which offers plenty of opportunities for shopping, dining, and exciting nightlife. Unique to the neighborhood, NOMO SOHO is one of the tallest buildings for blocks and features one of a kind panoramic views from the 25 floors of the hotel. Guests are just minutes from New York's remarkable cultural and historical landmarks, including the nearby neighborhoods of Little Italy, Chinatown, Lower East Side, and SoHo-- plus Battery Park, New Museum, the 9/11 Memorial and Museum, the Empire State Building, and a quick boat ride to Ellis Island and the Statue of Liberty. NOMO SOHO features a conservatory-style restaurant that serves delectable dishes from award-winning chefs and a nightlife hotspot that offers craft cocktails and extensive wine selection for a night out in the city. After a busy day in NYC, the luxuriously appointed guestrooms and suites provide a relaxing oasis complete with exquisite bedding, premium amenities such as daily newspapers, minibar, and iPod docking stations, plus breathtaking views of the city below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your NOMO SOHO Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian Soho Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NOMO SOHO Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.