We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel in Soho” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The James New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The James New York to your Saves list
The James New York
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Grand St., New York City, NY 10013 (SoHo)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Wine
Ranked #145 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
marysville ohio
Level Contributor
251 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“nice hotel in Soho”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is a great chic little hotel in Soho. Have stayed several times while on business. Clean comfortable , but small rooms. Nice lobby lounge with wine for happy hour. Friendly staff. would recommend

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, General Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear linda s,

It’s especially critical we hear from returning guests so thank you for taking time to share such a wonderful review. We truly appreciate you continuing to choose The James for your business travels to New York and Soho. Your recommendation means a great deal to us. Until your next stay.

Sincerely,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    255
    87
    45
    24
See reviews for
99
495
51
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I was here for four days last week with my husband while he did some business in the area. During the day I was left on my own and the staff was great help. The doormen were so nice when I had a question with what subway to use. I ordered room service 2x for breakfast and Erica remembered my order exactly. She even knew I liked my milk steamed!!! The lobby was great with complimentary cheese and wine in the evenings. I will for sure be returning!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, General Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Sabrina S,

Thank you for taking time to share about your stay. I am very proud that our team made such a positive impression on you. We work hard to provide unobtrusive attentive service, like remembering details of your breakfast order. Erica will certainly appreciate the special mention and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you find yourself in Soho.

Sincerely,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The James is a newly built chic boutique hotel in trendy Soho. We had a fabulous week in chilly January for our honeymoon. Everything about the hotel is great, from the moment we arrived at the trendy lobby, the helpful front desk person, the stylish, but functional room and the glass facade bathroom with electric privacy curtain (generally not used by us). We enjoyed the morning complimentary coffee and pasties in the lobby.

The only downside i found the free Wifi clunky, as i needed to re log in frequently on 2 iPhones and an iPad, as the system drops out after a short period of non use.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, General Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Gerry052,

Congratulations on your marriage – it’s such a pleasure when guests share special occasions with us. We constantly strive to provide a luxury liberated experience that exceeds expectations but it’s especially gratifying when we take part in creating unforgettable moments. I am very proud that our team left you and your wife feeling taken care of. Thank you for sharing feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights last week for a mix of business and pleasure and had a wonderful experience. The hotel itself is great--love the modern, sleek decor, and the huge windows in the rooms. Unlike the other reviewer, I found the bed very comfortable. The location is, obviously, superb. The real standout was the staff--everyone was so friendly, from the doormen, to the concierge (Morgan was especially great), to the front desk staff, to the housecleaning staff. Loved David Burke Kitchen, too. In short, stay here. You will not be sorry.

Room Tip: I had a deluxe king room, which was airy and big enough for a couple traveling together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, General Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear ebwbikegirl,

Thank you for writing such a kind review. I’m glad your experience was so positive, and that you felt the comfortable, warm modernism of The James. We take a lot of pride in our hotel and it’s really wonderful to see that work pay off. Morgan will appreciate the special mention. I’m happy that during your stay you got a chance to experience some of what The James has to offer. Again, thank you so much for sharing and we look forward to your next visit.

Warmly,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed at the James a night over the last weekend. The Jimmy, ofcourse we loved. Great views, good cocktails and friendly staff. Room was super small, and the bed was very uncomfortable.. We ordered room service, and the food was very average to the point its below even a dinner food in new york.. Quite disappointing given its a gourmet chef.. I would not stay here, but will visit Jimmy,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, General Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Nycnls,

It is regrettable that we missed the mark in leaving you with a positive impression and that you did not find the guestrooms to be a right fit. I’m happy to see you enjoyed your time at the rooftop bar and we would welcome another opportunity to endear you to the hotel the next time you find yourself in Soho. Thank you for taking time to share about your stay.

Sincerely,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I travel regularly to NY for work. Last year, I stayed at The James and had a wonderful experience. The service, the staff, the amenities, the room, everything and everyone was remarkable and thoughtful. However, I got it in my head that I wanted to try new hotels on each visit, so on my next few trips, I sampled some other boutique hotels.

