We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great unexpected chosen hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mondrian SoHo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Mondrian SoHo Hotel to your Saves list
Mondrian SoHo Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Crosby Street, New York City, NY 10013 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% off, Book Today
Ranked #226 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great unexpected chosen hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Me and my friend unexpectedly end up at this hotel after our original booking of a hotel was overbooked. We are glad we haven't paid the real price f the hotel since it is pricey. The hotel is a the very beginning not very obvious to find unless you take a good look at the map and look at the hotel picture to find how the hotel entrance looks like. The advantage of this hotel, is that it's still new and you'll end up seeing the good side of the hotel for being new. I've read a lot of previous reviews saying how they would hear how loud the neighbors rooms can be. It can be sort of true, but we've barely heard anything from them. Maybe its by luck. There will be at the beginning some issues in the room, like the function of the shower that can be tricky that the technician will help resolve. But you will have the neediness to almost harass the reception, by calling several times with a little of anger, to finally have the person come to the room. I don't quite understand the logic of needing to wait and call several times for the person to come and show up at our room. Especially when you need him not once but twice. I will not blame the technician but the reception that maybe they feel to good to make an effort to dispatch the technician asap. The room can seem small but the way it was designed, makes it see there's no need for more space. I can say I've previously been in a crappier hotel in the past in NYC that was a lot more smaller than this one. So there should be no complaints about the size, since we're in NYC Manhattan, what do you expect? a penthouse size room? The bathroom is a thing to admire since its marbled from top too bottom. One thing that was enjoyable to have in the room was the offered Ipad 2 to be used during the stay. We we're very tempted to bring the ipad 2 out in town but we had the scarcity of loosing it. The only thing that cant be criticize in about the hotel, is the restaurant. From the entrance view, the restaurants looks lovely, but do to the high price of the food we never eat there. So we've always dined out.

The trip was great but there's one thing really one thing you will have to know about the place that's essential. The Bell Boys will try to get the run of your money and I'm glad I haven't felt for it. They breath lies when it comes to help you finding a taxi. When you try to take a taxi for the airport or for whatsoever reason... the bell boy in reality will not run around the block to find one. No even after waiting 30 mins for him to find one, he actually stands in front of the second not obvious entrance trying "with so much energy" in finding a cab with a wave of the hand... Yeah he doesn't budge he just stand there hope to get a taxi that already taken. He just never goes out of the hotel piremessis to find one for you. The best part of the whole story is there's a taxi limo at the hotel entrance, that the bell boy will try to convince you to take. The charge of taking that taxi to go at Laguardia airport: 60$. So we finally too initiative too go up the street and get ourselves a taxis after much frustration of the noncooperation from the bell boy. I think he was shocked that we haven't felt for is trap. And we gladly found a taxi after 10 minutes of going up in the streets. Is it luck ?maybe but all i know i saved a lot of money. The better part of all this is when talking to the taxi driver, a real taxi limo will not charge such a high amount of money...So that taxi limo waiting at the hotel is a buddy of the bell boy that will get profit out of you so that bell boy gets a sort of commission out of the scam. That is what really destroyed the end of our trip is the temptation of getting scammed by a guy that as the same age as us. Besides we're two university students that as not a lot of money that went to spend a 3 day shopping trip. Getting ripped off by an idiot like him isn't our thing. Such a heartless, and lazy bell boy. Hope you get fired soon. I regret I haven't filed a complaint about that guy for doing what he did. But i would have never known about the scam without being informed by that nice taxi driver we had.

So in the end great hotel for unexpected moment but crappy bell boy when it comes to find a taxi.

Room Tip: The higher you go the better city view you will have and the less you'll here the hotel club noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MondrianSohoGM, General Manager at Mondrian SoHo Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2011
I'm glad you were able to join us and found your time with us to be enjoyable. I apologize if you felt mislead by the actions of any of our staff - I can assure you we take pride in our service and strive to provide the best experience. Guests from out of town often learn for the first time that there is no taxi dispatch in New York City and therefore taxis cannot be called in advance. We like to offer our guests the option of utilizing our bellmens' assistance to help flag down a taxi, which can sometimes take a few minutes or longer, or a car service which can be quicker and more efficient, especially during busy rush hour times. While a yellow cab is more economical, some guests find the value of time more essential and prefer a limousine service. We're glad you found a method of travel that works best for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    292
    105
    56
    30
See reviews for
105
364
57
168
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Wow - this hotel, nestled in the heart of Soho, is a gem. The front entryway is set back from the Crosby Street connected by a long magical trellis covered in ivy. In fact, everything about the hotel has a magical, mystical feeling - the dimly lit, glowing blue elevators, the icy glass garden ambiance in the Imperial No. Nine restaurant and the saturated red Shanghai inspired vibe of the Mister H nightlife club. This "other worldly" experience transported me to another place in time. Our beautiful room on the 18th floor was our little sanctuary where we could either open the curtains to the wrap-around windows and take in the expansive view, or dim the lights and enjoy nestling into our blue cocoon.

The service was top-notch - we were helped on the fly by the black pea coat clad bell-hop. The drinks were delightful and the food was exquisite.

A stay at the Mondrian in Soho will transport you far away from the familiar and yet, when you step out the front door and walk through the ivy tunnel you are in the heart of Soho - what could be better?

