We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mondrian SoHo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Mondrian SoHo Hotel to your Saves list
Mondrian SoHo Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Crosby Street, New York City, NY 10013 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% off, Book Today
Ranked #226 of 458 Hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Lovely hotel in a perfect location for sight seeing, shopping and for visiting restaurants! Two minor things: if you pay this amount of money for a room, you would expect WIFI to be included. ALso, we were given a welcome gift by someone who arranged all payments before our stay with the concierge and they put it on our bill saying we had to pay for it even though it was paid for already. Should not happen in a hotel on this level especially not without an apology.....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary T, General Manager at Mondrian SoHo Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
ESCZ,

Thank you for your recent stay and feedback. We do offer an iPad in each guest room, which comes with complimentary Internet connection. I'm so sorry to hear about the billing mix-up regarding a gift that was arranged for you. I understand we were able to sort that out quickly, but my sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    292
    105
    56
    30
See reviews for
105
364
57
168
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I have submitted several hotel reviews for New York. Each time we go I choose something different, always looking to broaden our experience base. For better or worse, I think I may stop at the Mondrian Soho.

This is a unique boutique property done in modern tones of blue and white - nothing else. The rooms are not large, but if you're lucky enough to get a corner room on a high floor, the world opens up to you through the floor-to-ceiling windows AND - a view of the city from the shower! This has to be one of our most amazing hotel experiences ever.

The place was buzzing on a Saturday night, but come Sunday morning, it was calm and beautiful.

One other unique feature is the long, "ivy" covered walkway leading to the hotel. It feels like you're leaving the city behind, entering a space from another time (until you reach the hotel's interior).

Room Tip: If at all possible, go for 2310 - the corner view extends to the shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary T, General Manager at Mondrian SoHo Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
beav,

As a seasoned traveler, we really appreciate the fantastic review! Thanks for sharing with your fellow TripAdvisor friends. We love the view from 2310 too - we'll keep it on hold for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We arrived super late, due a storm in Washington DC and then an accident on the freeway from JFK. Arriving at around 1am all they had was a room on the 3rd floor with 2 singles. It was no problem at all, especially when we were upgraded to an amazing room the next day.

We decided to splurge a little for our wedding anniversary and we were not dissapointed. We were also lucky to receive an early bird rate and got a free upgrade. Our room was on the 18th floor with amazing views of the New York Skyline. Seeing the ESB and Chysler building in the morning or at night was truly spectacular! We also had views of the Brooklyn Bridge.

The room was a little squishy but fine for 2 people. The layout of the bathroom didn't bother me at all after reading previous reviews about the basin being out of the bathroom, I don't see how that is an issue at all?

The staff were super friendly all the time, smiling and greeting us any time of day. Jay was awesome and assisted with scanning some documents to my email. Thanks Jay! Even the staff on the lower ground were very chatty and helped us with a cab when we left.

The only thing was we didn't eat at the hotel. There was a large event on while we were there and it always looked full.

The hotel backs onto Layfayette St, we found a fab laundry that washed our clothes (1 weeks worth) for just $16. It is also close to Chinatown for cheap eats and the Subway either Canal St station or Spring St stations.

Thank you for an amazing time! We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary T, General Manager at Mondrian SoHo Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
island085,

Sounds like you had a bit of a rough trip getting here, but so glad we were able to welcome you and make it all better! Even happier to read about your fantastic visit and thanks for the kind words about Jay. Looking foward to having you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

An amazing hotel with an amazing vibe! This is the place to be if you are planning to stay in NYC. The staff are amazing and so is the services that the hotel offers. For me personally, I thought the quality of food in New York City wasnt always the best, however whenever I chose to dine at the Mondrian's restuarant, the quality of food was exceptional. You really feel spoiled when you stay at the Mondrian Soho and it is definitely the place for me whenever I head back to NYC next!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good! You cant go wrong with this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary T, General Manager at Mondrian SoHo Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Tony M,

Glad you enjoyed your experience at Mondrian Soho & Isola!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We loved this hotel. Walking in via the Crosby entrance, you feel like you've stepped into an oasis, leaving the streets of Soho to find yourself in a leafy entryway. The hotel itself is modern and beautifully designed. The rooms are bright and spotless, with great floor to ceiling windows. The location is also perfect, because the hotel is steps away from Broadway and everything Soho has to offer, but Crosby is an extremely quiet street.

