We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, but not value for money!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The James New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The James New York to your Saves list
The James New York
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Grand St., New York City, NY 10013 (SoHo)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Wine
Ranked #144 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Great hotel, but not value for money!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Pros
-Great location, close to SoHo shops, numerous restaurants and within walking distance of the Highline.
-Large bedroom, with small lounge room (although we paid for the privilege).
-Rooms had streamlined decor, with a strong minimalist influence (if you like traditional hotel styling you probably will not like the decor).
-Large and well designed room.
-Great design elements throughout the hotel (art installations, furniture, lights).
-Small gym, but fantastic view (helps with the hell of running on a treadmill).
-Helpful staff.
-Complimentary water.
-Complimentary herbal tea (nice quality tea bags) in the room.
-Complimentary coffee (although disappointingly instant) in the room. Given the high price tag of the hotel I expected higher quality coffee.
-Complimentary coffee and snacks (scone like buns) in the lobby area every morning.
-Fantastic bacon (maple syrup smoked), possibly the best I have ever had (and I am a connoisseur) served with room service hamburgers and in basement restaurant.

Cons
-My main issue is the price tag. Given the cost (+US$800/night once you include all the taxes) I expected it to be near perfect. It wasn’t. The interior is looking worn, with the normal wear and tear one would expect a high volume hotel, but not definitely not in a 5 star hotel.
-Busy roof top deck available to the public impacted elevator availability.
-Shower had mold, likely impossible to remove, but still unpleasant.
-Instant coffee! Need I say more?

To Be Aware Of
-Price vs quality.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Fact_check,

Thanks for the rave review. It seems like you got the full James experience. We pride ourselves on our attention to detail and authentic decor. I’m also happy you enjoyed the environmentally-thoughtful details of The James, including the triple filtered water, and complimentary treats served at The James Club. We hope you return very soon. Thanks again!.. Until your next visit.

Sincerely,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    249
    86
    44
    24
See reviews for
98
484
51
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Great location, nice views, rooftop bar is great, garden is fantastic too, restaurant (David Burke) soso but reasonable, rooms are comfy and well equipped.

Top floor rooms can be quite noisy, plus they don't have any twin rooms.

All in all great choice and reasonable value...

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear George H,

Thanks for choosing The James for your visit to Soho. It’s great that you were able to enjoy so many of the wonderful features we have to offer. We’re also happy you enjoyed our prime location in Soho. Thanks again. Until your next visit.

Cheers,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Was offered preferred guest list status to get into Jimmy's that evening. When we went to go up there. The security would not let us in. Made us stand away for 10 min. and let 3-4 groups of 4-6 people ahead of us even though we said we were on preferred list and showed our room key. We walked away just after midnight. We were treated very poorly by security.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Mr. Paul A,

Thanks for taking time to share about your recent visit. More importantly, thank you for your patience and understanding. It’s disappointing to hear that you didn’t have a flawless experience. We strive to improve each day so thank you for the candid feedback. The rooftop bar opens to the surrounding neighborhood in the evening, but guest satisfaction is of utmost importance to us so I apologize that your visit was negatively impacted. We will review your feedback with our team. Feel free to reach out to me directly so I can personally oversee your next stay at jamesnygm@jameshotels.com.


Thank you,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I visit NYC often for business and as a PR pro with experience representing high-profile hospitality clients (e.g. hotels, resorts, chefs, restaurants, travel destinations, spas, etc) and after having lived in NYC for almost a decade (moved back to the DC area in 2010), I enjoy experiencing new hotels each time I get back up to visit.

My three day two night stay at The James New York in SOHO was outstanding. After arriving and having to deal with a nightmare with various representatives from Citibank after learning my bank card had been compromised, the staff at The James did whatever they could to make sure that I was taken care of. As I stood in the lobby stressed and frustrated and on the phone with multiple representatives from Citibank, the front desk manager provided me with water and a glass of wine, until I was able to get everything sorted out! After the debacle, I finally made my way up to my suite and was blown away the second I stepped foot into the room. The room was crisp, clean, contemporary, and have sweeping views of the beautiful NYC skyline - my second home! It was my first time seeing the Freedom Tower complete and shining in the distance. One of the former PR agency's I worked for actually did the PR for the architects/designers for the Freedom Tower so I was lucky enough to work some of the events including the groundbreaking. So again it meant a lot that this was the view I got to fall asleep and wake up to. The bed and linens were luxurious and I slept well. Room service was quick and service was extremely friendly. The bathroom was gorgeous and I loved the electronic shade that you had the option of pulling down for privacy or lifting up so you could see the room. I also enjoyed flipping through the book left in the room - 'Humans of New York' - and ended up buying a copy when I returned to DC to remind me how how amazing NYC - my second home is. The day I checked out, I was able to get a late check out and head up to the rooftop pool to enjoy a cocktail and a quick dip. I ordered lunch up there as well. It was the perfect way to end my trip!