This week, I was stranded in NYC for an extra night due to a flight delay. I had our assistant at work contact the James immediately. If I couldn't be home, I wanted to stay in this warm, cozy, friendly place. I felt so defeated by my day as I checked in (having gone to the airport only to be told I could not make it home and a long sad taxi ride back into NYC). Upon check in, the manager thoughtfully offered me a glass of wine and sincere empathy. My luggage was brought immediately to my gorgeous king corner suite with an amazing view. I decided to take myself pity shopping and let me tell you, every single designer or shop you could want is minutes from the James. Upon my return, I ordered room service and enjoyed high end 'comfort food' from David Burke Kitchen. It was as nice a substitute for home as I could possibly have imagined.

It is the little things- both in the room and regarding the staff- that will make this my go to hotel from here on out. The filtered water by the bed, the Intelligent Nutrients products in the shower, the welcoming lounge floor with wine and cheese and great seating, all the way down to the thoughtful personal note attached to my emailed invoice from the desk staff. I will be back in a few weeks and I am looking forward to an amazing 'home base'.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, General Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Megan H,

It would be our pleasure to continue being your Soho home base after any grueling or enjoyable travels. Thank you for taking time to share such a positive review. I will be sure to relay your kind sentiments to the team. We strive to provide a luxury liberated experience through attention to detail and genuine unobtrusive guest service. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you find yourself in Soho.

Warmest regards,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed at The James Hotel for our 10-days in New York. The James was just fabulous and I could not recommend it highly enough. We had a ‘standard’ room on the west side on the 14 floor with a wonderful view. The room was clean, neat and very well-designed for its compact size. The hotel is relatively new and while we raised the average age, we always felt welcome at all times. All the hotel staff were friendly and very helpful. The staff were quick to brave the cold to hail cabs and on a number of occasions confirmed restaurant bookings and other related matters.

The hotel is about 100 metres from a Metro train station (for the Red 1 line), while access to stations for another Metro line are also within an easy walking distance. While the hotel’s address is on Grand Street it is effectively on the corner of 6th Avenue and Grand Street, which makes securing cabs a relatively painless exercise.

The hotel’s restaurant (David Burke) was excellent and the need for a reservation at night was proof of its popularity. We also ate close by on a number of occasions (the Lucky Strike Restaurant and Cipriani Downtown). Balthazar (excellent) for brunch is also within an easy walking distance. The complementary wine and cheese at night was a nice touch, as was the coffee and muffins in the morning before you headed out for the day.

Room Tip: The rooms on the west side have the views and the higher up you are the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, General Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear anactbloke,

We appreciate you sharing feedback about your time with us. It is wonderful that you were able to enjoy the warmly modern guestrooms, prime location in vibrant Soho, amenities at The James Club Sky Lobby and David Burke Kitchen. I am most proud, however, of our team for leaving you with such a positive impression. They are truly our greatest asset. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. Until your next stay.

Best regards,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#164 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,951 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#169 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 818 reviews
SoHo
NOMO SOHO Hotel
NOMO SOHO Hotel
#280 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trump SoHo New York
#98 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,292 reviews
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#6 of 468 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#11 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James New York

Address: 27 Grand St., New York City, NY 10013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in New York City
#71 Family Hotel in New York City
#106 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#142 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchoring Soho's southwest corner, The James New York is an ideally situated, warmly modern, residential styled luxury hotel that delivers an artful blend of exquisitely hand-crafted design, intuitive service and personalized comfort. Unique features include all-glass Sky Lobby, rooftop deck and pool with river-to-river Manhattan views. The lush Urban Garden is an outdoor escape, offering seasonal entertainment, cultural events and fine cuisine. With activities including Tribeca Film Festival screenings, yoga, spa services, croquet and more, the Urban Garden is a hub for creative communities to gather and interact. Guests are invited to dine at David Burke Kitchen which offers wholesome and hearty modern American food, locally sourced and presented in the creative and whimsical style that is Burke's trademark. Enjoy cocktails at JIMMY, our rooftop bar which boasts a sexy social atmosphere, with an enclosed bar and lounge set against 360-degree views of the Manhattan skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Odigeo, Splendia, Otel, Priceline, Agoda, MrandMrsSmith and Jetsetter so you can book your The James New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The James New York Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The James New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.