We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, trendy hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The James New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The James New York to your Saves list
The James New York
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Grand St., New York City, NY 10013 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bonus Nights
Ranked #112 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great location, trendy hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

THis is a real find in SOHO. It's right on the subway,easy access to Times Square, and no touristy crowd jamming the street. Cools, hip hotel, with a hot restaurant - David Burke's Kitchen. The serve a continental breakfast in the morning and wine in the afternoon. Remarkable Jimmy's on the Roof for cocktails and they have a roof top pool.

Staff is great. Felix and Sydney were teriffic in helping getting us around the area. They know the places to go and were a great help. Actually, everyuone of the staff could be mentioned. The front desk folks were really nice and accommodating, the evening dorrman at the hotel door was congenial and like the rest of the staff, willing to give advice and assistance whenever you asked for it.

Typical NYC rooms - but not overly small. Overall a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are a bit larger and the view is worth it.
See more room tips
Green Features: Lots of green going on there. Eco friendly soaps and toiletries.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, Guest Relations Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear GregC1948,

I’m very happy to hear our team members left you with such a positive impression. Felix and Sydney in particular will appreciate the special mentions. You were spot-on in describing The James prime location in Soho. Guests escape the hustle and bustle of Midtown while gaining local boutiques, eateries and galleries. I’m also very glad you enjoyed David Burke Kitchen and JIMMY our rooftop bar. We hope you return very soon. Thank you for your feedback.

Mark Hanoka
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    219
    70
    33
    23
See reviews for
86
421
48
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Everything was great from the wine hour, roof top pool (only for guests until 5 pm) great cocktail list, and outside bar at Jimmy's. I can't wait to get back to NYC to stay at the James hotel again. thanks!


  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, Guest Relations Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Ms. Stacey M,

Great that you were able to enjoy complimentary amenities at The James Club, JIMMY our rooftop bar, and our plunge pool! We’re just as excited to have you return. Thanks for sharing feedback.

Mark Hanoka
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimena_mv
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The location of the James is grate; it is in the heart of Soho, in walking distance to Greenwich Village, little Italy, China Town, Chelsea and Tribeca.
The Hotel is beautiful; the decoration is modern, with lots of light. It´s really pet friendly.
The corner studio has a pretty good size for NY standards.
The Cons, personally the pillows were too soft I rather more orthopedic pillows.
The service at their restaurant and Bar Jimmy´s is really bad, the staff couldn´t seem less interested in the guest.
There was a lot of dust behind the TV.
In my experience I think you pay a lot for an average service.

Room Tip: Corner studio is a really good option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, General Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear jimena_mv,

It’s regrettable that you didn’t get a true James experience. Your issues are not typical to what our service standards strive for and I truly apologize. If you do choose to give us another opportunity for a better second impression, we do offer a pillow menu. On a positive note, I’m glad you enjoyed our prime location in Soho and the warm modern ambiance of the hotel. Thank you for sharing feedback.

Best regards,
Jeff Hentze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Wow! This is a fabulous luxury hotel right in Soho. Treat yourself to a fantastic experience. I was so stressed until I arrived...just looking at the beautiful view from the rooftop pool carried me away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, Guest Relations Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Ms. Margaret G,

So glad you were able to find serenity after long travels. We strive to provide that for every guest with The James’ warm modern ambiance and genuine yet unobtrusive approach to service. Thank you for sharing about your visit. Until your next stay.

Mark Hanoka
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Having stayed at various hotels in NYC over the years, we picked the James this time round because of its rooftop pool. Having read the reviews I didn't expect it to be huge and it wasn't. I actually only used the pool once after the complementary Wednesday morning rooftop yoga class which by the way was fantastic.
The hotel itself is great, has the right balance between modern and chic without being over the top achingly cool. Staff are friendly and go out of their way. Rooms are great in design as well as function. No complaints at all really. We will definitely be back.

Green Features: Loved the glass bottles of filtered tap water free of charge in the room.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, General Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear bubblensqueek,

Greetings from Soho. Thanks for your review. It’s great you took advantage of our Rooftop Yoga program. The unobstructed view, mild breeze right after sunrise and faint buzz of New York City starting its day is unbeatable. We hope to see you return very soon for another luxury liberated experience. Until your next stay.

