We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Downtown Digs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The James New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The James New York to your Saves list
The James New York
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Grand St., New York City, NY 10013 (SoHo)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Inspired by Spring
Ranked #127 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous Downtown Digs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed a night at the James after losing power at home during Hurricane Sandy and can't say enough good things about this place.
The service was very warm, the room was gorgeous, the vibe was great and the rooftop bar and restaurant are terrific.
If you need to spend a night at a hotel in the Soho area, check this place out - it's a treat for the senses.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor so you get great light and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, General Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear nyc345,

Thank you for such a kind review – your recommendation is deeply appreciated. We strive to provide a luxury liberated experience to all guests and to have you feeling welcomed and taken care of during a challenging time means even more to us. We hope to welcome you back under celebratory or leisure circumstances. Thank you, again.

Sincerely,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    233
    80
    36
    23
See reviews for
90
453
51
168
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel is such a disappointment. The rooms are ok, we have a Corner Queen with a great bed, nice bathroom but it's not a five star room experience, rather a 3 star+. The view is ok but not super impressive. The location is great, no doubt about it.

Ok, hotel itself is nothing special at all and I've stayed at a quite a few. Now we have the service - hallelujah, TOTAL FAIL. Don't expect anything more than the ordinary. The staff is nice but not trained in a five star fashion, rather a two star.

Check in: I arrived by time for check in and had asked for a high floor room. I was told it was going to take an hour so I said ok. After 30 minutes i was told it was going to take 2 hours so I skipped the high floor. My girlfriend (who hade made the reservation) arrived in the evening. She was told the room was already occupied and then there was that little, but still clear, hint that maybe she was a call girl. No one said that but the way she was treated was to hear discriminating (here we have a woman who has travelled the world and never has experienced anything like that)

Getting an adapter: I had forgotten an adapter and asked for one. They were all occupied by guests I was told but "soon" I would get one. I had a board meeting and needed computer as well as mobile (which I explained) and needed power. If it was urgent I was asked to walk five blocks to buy one (It was snowstorm in NY this day) After two hours and several calls still no adapter. I was now running out of battery and had to stop the conf call. I was upset now and called back but no reaction. When I 15 min later was furious, called and asked them to send someone "to buy 20 adapters for the hotel and I pay for them" it was some action. First when I offered myself to buy for the hotel I got an adapter. Wow, what a five star treatment.......I was calm and really nice up until then.

The remote: After having to stop the board meeting due to no power I thought I watch some tv. does the remote work? Of course not.......and remember we're talking about a five star hotel

The hotel manager: I called the hotel manager but he didn't seem to care at all to be honest.

The James is a hotel that can charge high prices just because their location. I can never ever recommend anyone to stay here unless you need to get really upset. It's an ok hotel but for the same money you can have a really really nice experience somewhere else

Room Tip: Try asking for a high floor but don't expect it....just dont go here :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, General Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear HasseE,

Thank you for taking time to share details of your recent stay. The experience you had is very atypical and it is highly regrettable that we missed the mark in leaving you with a positive impression. I apologize that our security protocol left your girlfriend uncomfortable but guest security is of utmost importance to us; we are open to reviewing our approach. Luxury liberated and genuine unobtrusive service drives the experience we strive to provide and it is unfortunate you did not find it a right fit. I’d like to gain additional insight and invite you to continue this discussion with me in private by e-mailing me at jamesnygm@jameshotels.com. Thank you for providing a review.

Best regards,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile


I chose The James New York because of its location and interior design. It was my first time in SoHo and took a chance based on TripAdvisor rankings.
And what a great choice!
Service: Michael the bellman was great for tips, recommendations and solutions! The hotel provides a free car service, and Rick the driver was more than accommodating.
Room: Appreciated the eco-friendly features like water in carafes instead of plastic bottle, Intelligent Nutrients toiletries in refillable containers (personal-sized version upon request). Unfortunate that housekeeping changed my towel and bed linen though. The power strip is a thoughtful gesture that a world traveller like myself appreciates.
Loved the bathroom shade!
Food: breakfast at David Burke Kitchen sets a wonderful tone for the day! (Dinner was the most flavorful and satisfying I had on this trip as well.)
Location: SoHo's the best place to explore in NYC!
And these are why am coming back to The James for more.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, General Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear homewardboundmanila,

I wanted to personally thank you for your amazing feedback of The James New York. I am thrilled to see how much you enjoyed your stay and truly appreciate you sharing details about your time with us. We strive to provide all of our guests with a luxury liberated experience. I’m glad that we were able to provide you with the relaxation you deserve and a satisfying meal at David Burke Kitchen. Michael and Rich will appreciate the special mentions as well. We look forward to serving you again. Until your next stay.

