We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The James New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The James New York to your Saves list
The James New York
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Grand St., New York City, NY 10013 (SoHo)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Inspired by Spring
Ranked #121 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lexington, Ky.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

i had the most amazing stay while at The James. The rooms were clean, beautiful, and the bathroom was impeccable. Everyone that was working at the hotel while i stayed there was super friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, General Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Ms. Emily L,

Your recommendation is deeply appreciated. Thank you for taking time to share about your first stay here at The James. I’m glad your experience was so positive, especially in your interactions with the different members of our James team staff. They are our greatest asset. We are glad you were able to find comfort in the warmly modern guestrooms and look forward to having you as our guest the next time you find yourself in Soho.

Best regards,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    233
    80
    36
    23
See reviews for
90
453
51
168
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I would recommend The James New York to anyone staying in Soho. It was the perfect place for a long weekend vacation. It is within walking distance of all of the great Soho shops and restaurants. The room was very nice with a comfortable bed and sexy bathroom. The roof top pool area and bar were ideal for lounging and enjoying the views with good drinks and food. Overall the service was very friendly and efficient! We'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, General Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Mr. John D,

Your recommendation means a lot to us, thank you. You pointed to some features of The James that make it truly special, some of which include our prime location in Soho, the warmly modern guestrooms featuring a custom privacy screen, food by David Burke Kitchen, and of course the rooftop plunge pool with unobstructed views of Manhattan. We hope to welcome you back for another long weekend. Thanks again.

Best,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Just returned from spending five nights at The James and it was fantastic! special thanks to Michael the doorman for reminding me to check the safe.....passport inside. Also for all of the wonderful e suggestions for restaurants. A wonderful experience, hope to return soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, General Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Siobhan C,

I am proud that your interactions with our team members left you with such a positive impression. Like Mike, our team members are our greatest asset. Thank you for acknowledging that. It’s great that you also had the opportunity to experience the gem of a neighborhood in which we’re located. Soho is teeming with unique boutiques and eateries. We appreciate you taking the time to share details of your stay. Until your next stay.

Sincerely,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is the first time i have stayed at The James. I was very pleased with the level of Service the attention to detail and the coolness of the whole place. Loved the area. The only Place to stay in NY

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, General Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Mr. Anthony K,

Your kind review is deeply appreciated. We pride ourselves in our attention to detail. From daily complimentary amenities at The James Club Sky Lobby throughout the day to triple filtered water provided in each room, we strive to provide each guest with a luxurious stay liberated from tradition. We would be honored to continue being your preferred hotel when traveling to New York City. Until your next visit.

Warm regards,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at the James Hotel during our trip to New York City for our 10 year anniversary. It was nice to stay at a location that had easy access via public transportation to all the sights but was in more quaint and personable neighborhood compared to Times Square. The staff was personable and friendly. They also gave us an upgrade on our room (maybe because it was our 10 year anniversary). It may be more expensive than some other hotels in New York City, but for us it was worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, General Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Kristina P,

Congratulations! It is so gratifying when guests choose to share special occasions with us. I’m happy to see that our team provided a warm welcome and that you saw the value in choosing The James New York. Our team works hard to make each visit personalized with genuine unobtrusive guest service. Thank you for taking time to provide feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Cheers,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D.C.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Just got back from a 4 night stay at the James Hotel in Soho. Had room 609 - corner queen room. Small but everything was well placed and had just enough space for what I needed. Shower was great - but I was wishing for a bath when I was hung over on Saturday. LOL! Anyways - the bed so so comfy, just having a 2 angle view out the window was really great. I think with that kind of view the room feels bigger. I ordered room service several times and each time it only took 15 minutes and my man - Michael - he was the bomb! Too fun! Front desk staff was very helpful - the one thing lacking in the room was actual info about the hotel other than in-room dining. But as I said the staff was great with all of my questions. Loved the wine hour from 6-8, missed the coffee and pastries in the morning and the cookies at 8pm. And bonus - I booked a massage in the garden cabana - its was the best massage of my life. No joke. Total zen. Bogdan Stoia - you are the man! Thanks James Hotel for bringing that guy in to do my massage. Completely worth the price!! And bonus - check out at 2pm. YES!!!! Love that!

Now - I have to say - I really enjoyed the hotel. However, the hotel pool - I tried to go on Wednesday afternoon - but there are barely any lounge chairs and the rest of the chairs are upright chairs. Very stiff for a pool setting. So I decided to get a drink at the bar Jimmy since there wasn't really any place to lounge outside. It was 4pm - and honestly the staff was so rude to me! I was the only customer (aside from a few guests in the outside lounge chairs). When I sat down at the bar the 2 bartenders looked at me like I had 2 heads. It's a hotel! Why shouldn't I get a drink at 4pm?? Anyways - so I took my $16 glass of wine and sat by the window. Meanwhile 3 staff for the evening rolled in and were so loud and obnoxious that I left. So odd! I did not go back to Jimmy. Not worth it at all. The staff sucked.