Room Tip: The higher the better - this building towers over others around it in Soho - take advantage of the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MondrianSohoGM, General Manager at Mondrian SoHo Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2011
Wow! Thank you for such a detailed and beautiful description of our hotel and for your kind words regarding our service. The only thing that could be better is to do it all over again - we hope to have you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

We stayed here for our honeymoon and were very impressed with the hotel. The room was a decent size and the iPad in the room was a nice touch, which made planning our visit to NYC so much easier.

We didn't eat in the hotel so cannot comment on the food, but we did use the bar. The bar in the conservatory looked lovely but we never got the chance to use it as it was always full, mostly with non-residents. There were tables free, but we were told these were for diners only, which was disappointing. Instead we were ushered into an "overspill" bar off the reception, which although adequate, didn't have the same buzz about it. That was a bit of a let down.

Our only other criticism was the concierage service. Although the staff were very helpful and courteous, they didn't have the level of knowledge that we expected. There was a reliance on the internet, which we could have used ourselves on the iPad in the room.

However, all the staff from the guys on the door, to reception to housekeeping were very friendly and polite and dealt with any request we had swiftly and to our satisfaction and made our stay very relaxing.

Overall we would definitely recommend the Mondrian Soho, depsite the issues above. Although annoying, they didn't detract from our overall stay.

The location is excellent, the rooms are great and the ambience of the place is very cool and modern. We really enjoyed it and would love to go back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MondrianSohoGM, General Manager at Mondrian SoHo Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2011
Congratulations on your recent nuptials! Thank you for staying with us during such a special occasion. Our bar areas tend to attract a crowd -- we welcome both hotel guests and visitors, and tables can be reserved in advance if you would like to join us for dinner. We're glad the overall stay was enjoyable and we truly appreciate the recommendation. Hopefully we can welcome you back for your first anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

My wife and I recently stayed for our first time at the Mondrian SoHo. The hotel welcomes guests with a pretty grass canopy-covered entrance that ushers you away from the street and inside a chic lobby. Vivian at the front desk was very friendly and gave us a complimentary upgrade! Our room was small by most hotel standards, but to be expected as it is Manhattan. Still, we had a large and comfy king size bed, 40-in flat screen tv, and our own iPad with free internet access. Only stayed for 1 night but were very comfortable and would absolutely stay there again. Highlights: VERY friendly and personable staff; great location in heart of SoHo (located on a side street so it's quiet, but just 1/2 block from the busy activity of Broadway); and new, modern decor.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MondrianSohoGM, General Manager at Mondrian SoHo Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
What an incredible experience, thank you for sharing! Your kind words about our staff, and Vivian in particular are very much appreciated. We're so glad to learn you would love to stay with us again - looking forward to welcoming you and your wife back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011 via mobile

The Mondrian hotel was an oasis of calm, quality, and service in the middle of soho. The food was seriously the best prepared and presented and of course the best tasting ! The rooms are spotles and ver funkyly decorated and yea the are reall small, I mean closet size small but they are very nice, comfortable and unheard of in New York they were not noisy at all.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MondrianSohoGM, General Manager at Mondrian SoHo Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Thank you for your recent stay and for your feedback. Looking forward to your next visit to your New York 'oasis'!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We stayed at the Mondrian for four nights and really enjoyed this hotel. First off the concierge Lumba was a real gem and was absolutely outstanding. The room (although small) was clean, bright and cheery and most of all we loved Soho and the location of the hotel was absolutely ideal for us. The only thing I didn't enjoy was the sink/vanity being a part of the room rather than the bathroom. There were also a few glitches - for example - after one night of room service, it took about 12 hours and multiple calls to have the tray picked up. But these are pretty minor quibbles and did not impacted our trip or the lovely feel and service of the hotel. I would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MondrianSohoGM, General Manager at Mondrian SoHo Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Thank you for the detailed and review and recommendation. We've looked into the issues you have listed above and were happy to learn these minor difficulties did not affect your otherwise enjoyable experience with us. Thank you for you kind words about the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Stayed here for one night in April when I was bumped by The James - see my other review. Staff were pleasant at check in/out. Rooms are compact and I hated the decor. Stark white and blue might work at the Delano in Miami but on a rainy April night in New York it's just cold and uninviting. Also, hated having the washbasin in the room with the toilet / shower behind a glass door - it's all just odd. The IPAD in the room doesn't make up for the lack of comfort elsewhere. Location OK.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MondrianSohoGM, General Manager at Mondrian SoHo Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
We're glad you were able to spend some time with us and found our staff to be pleasant at reception, even if the visit was spontaneous. I'm sorry the room set-up was not to your liking - we do have various room configurations and are happy to accommodate upon request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mondrian SoHo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian SoHo Hotel

Address: 9 Crosby Street, New York City, NY 10013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , SoHo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#131 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#189 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#189 Business Hotel in New York City
#217 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian SoHo Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by Jean Cocteau’s cinematic interpretation of the tale of “La Belle et la Bête”, Mondrian SoHo is yet another innovative vision by Benjamin Noriega Ortiz. With Mondrian’s design, Noriega awakens the imagination and invites guests into a fantasy that offers an escape. The hotel boasts a mesmerizing ambiance that captures the sparkling charm and romance of New York, Isola Trattoria & Crudo Bar - a Coastal Italian restaurant with food and ambience inspired by the Amalfi Coast, Italian Riviera and Sicily. Mister H - an intimate downtown nightlife concept inspired by old New York, and 270 guest rooms - each with stunning views wrapping around the island of Manhattan, custom-designed bath fixtures, and a clever nod to the tale here and there. All guest rooms at Mondrian are non-smoking rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Amex, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Mondrian SoHo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian Soho Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mondrian SoHo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.