This hotel is also well known as a see and be seen property. I learned while lounging poolside on the rooftop that the entire cast of Orange is the New Black had a party on the rooftop the night before. I also heard Derek Jeter had dinner at David Burke - the hotel restaurant - one of the nights I was there. Ahhhhhh NYC :)

Room Tip: Corner suites have mind blowing views of the city, then again, it seems like the majority of the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Kyle S,

It’s humbling to receive such a kind review. Thank you for choosing us for your visit to Soho. I’m glad you enjoyed some of the best features of The James, including complimentary amenities at The James Club Sky Lobby, loft-inspired rooms flushed with natural light, and most importantly, our hardworking team members. I’m glad they left you with a positive impression. We look forward to your next stay.

Thank you,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

A perfect 4 night stay in great room.
Helpful and friendly staff. Understated, tasteful luxury in excellent TrIBeCa location. Bathroom with huge size organic shampoo, conditioners and wash creme. Crisp white cotton sheets in lovely bed. Loved The James!

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear RejseReview,

Thanks for the rave review. Our team members strive to go above and beyond so we appreciate you acknowledging all their hard work. You pointed to some of our most unique features, including the loft-inspired guestrooms, and our complimentary in room amenities. Thanks for choosing The James for your visit to Soho. Until your next stay.

Sincerely,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Not only is the hotel beautiful and full of amenities (one of the few hotels in Manhattan with an open air rooftop pool), but the staff is first in class. Every single person I encountered was extremely friendly and accommodating. I felt like I was the only person staying at the hotel. I had a party at the JIMMY for 30 or so of my closest friends and then it moved down to the Penthouse. The Penthouse was spectacular. It was was one of the best events I've ever hosted. Perfect way to turn 30!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Brian N,

We really appreciate you taking time to share feedback about your stay. I’m glad you had a great time. You pointed to some of our most unique features, including our rooftop pool and JIMMY our rooftop bar. I’m most proud of our team for leaving you feeling welcome. Until your next visit.

Warm regards,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We took a 24 hr business trip to SoHo. Contacted the James Hotel and felt right at home. Would highly recommend. Personalized and friendly service. Egger at the front desk was fantastic and Eric in valet/transportation very helpful. Location of hotel made walking in the area easy with many options for dining and snacking.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Ms. Linda E,

Thanks for taking time to write a review. The James’ prime location is one of my favorite features of the hotel so I’m glad you enjoyed it. Guests avoid the hustle and bustle of Midtown while getting a genuine New York experience in vibrant Soho. But more importantly, thank you for acknowledging Ecker and Eric. They’re huge asset to our team. We look forward to your next visit.

Thank you,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#160 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,906 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#184 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 781 reviews
SoHo
NOMO SOHO Hotel
NOMO SOHO Hotel
#259 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trump SoHo New York
#87 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,258 reviews
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#7 of 464 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#10 of 464 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James New York

Address: 27 Grand St., New York City, NY 10013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Business Hotel in New York City
#81 Family Hotel in New York City
#106 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#142 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchoring Soho's southwest corner, The James New York is an ideally situated, warmly modern, residential styled luxury hotel that delivers an artful blend of exquisitely hand-crafted design, intuitive service and personalized comfort. Unique features include all-glass Sky Lobby, rooftop deck and pool with river-to-river Manhattan views. The lush Urban Garden is an outdoor escape, offering seasonal entertainment, cultural events and fine cuisine. With activities including Tribeca Film Festival screenings, yoga, spa services, croquet and more, the Urban Garden is a hub for creative communities to gather and interact. Guests are invited to dine at David Burke Kitchen which offers wholesome and hearty modern American food, locally sourced and presented in the creative and whimsical style that is Burke's trademark. Enjoy cocktails at JIMMY, our rooftop bar which boasts a sexy social atmosphere, with an enclosed bar and lounge set against 360-degree views of the Manhattan skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The James New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The James New York Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The James New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.