Sincerely,
Jeff Hentze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I booked the james for 5 days just a few weeks ago and had a fantastic stay. After moving from other accommodation It was a relief to feel some serenity from the constant hum of NYC. The staff were helpful on check in and throughout our stay. While the rooms may not be large they are ultra modern finished well with ipod doc, super high end mini bar and bathroom soaps and gels. The beds were super comfortable but the pillows are way too soft but the James even has a note mentioning order whatever pillow you would like if the standard ones are not to your liking. From 6pm the have wine and cheese in the lobby which while very basic and for a while they were out of glasses it is a nice touch. The James has a very popular roof top pool/bar which pumps on the weekend and considering how many non hotel guests are trying to get in its the place to be. It was nice on a Wednesday to have my friends join me for sunset drinks before we headed out in NYC. Cocktails are a bit expensive but as you could expect with views of the Hudson river like that. NB: The pool is small so not really one for swimming. The location is good with many good bars and restaurants within 5 minuets walk away. Check out was at 2pm which helped for our late flight back home. The only one disappointment was that one of the concierge staff didn't seem to be able to acquire tickets to a show which from later knowledge should have been manageable. Overall I can recommend The James, you get what you pay for as the extra $150 a night over basic hotels is worth while.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, General Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Ben B,

I’m happy you found The James a relaxing retreat from the hustle and bustle of New York City. Our location in Soho is perfect for that. Thank you for appreciating the many luxury liberated amenities we offer, one of which include The James Club Sky Lobby. We strive to focus on the details. I apologize for the inconveniences you had obtaining Broadway show tickets. We hope you return the next time you find yourself in New York. Thank you for your feedback.

Best regards,
Jeff Hentze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
319 reviews 319 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

First of all, I would ask that the management please not comment on this, I generally enjoyed my stay at The James, the issues I have are ones that many people have commented on here, so assuring me that these will be taken care of does not make me feel better

The hotel is very nice and in a great neighborhood. I booked this solely for the fact that is has an outdoor pool which are few and far between in the city. The pool area is very nice, but rather small so if you want a chair plan ahead and get up there early. We had a woman that had managed to snag three chairs for her friends not staying in the hotel and she managed to have the pool boy back her. Ultimately the manager did the right thing which was good.

The bigger issue is the fact that the pool becomes a club at 3PM on the weekends, no where on the website does it tell you this. Guests are sunning and suddenly the place is inundated with party goers, so full you can barely walk around the pool deck. I understand wanting to make the hotel a happening spot but at the expense of your guests is a questionable plan. The other issue stems from the nightclub, they have elevator monitors that are supposed to keep club goers from the hotel elevators. The issue is they have one person monitoring this at the bottom of the elevator, so when the party ends and people need to come down they pack on the hotel elevators making it had for guests to use.

The rooms are nice, small but what you would expect for NY. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was spacious and luxurious. The staff was helpful when you had a problem they generally would work to fix it, again most of the issues stem from not enough control around the rooftop parties

Room Tip: The hotel only has rooms with one bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, Guest Relations Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share about your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The James New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James New York

Address: 27 Grand St., New York City, NY 10013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , SoHo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in New York City
#77 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#89 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#133 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchoring Soho's southwest corner, The James New York is an ideally situated, warmly modern, residential styled luxury hotel that delivers an artful blend of exquisitely hand-crafted design, intuitive service and personalized comfort. Unique features include all-glass Sky Lobby, rooftop deck and pool with river-to-river Manhattan views. The lush Urban Garden is an outdoor escape, offering seasonal entertainment, cultural events and fine cuisine. With activities including Tribeca Film Festival screenings, yoga, spa services, croquet and more, the Urban Garden is a hub for creative communities to gather and interact. Guests are invited to dine at David Burke Kitchen which offers wholesome and hearty modern American food, locally sourced and presented in the creative and whimsical style that is Burke's trademark. Enjoy cocktails at JIMMY, our rooftop bar which boasts a sexy social atmosphere, with an enclosed bar and lounge set against 360-degree views of the Manhattan skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Tablet Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The James New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The James New York Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The James New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.