We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The James New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The James New York to your Saves list
The James New York
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Grand St., New York City, NY 10013 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bonus Nights
Ranked #112 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Berlin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

50th Birthday and they did not disappoint upgraded every thing was perfect from start to finish best stay in SoHo ever Corner Suite

Room Tip: Auroua for dinner
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_James_NY_Hotel, General Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Dear 1Berliner,

We want to thank you for sharing about your stay with us. We are so glad we were able to make you comfortable, and leave you with a lasting impression.

We look forward to serving you again.
Sincerely,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    219
    70
    33
    23
See reviews for
86
421
48
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hicksville, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Our stay at the James hotel in SoHo was phenomenal!! My boyfriend and I booked our valentines weekend get-away through their concierge, Morgan Cohen. She was fantastic! Morgan provided us with information about the hotel and the area so that we had many different options to choose from for our romantic weekend. She also sent us an amenity for valentines day which was a very nice surprise! I would highly suggest staying at this hotel. The room was clean and modern and the view was fantastic. Next time we stay in Manhattan we will certainly be returning to The James in Soho. KUDOS TO THE STAFF!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_James_NY_Hotel, General Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Dear Michele L,

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. I couldn’t happier that we were able to make your stay on Valentines weekend so special and exceed your expectations. I also wanted to thank you for the mentioning one of our Team Members, Morgan. Our team stands out as our most important facet of the hotel and I’m glad that one of those Team Members stood out to you. We hope to see you on your next special occasion here at The James.

Warm wishes,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Over the weekend I proposed to my girlfriend in New York and surprised her with a stay at the James Hotel. I was familiar with the prime location in SoHo but had never stayed at the James. My only knowledge of the hotel was based on the reviews here on TripAdvisor and some photos. Needless to say, they don't do justice for how great this hotel was. The service was spectacular. From before our stay even began, Morgan the head concierge, was so incredibly helpful with all the details from upgrading us to an apartment suite to arranging for our luggage to be delivered to our room to a complimentary bottle of champagne and macarons to celebrate the occasion. She made our stay even more perfect and memorable with all the nice touches. The doormen, the bellboys, the receptionists and even the cleaning lady were all really friendly and helpful. The room itself was phenomenal. From the views to the comfort of the bed to the heated floors in the bathroom, we really loved it all. The chocolates by the bed, the free bottles of filtered water, and so many other little details made all the difference. I couldn't have made a better choice for our special weekend.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_James_NY_Hotel, General Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Dear dlu415,

First off congratulations on your engagement, we’re so pleased that we could a part of such a special moment in your lives. I’m delighted that you felt our staff, especially Morgan, was helpful and friendly towards making your stay an unforgettable one. I’m glad that you enjoyed the complimentary items we provided you. Thank you so much for sharing your experience at The James, we would love to have you both back.

Warm wishes,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Our stay at the James Hotel was exceptional. We loved our accommodations so much we barely left the room. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We will definitely be looking to return.

Room Tip: We opted to take a chance and sign up for an upgrade if available for a nominal additional cost. Our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_James_NY_Hotel, General Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Dear KimGillespie,

We want to thank you for sharing about your stay with us. We are so glad we were able to make you comfortable, and leave you with a lasting impression.

We look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

I booked the James for a one night stay since we were headed to dinner around the corner and I just wanted to be able to do a quick walk to the Lani Kai bar. The James offers California style comforts in the middle of NYC. There is a rooftop pool bar with a view that is stunning, even complete with Burning man photography decorating the walls. The lobby area is gorgeous with stocked drinks and food at all times of the day. We even had breakfast at Burke's Kitchen the next morning and it was delish. I would stay here again anytime, also worth noting are the cool glass wall in the bathroom with a moving art screen.

Room Tip: Get a room high up as possible for better views of the Hudson side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_James_NY_Hotel, General Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear scanna,

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay here at The James. Thanks for making mention of the location, décor, and the amenities we serve in The James Club Sky Lobby, such as coffee and pastries in the morning and the wine and cookies that’s served in the evening. We look forward to having you back and giving you another stellar experience.

Warm wishes,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

After growing up in and around New York City, I now live at the beach in North Carolina. Every year I travel North to see friends and family and to get a bit of urban culture. The past few times I have been in NYC, I stayed at the James and have finally decided to write a review. The hotel and its staff are terrific. The location is outside of the crush of tourist areas but still firmly part of the city. Subways, cabs, busses are all close by for travel to major museums and Lincoln Center, Carnegie Hall, Bway etc. But there's so much to do in the immediate area, you may find you needn't bother. Fabulous shopping and many fine restaurants with delicious food are within walking distance...we ate at the Little Owl, Mas and the Dutch, which i think was named this year's best restaurant by the NY Times. All easy walking distance...the Dutch is just around the corner. Staff is great - friendly and highly competent. Rooms are small on a national standard but nice size for NYC nice bathroom and floor to ceiling windows. Our view was toward downtown and you could see the new Gehry building and the new WTC tower under construction. All in all - a perfect place to stay - highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_James_NY_Hotel, General Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Dear McMahon434,

Thank you for continually choosing to stay with us here at The James. I am very appreciative for the amazing review you wrote. I’m so happy that we have been able to make such a strong impression on you and that we can be your home away from home when you travel to New York. You pointed out some wonderful features we have here like our modern and liberated from luxury tradition atmosphere, our stylish and comfortable rooms, the great restaurants and shopping nearby, and, not to forget, how convenient it is to venture out to other spots around the city. Also, thank you for recognizing and mentioning the work of our team members here. We hope to see you back very soon and to continue to be your perfect place to stay.

Warm regards,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the James and it was wonderful. Very comfortable bed! We opted for the corner king which had nice views of downtown and the shower was great. Their chocolate chip cookies are the best I ever had and you must go to their sky bar - Jimmy. Really cool lounge with awesome views of the city. We tried their sliders which were delicious. Perfect location to walk around and go shopping downtown. Highly recommend dinner at Kittichai annd brunch at Baltazar.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_James_NY_Hotel, General Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Dear jmnNy,

I just wanted to thank you for taking a little time to share about your stay here at The James. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed views from your guestroom and its shower. Also, thank you for making mention of the cookies that we serve in The James Club Sky Lobby in the evening along with the complimentary wine. We look forward to having you back and giving you another stellar experience.

Sincerely,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The James New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James New York

Address: 27 Grand St., New York City, NY 10013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , SoHo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in New York City
#77 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#88 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#132 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchoring Soho's southwest corner, The James New York is an ideally situated, warmly modern, residential styled luxury hotel that delivers an artful blend of exquisitely hand-crafted design, intuitive service and personalized comfort. Unique features include all-glass Sky Lobby, rooftop deck and pool with river-to-river Manhattan views. The lush Urban Garden is an outdoor escape, offering seasonal entertainment, cultural events and fine cuisine. With activities including Tribeca Film Festival screenings, yoga, spa services, croquet and more, the Urban Garden is a hub for creative communities to gather and interact. Guests are invited to dine at David Burke Kitchen which offers wholesome and hearty modern American food, locally sourced and presented in the creative and whimsical style that is Burke's trademark. Enjoy cocktails at JIMMY, our rooftop bar which boasts a sexy social atmosphere, with an enclosed bar and lounge set against 360-degree views of the Manhattan skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Tablet Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The James New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The James New York Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The James New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.