We were staying to celebrate a special occasion and the hotel staff took great care of us. This was easily one of our best hotel stays ever.

I strongly recommend the Mondrian Soho.

Room Tip: Great views in rooms on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary T, General Manager at Mondrian SoHo Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Matt F,

So happy to read about your memorable experience at Mondrian Soho. Glad we were able to have you for your special occasion. Until next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed here on a business trip. Immediately on entry, this one feels different. Like an individual hotel....not a chain with the usual hotel format and feel. This one is unique. From the clever decor and furnishings; the great soundtrack that is piped around the place; the bar area.
The rooms are bright and white. Really white. Mine had a fantastic panorama of the south of the city. While the room itself is on the small side, it is still functional.
The location in SOHO is also very handy and central to bars, restaurants.
I'd like to come back here some time.....soon.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary T, General Manager at Mondrian SoHo Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
stephens066,

Thanks for your recent stay and for the feedback! We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Went to New York with my 2 sister-in-laws and 2 nieces....5 in total. Reserved 2 rooms, requested 2 beds in each. Travelled from Toronto for 2 nights, 3 days. Had to pay fully in advance for rooms. Upon arrival was told that we had the rooms but each room had 1 queen bed---2 beds as requested were not available. When we said we requested this when we booked, we were told that "it was inly a request, it does not mean that we would get it!!!" In all of my years travelling this is the first time I have ever heard this. We were offered "air mattresses"....pretty poor for a hotel charging close to $500 per night per room!! Unfortunately we had no choice-we paid fully in advance, it was New York so we probably could not have found anything if they did refund our money. They did offer us cocktails (non drinkers in our party) and a $100 credit per room per night. I must say, for the 3 people in one room with an air mattress--it was bad. They had to put the mattress blocking the door. The rooms are sooooooo small that it was difficult for them to get to and from the bathroom. The lobby, entrance, bar and breakfast room might be beautiful --you don't sleep in these areas. Never again will we stay at the Mondrian or any property owned bynthis group. Think before you spend good money here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary T, General Manager at Mondrian SoHo Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
goaliemother,

I'm so sorry to read about your experience, and thank you for the feedback. We have since amended our room types so that our Double Double rooms (with two beds) can be booked directly and are no longer categorized as a request. I understand we offered you a 25% price adjustment for the inconvenience - my sincere apologies if this arrival experience soured your entire stay. I hope that you could afford us the opporunity to redeem ourselves with a return visit. Please feel free to reach out to our Guest Experience Manager, Sasha Soyfer, to look after any upcoming stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mondrian SoHo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian SoHo Hotel

Address: 9 Crosby Street, New York City, NY 10013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , SoHo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#131 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#189 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#189 Business Hotel in New York City
#217 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian SoHo Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by Jean Cocteau’s cinematic interpretation of the tale of “La Belle et la Bête”, Mondrian SoHo is yet another innovative vision by Benjamin Noriega Ortiz. With Mondrian’s design, Noriega awakens the imagination and invites guests into a fantasy that offers an escape. The hotel boasts a mesmerizing ambiance that captures the sparkling charm and romance of New York, Isola Trattoria & Crudo Bar - a Coastal Italian restaurant with food and ambience inspired by the Amalfi Coast, Italian Riviera and Sicily. Mister H - an intimate downtown nightlife concept inspired by old New York, and 270 guest rooms - each with stunning views wrapping around the island of Manhattan, custom-designed bath fixtures, and a clever nod to the tale here and there. All guest rooms at Mondrian are non-smoking rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Amex, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Mondrian SoHo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian Soho Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mondrian SoHo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.