We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The James New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The James New York to your Saves list
The James New York
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Grand St., New York City, NY 10013 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bonus Nights
Ranked #112 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Great location, easy walk to restaurants, shops and subway, fantastic roof top bar, brilliant sunset views, but can also head up for a swim or just a morning coffee. Room was clean and not tiny for New York standards. All the staff were very helpful. Even the gym had a lovely view!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Helen B,

We really appreciate you taking time to share feedback about your stay. Our location in the pocket of Tribeca and Soho make this a prime location to shop, dine & explore. Thank you for recognizing our team we will pass along your positive comments.

Best,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    219
    70
    33
    23
See reviews for
86
421
48
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was understated and trendy with great service. Every morning we collected our complimentary coffee and teacakes before starting the day, then in the evening after a long day of sightseeing, meeting in the lobby waiting for friends we were offered cheese and wine, which was an indulgently wonderful nice touch. The boys were more than helpful and took their initiative to make things work for us - especially Luis and Eric. They were very friendly and most helpful, guides in a big unknown city. The cleaners are definitely worth a mention, the rooms were kept immaculate and they fell into our pattern and routines rather than following the hotels. I would certainly recommend The James.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Wsung05,

We really appreciate you taking time to share feedback about your stay. I’m glad you had a great time. You pointed to some of our most unique features, including our complimentary amenities. Our team members strive to go above and beyond so we appreciate you acknowledging all their hard work. Thanks for choosing The James for your visit to Soho. We will be sure to pass along your positive comments to Kenny & Eric . We look forward to your next visit.

Regards,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lier, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Short stay in The James. Superb location in the heart of SoHo. Expected a bit more of the hotel itself. I know space is scarse in NYC, but our double room was extremely small. The bed was not even Queen size and therefore quite cramped for 2 people! Hardly any space to put suitcases so all our stuff was kind of all over the very tiny room so we had to tiptoe and jump over bags to get from bed into the bathroom. The latter was very nice and practical with a great walk-in rain shower. I particularly like the glass partition betweeb bathroom and sleeping area.

Am also a big fan of hardwood floors in hotel rooms. Overall impression of corridors and rooms is that everything looked a bit tired already although the lobby and general areas where still very nice and modern.

Check in staff : very impersonal. Worthwhile to check your bill at check out as mine had quite some considerable mistakes. Also we learnt upon check out we did not get all the relevant info regarding breakfast options upon check in. Our room rate included continental brkfst, but nobody told us we weren't supposed to have breakfast in the restaurant but in the lobby. Who would have known this ?! So we were charged for full breakfast - however this was rectified upon our departure, the point is that we should have gotten co'plete info upon arrival.

The open air restaurant seemed lovely however very busy and unfortunately we could just have drinks. It took forever though before anyone noticed us ! Food looked great and would have loved to have dinner there.

I think this will be my only stay in The James particularly because of the extremely small room that definitely was not meant to accommodate 2 people.

Room Tip: High floor - insist on big enough room if you are travelling as a couple - specifically enquire abou...
See more room tips
Green Features: Valued very high in terms of sustainability. More info to be found on their website.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Karine1301,

Every piece of guest feedback is valuable to us, therefore, thank you for taking time to share your thoughts. It is unfortunate that you encountered the series of issues you described. We will inform our team in order to continue to improve. I'm disappointed to hear that our staff wasn’t more helpful; this is definitely not typical of the service we offer at our hotel. If you are ever in New York again, please feel free to reach out to me directly so I can personally oversee your stay at jamesnygm@jameshotels.com

Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in July. Everything about it was fantastic. We arrived tired off a red-eye flight and they allowed us to check in early, select our room and even offered for us to change our room to one on a higher floor if we wished (all of this unsolicited by us). We got a king corner suite which had a surprisingly huge amount of space for NYC. Rooms were serviced twice a day with an evening turn down service, and there was always chilled filtered water on hand in the room. Beds are super comfortable, the bathrooms are great (good lighting for makeup too, which is always a bonus). They try to be eco-friendly and environmentally sustainable where possible.
The interior design of the hotel and the rooms is attractive and well thought out.
There is coffee and biscuits available in the mornings, fruit during the day and wine in the evenings, in the lobby. Wifi is free and fast. All staff (reception, cleaning and doormen) were really friendly and always helpful.
There is a great variety of bars and restaurants only a short walk from the hotel, though the rooftop bar and the restaurant (David Burke Kitchen) next door are both fantastic if you want to stay in. Soho shopping is among the best in Manhattan. There are subway entries to all lines within a short walk (from across the road, to a block away).
We will definitely stay here when next in Manhattan, it was perfect for us in every way.