Warmest regards,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Nicely decorated hotel and staffed with excellent employees.

The rooms feature many light modification functions. Great views on the upper floors. The food catering by the restaurant kitchen is also excellent.

ik and JJ
iljalon@aol.com

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, General Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear ILJA K,

Thank you for taking time to share about your recent stay. I am glad you appreciated the warmly modern guestrooms, unique ambiance, and genuine but attentive guest service. I will be sure to relay your kind sentiments to our team members. We look forward to serving you again.

Best regards,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Dora, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This will be our Hotel of Choice in Manhattan for all future visits. Nothing was less than exceptional, in terms of Location, Quality of Accomodations, and Cleanliness; however, two areas this Hotel stands out in are Service and their Rooftop Bar/Pool Area, not to mention their Star Restaurant and Green Terraces. My wife and I have often found, some of smaller, boutique Hotels, simply try harder, and The James does that and more. The James is the type of accomodation that leaves you trying to change your Travel Plans to stay just one more day!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, General Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear TravelersMMMM,

I wanted to personally thank you for taking time to write such a kind review. I am incredibly proud of our team to have made you feel welcomed and taken care of. You pointed to many great features that make The James truly special: our genuine unobtrusive service, David Burke Kitchen, the Urban Garden, and JIMMY rooftop bar. It would be our pleasure to continue being your preferred accommodations when visiting New York. Until your next stay.

Best regards,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Visited couple of times since opening. Seems to me that it's following the typical pattern: start of great, get popular, than develop attitude and stop listening to feedback by guests. After sending in a serious complaint after horrendous stay to GM, all I got was a one line reply by assistant front-desk employee and USD 50 to spend on food on my next stay?! No way! I would say, brace yourself for the party weekends, not being listened to and overpaying. Better value for money to be found nearby.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, General Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Palomino020,

Thank you for taking time to share about your recent stay – it is crucial for us to hear from returning guests. It is highly regrettable that we missed the mark in exceeding your expectations and additionally delivered a recovery that left you dissatisfied. I assure you that we sincerely value guest perspective and review feedback on a daily basis. I’d like to gain additional insight and invite you to continue this discussion in private by e-mailing me at jamesnygm@jameshotels.com. Again, I apologize you left with a negative impression. Thank you for providing a review.

Sincerely,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is SoHo (South of Houston) - is worth the price. The room and views are great! Definitely for couples, business people traveling alone, or friends who are comfortable being very close.

Hotel rooms in NYC are tiny and these are no exception, but they make the most of the space and room amenities are great! If you can afford it - stay here :) Also, they were very helpful in every way with customer service. The view from the roof bar - Jimmy at the James - is breathtaking. Definitely make your way up there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, General Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Cassy D,

It is wonderful that our team left you with such a positive impression – we strive to exceed expectations with a uniquely luxury liberated experience so thank you for providing feedback and appreciating our hard work. I certainly agree with you that the views from our guestrooms and JIMMY rooftop bar are unbeatable. I will be sure to relay your kind sentiments to our team members and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you find yourself in Soho.

Warm regards,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The James New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James New York

Address: 27 Grand St., New York City, NY 10013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in New York City
#91 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#109 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#120 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchoring Soho's southwest corner, The James New York is an ideally situated, warmly modern, residential styled luxury hotel that delivers an artful blend of exquisitely hand-crafted design, intuitive service and personalized comfort. Unique features include all-glass Sky Lobby, rooftop deck and pool with river-to-river Manhattan views. The lush Urban Garden is an outdoor escape, offering seasonal entertainment, cultural events and fine cuisine. With activities including Tribeca Film Festival screenings, yoga, spa services, croquet and more, the Urban Garden is a hub for creative communities to gather and interact. Guests are invited to dine at David Burke Kitchen which offers wholesome and hearty modern American food, locally sourced and presented in the creative and whimsical style that is Burke's trademark. Enjoy cocktails at JIMMY, our rooftop bar which boasts a sexy social atmosphere, with an enclosed bar and lounge set against 360-degree views of the Manhattan skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The James New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The James New York Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The James New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.