So I went to the Treehouse bar thinking that might be a better place to chill. Same thing. Getting a drink at a hotel at 5pm on a wednesday is just somehow weird I guess. Don't get it. Again - I honestly felt like I was bothering the staff by making them wait on me. Annoying. So I took my drink up to the Urban Garden where apparently the bar staff can't serve and hung out there before the party I was due to go to. Somehow - The treehouse bar is completely separate from the hotel as is Jimmy (rooftop bar). Personally, and I told the bar staff at Treehouse - isn't it better to all work together? There definitely was a divide between the resturants/bars and the actual hotel. And the Hotel Staff was MUCH more friendly. I'd love to go back to that hotel but I will steer clear of the restaurants and bars. Not worth it. Honestly go to the Cafe Noir across the street. Much better atmosphere - just cash only. But very hip and the staff was actually friendly. Go figure!!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner view. Makes all the difference.
See more room tips
Green Features: I liked them and actually it wasn't in your face environmentally practices. The subtle touch is worth noting. Not one once of luxury was changed because of this.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, General Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear lib101,

I wanted to personally thank you for the compliments of our team members, James Club Sky Lobby, and luxurious spa cabana, but more importantly apologize for the lapses in service you received from the bars. Missing the mark in providing warm genuine service is atypical and complete unacceptable. Your feedback, though disappointing, is greatly appreciated and allows us to improve. We’re happy you generally enjoyed your stay and hope you reconsider a future opportunity for us to endear you to the hotel.

Sincerely,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My wife and I had one night in NYC on July 4, 2013 and we wanted to stay in a part of the city where we could get a comfortable place to stay, great shopping and great food. We were referred by friends to The James because of their excellent reputation for providing great rooms and a cool, casual atmosphere with access to SOHO, Tribeca and The Village. We were not disappointed!

When we arrived, Amy at the front desk was very friendly and offered to give us information about the hotel, amenities, the area and that we should contact her if their was anything else we needed. I had mentioned that my wife and I had been married about 6 weeks prior and without even wanting anything, when we arrived in our corner king room, there was a bottle of champagne as well as some snacks with a hand written card from the staff welcoming us to a mini-honeymoon.

The room itself was amazing. We were on the 12th floor and had a unobstructed view of the new World Trade Center "Freedom Tower" - which was lit up Red, White and Blue at night. The beds were fantastic (and we have stayed in Westins, Four Seasons, and Ritz's). I think they had 5 different types of pillows and they were all very comfortable. They have an fantastic mini bar with great Alcohol and compliments and we loved the bobbysue's nuts! The bathroom has a fun see through window (that can be shut for privacy) and the shower head comes down from the ceiling and has plenty of room for two :)

After a great lunch at Osteria Morini and some shopping in Soho, we came back to The James for some free wine and cheese in the lobby. Chris from the front desk advised us to get to the roof top about an hour before the fireworks because he wanted to make sure that we would have a view. He also warned us that we might not be able to see the entire show because a building might be in the way. We got to the rooftop about 30 minutes before the fireworks and we were able to get a great spot on the railing. We were pleasantly surprised with how much of the fireworks we could see - our view was only slightly blocked. They had a DJ playing party music before the fireworks, but then switched to more traditional Americana (Sinatra, etc) for the show. It was awesome!

The next morning we woke up around 10:00 thinking we would check out and grab a bite to eat. I called down to ask about check out time believing it would be 11:00 and Chris said, "anytime between 12:00 - 2:00". That was perfect! We were able to get food, do a bit more shopping and come back, shower and still check out by 2:00. It was like we got two full days and only had to pay for one night. One side note, as we were walking out of our room to breakfast, we pasted a housekeeper who was very pleasant and said, "you don't have to check out until 2:00 - enjoy your day". We just felt like the staff wanted us to feel comfortable and to enjoy the hotel for as long as possible.

When we left, my wife said to me that although we had only stayed one night, it felt like a long vacation. We will definitely be back to the James!!!

Room Tip: The Corner King had an amazing view! World Trade one way and the Hudson on the other...
See more room tips
Green Features: They certainly seemed to focus on being environmentally friendly. Refillable water, eco soaps, ect.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, General Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Adam k,

Congratulations on your mini-honeymoon! Our team members are our greatest asset so I am extremely proud of them for providing a warm welcome. I thank you on their behalf for the kind compliments. Our rooftop bar JIMMY was probably one of the best rooftops to catch the July 4th fireworks display. I am also glad you were able to enjoy wine hour at The James Club Sky Lobby. We certainly intend for guests to find a home away from home at The James New York and hope the details (i.e. 2 PM check-out, The James Club Sky Lobby amenities, complimentary car service, etc) help convey this. We hope to welcome you back very soon. Until your next visit.

Best regards,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The James New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James New York

Address: 27 Grand St., New York City, NY 10013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in New York City
#88 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#108 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#120 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchoring Soho's southwest corner, The James New York is an ideally situated, warmly modern, residential styled luxury hotel that delivers an artful blend of exquisitely hand-crafted design, intuitive service and personalized comfort. Unique features include all-glass Sky Lobby, rooftop deck and pool with river-to-river Manhattan views. The lush Urban Garden is an outdoor escape, offering seasonal entertainment, cultural events and fine cuisine. With activities including Tribeca Film Festival screenings, yoga, spa services, croquet and more, the Urban Garden is a hub for creative communities to gather and interact. Guests are invited to dine at David Burke Kitchen which offers wholesome and hearty modern American food, locally sourced and presented in the creative and whimsical style that is Burke's trademark. Enjoy cocktails at JIMMY, our rooftop bar which boasts a sexy social atmosphere, with an enclosed bar and lounge set against 360-degree views of the Manhattan skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The James New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The James New York Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The James New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.