We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay; Hotel wants to be top-notch, but not quite there yet.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The James New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added The James New York to your Saves list
The James New York
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Grand St., New York City, NY 10013 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bonus Nights
Ranked #110 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Los Angeles
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice stay; Hotel wants to be top-notch, but not quite there yet.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

The hotel is small, but nicely appointed. An oddly shaped property means that the lobby is not on the ground floor and there's an assortment of elevators that lead to different levels of the building. The feeling succeeds in being more boutique-like than confusing though. Our request for an early check-in could not be accommodated due to check-outs but the staff tried. The room on the 10th floor (1003) looking south toward downtown was pretty and the shower was delightfully spacious. A/C worked great. Not a lot of space to put things down in the rooms... a small table and just a little counter space. The FREE WIRELESS throughout the hotel was great, fast, and appreciated. David Burke Kitchen is slightly pricey for what you get and the waffles were disappointingly heavy. The Kitchen was the least exciting part of the stay. The upstairs club and "splash" pool are nice but often crowded with hipsters and if they're playing any kind of live music the area is so small there's no where to escape it. We ordered massages and the "spa" was the least impressive part of the stay... the hotel hires out for their masseuses. The quality of the massage was good but the price is way too expensive. You would expect the full spa (showers/baths/steam) for what you pay but you only get a rather pedestrian pop-up tent called the Cabana. Noise from the outdoor dining patio just thirty feet away overpowers the music played for your massage. I would definitely recommend seeking spa facilities elsewhere where you will get more bang for your buck. Room service was good and timely, and everyone was friendly. I would stay again if I had to be in the same area, though I'm likely to try a couple more SoHo hotels first just to compare.

Room Tip: South facing rooms from 8th floor and up have lovely downtown (South and West) views. Room 1003 loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_James_NY_Hotel, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
Hello Fateoptional,

Thank you for your post of your recent stay with us. We're glad that you took advantage of the amenities we have to offer including the complimentary wireless. We'll be sure to share the comments regarding your breakfast experience with the restaurant and will keep your comments in mind when we open the Spa Cabana next year. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Joseph D'Angelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    219
    69
    33
    23
See reviews for
85
421
48
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, North Dakota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

From the staff's uniforms to the rooftop pool, the James is a dream. Very convenient location in SoHo with many shops, bars, restaurants within walking distance. The rooms are good sized for NYC standards. Clean, comfortable, and a modern design.

Mornings are spent in the lobby's lounge for free pastries and coffee. And afternoons with cheese & wine to relax before dinner.

Feel like some croquet in the garden? They've got that for you, too.

The staff is beyond friendly, helpful, & knowledgeable.

Amazing place, would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_James_NY_Hotel, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
Hello there CurryKit,

Thank you so much for the great post about your stay at The James! We love it when a guest notices the little touches we have such as our uniforms designed by Andrew Buckler and the croquet set up in the Urban Garden. Hope to see you back here soon!

Best regards,
Joseph D'Angelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

This is a great hotel, no doubt about it. It's a good mixture of location, style and unobtrusive but excellent service - the owners have really perfected the boutique hotel concept in my opinion. Upsides: cool rooms with excellent views. A cracking gym that is small but with views across Soho that will keep your mind occupied on any given boring treadmill run. Excellent food, cool and engaging staff...it's all there. Down sides: we were charged $16 per connected call (even if the call just hit voicemail and you hung up) which meant when we checked our bill in more detail, we'd been charged around $100 for telephone calls that didn't happen. The rooftop bar in the hotel "The Jimmy" is a little too cool for school and the woman serving behind the was pretty aggressive (or maybe pretty and aggressive!) but I guess that just goes with the territory.

All in all it was a brilliant stay and I can comepletely recommend this place, particularly for couples. We certainly hope to return.......

Room Tip: I went direct to their site and paid extra to secure an upgrade at minimal cost should a better room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_James_NY_Hotel, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
Hello BobRobertLondon,

Thank you for your great post of your recent stay. We're flattered that you called your stay here at The James 'brilliant'. We'll be sure to share your very generous comments with our team. Hope to see you soon!

Best regards,
Joseph D'Angelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

I joined my boyfriend on a business trip to NY and we stayed and "The James"- what can I say....we travel a lot and stay in a lot of hotels but this was really one of the most outstanding ones so far. Normally I never have time to write reviews - or didn't find it necessary - but in this case I really wanted to write one as we were so positively surprised that I wanted to share it. What we experienced in The James was outstanding - In terms of service, location (in Soho, close to Chinatown, WT1, and 1 min walk to the next metro station), value for money and nice staff.
From beginning to the end of our stay the staff was very friendly and helpful - it really felt more like friends than service staff. The room (we had a big corner deluxe room) was very nice and the view over NY even better. Nice bathroom with nice rain fall shower and a very nice shampoo (really liked the smell :) ) An even better, amazing view was from the roof top pool bar - astonishing!! And here as well - very nice service and it is really special to swim in a pool and have a look over NY/ to the Hudson. The hotel offers free!! cookies & coffee in the morning, fruits & water during the day and cheese & wine in the evening - we really enjoyed the wine in the evening before going out for dinner! Furthermore they have 2 bikes to rent for hotel guests - we made use of that on our last day which was really nice...the hotel is just about 2 blocks from the Hudson river and then you can drive along there ....wonderful - one more short note - I also really liked the outfits/design of the staff, nice, natural, 30's and fitted very well with the whole interior of the Hotel. I would definitely recommend the hotel and we will for sure come back here at our next stay in NY.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Try to get above fourth floor and enjoy the neighborhood.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_James_NY_Hotel, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
Dear jim_ontheroad2011,

Thank you for your post and for being a frequent guest at the James. Looking forward to having you back for the fourth stay!

Best,
Joe D'Angelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011 via mobile

Stayed during Irene and the staff handled the situation great. Location good -- on the edge of SoHo. Outdoor bar looked fun. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Super-friendly service in the midst of uber-hipster posing is one of the lovable contradictions at the James New York. Enjoy the spectacular views from the the floor-to-ceiling windows, the complimentary coffee at breakfast and wine at cocktail hour, the great location and the view from the roof. Roll your eyes at the thoroughly unprofessional restaurant and the hit-or-miss housekeeping.
It's clear that this is a hotel for the under-30 crowd, but this older couple had a great time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The James New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James New York

Address: 27 Grand St., New York City, NY 10013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , SoHo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in New York City
#76 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#87 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#125 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchoring Soho's southwest corner, The James New York is an ideally situated, warmly modern, residential styled luxury hotel that delivers an artful blend of exquisitely hand-crafted design, intuitive service and personalized comfort. Unique features include all-glass Sky Lobby, rooftop deck and pool with river-to-river Manhattan views. The lush Urban Garden is an outdoor escape, offering seasonal entertainment, cultural events and fine cuisine. With activities including Tribeca Film Festival screenings, yoga, spa services, croquet and more, the Urban Garden is a hub for creative communities to gather and interact. Guests are invited to dine at David Burke Kitchen which offers wholesome and hearty modern American food, locally sourced and presented in the creative and whimsical style that is Burke's trademark. Enjoy cocktails at JIMMY, our rooftop bar which boasts a sexy social atmosphere, with an enclosed bar and lounge set against 360-degree views of the Manhattan skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Tablet Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Amex, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The James New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The James New York Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The James New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.