Room Tip: The King Corner Suite had a great view and was really spacious. Also, when checking in the Reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Travellers_from_oz,

It’s humbling to receive such a kind review. Thank you for choosing us for your visit to Soho. I’m glad you enjoyed some of the best features of The James, including complimentary amenities at The James Club Sky Lobby, loft-inspired rooms flushed with natural light, and most importantly, our hardworking team members. I’m glad they left you with a positive impression. We look forward to your next stay.

Thank you,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Exellent location, nice rooms, friendly staff, especially the "bellboys" - they fix whatever you need of transportation, tickets, dinner reservations etc.We had a Deluxe King room with fantastic view - and waking up in the morning and take our morning coffe with us up to the pool bar on 17th floor - amazing! Having a drink at the same spot after dinner - not a bad idea either :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Hege A,

Glad you enjoyed your visit to The James! Thanks for taking time to share feedback. Our team is our greatest asset so they’ll appreciate your kind sentiments. I’d have to agree with you on the views from our guestrooms. They’re unbeatable and being in Soho avoids the hustle and bustle of Midtown while still getting an authentic New York experience. We appreciate your recommendation. Until your next stay!

Cheers,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Stayed at The James for one night, so I will summarize my first impression good and no so good aspects.

GOOD
- Great at reception. - Nice ambience, definitely hip and fancy. - Good location. - Great rooftop pool bar with impressive views. - Trendy and very good restaurant (David Burke Kitchen), a sort of hot spot for the "a la mode" crowd. - Complimentary beverages and snacks throughout the day. - Good views from room. - Good for solos - Close to subway and Soho shops and restaurants

NOT SO GOOD

- Queen room small and inconveniently laid out. - Small closet and practically no drawers - Furniture needs some updating (minor scratches here and there) - Strange location of lobby on the first floor - I pre-paid for a late check out and got no housekeeping though specifically asking for it.

Room Tip: If you can afford something bigger than a queen room, go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Tomas Q,

Thanks for choosing The James for your visit to New York. I’m glad you enjoyed our amenities including the triple filtered water, and complimentary treats served at The James Club. We apologize that you found our room small, during your next stay may I suggest one of our corner king rooms which are much more spacious. We’re glad you had a generally enjoyable time. Thanks for providing feedback.

Cheers,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Unique small boutique hotel with little number of rooms, compared to other massive hotels in NYC. This brings a very personnal service. Hotel staff was excellent.
It was situates closeby very nice shops, bars and restaurants.
The rooms are clean and very modern but cosy at the same time.
Only minor remark is that for working, a desk is missing in the standard rooms. The table in the room was not really convenient to work at.
My room was on the 8th floor, so I haven't heared any of the rooftop bar noise some people complain about.
Conclusion: I loved the hotel and would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Bilsky S,

Thanks for taking time to write a review. The James’ prime location is one of my favorite features of the hotel so I’m glad you enjoyed it. Guests avoid the hustle and bustle of Midtown while getting a genuine New York experience in vibrant Soho. We look forward to your next visit.

Thank you,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The James New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James New York

Address: 27 Grand St., New York City, NY 10013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , SoHo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in New York City
#77 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#88 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#132 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchoring Soho's southwest corner, The James New York is an ideally situated, warmly modern, residential styled luxury hotel that delivers an artful blend of exquisitely hand-crafted design, intuitive service and personalized comfort. Unique features include all-glass Sky Lobby, rooftop deck and pool with river-to-river Manhattan views. The lush Urban Garden is an outdoor escape, offering seasonal entertainment, cultural events and fine cuisine. With activities including Tribeca Film Festival screenings, yoga, spa services, croquet and more, the Urban Garden is a hub for creative communities to gather and interact. Guests are invited to dine at David Burke Kitchen which offers wholesome and hearty modern American food, locally sourced and presented in the creative and whimsical style that is Burke's trademark. Enjoy cocktails at JIMMY, our rooftop bar which boasts a sexy social atmosphere, with an enclosed bar and lounge set against 360-degree views of the Manhattan skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Tablet Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The James New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The James New York Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The James New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.