We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Find!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   370 Canal Street, New York City, NY 10013 (SoHo)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #290 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Los Angeles
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A Great Find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

From the convenient location to the useful amenities my stay at this property was better than I expected. My visit was during the busy holiday season, so prices were a bit on the high side, but it was still more affordable than options closer to the Village where I'd planned to spend most of my time visiting friends. The staff were always courteous and professional. My room was well furnished with contemporary pieces and although modest in size, very comfortable. Several great restaurants and shopping establishments were within easy walking distance. I'd certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    529
    211
    78
    53
See reviews for
205
409
92
280
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This is my second time staying at this hotel & I love it. It is close to the office & shopping. The lounge & cocktail area are comfortable. The front desk staff are friendly and helpful. I just wish the Starbucks was open 24-7. This time we ate at the restaurant for breakfast & it was good and the service was good as well.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This was my second stay at the Sheraton Tribeca this year. My previous one was a disappointment, and sadly, despite hoping my last visit was a fluke, this one wasn't much better.

First, I'd have to say this place if definitely overpriced. Sure, its Manhattan, but the return on investment just isn't there. With middling quality, service and amenities all around, its hard to justify the luxury price tag.

Front desk/office staff really disappointed me. I needed to charge my stay to a new company card, which I didn't have in my possession yet, so I faxed in a credit card authorization form with the explicit request they contact me and let me know it was received and everything was in order. Having not had to do this before, I simply wanted assurance my trip fine and I wouldn't show up at midnight on a Thursday and find out there were issues with my booking/billing. It took the initial fax request, 3 emails, and 2 phone calls (over the course of several days) to finally get someone to reply and let me know that everything was in order.

On checkin, the clerk was polite and efficient, but failed to notice my SPG status, and it took specifically asking for the check-in amenity (all I wanted was the points...) to get it.

Room itself is very small, though generally well appointed. The bathroom is modern and, arguably, the highlight of the room. Also worth noting that the Sheraton beds are freaking awesome, and I slept like a baby tucked into it.

There's a 32" HDTV mounted to the wall but, oddly, its at the far left side of the room, and doesn't have a tilt/swivel. So, the only place in the room where you have a direct view of the TV is if you're standing next to the window. From the desk, you have a near impossible angle, and from the bed its certainly watchable, but is still at an odd angle and less than ideal.

In short, an all around average hotel that charges far beyond average prices... next time I'll definitely be looking for alternatives in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Our room was of good size (at least for NY), clean, the staff helpfull. We had trouble conecting to the free wifi in the lobby so they offered us complimentary wifi in our room. Much appretiated!

Only downside was the chaffeur service arranged for us to get to the airport. It took a good ten minutes from we got in the car until we went because the deiver was discussing something with an other driver! And on the way he spent the majority of the ride arguing loudly with someone on the phone... Later we saw that we could have taken the subway to jfk for under 20$ instead of the 65$ we paid the driver... But thats un us.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Okay. Front desk staff does try. Booked for four nights but had enough after two and checked out. Besides getting a room that went from being freezing cold to boiling hot with no relationship to the thermostat the room had no closet and was tired and cheap looking. It was full of oddly mismatched furniture that was more Salvation Army than Starwood. I sent laundry out which was not delivered to my room till I called for it at 10 pm and housekeeping was just plain lazy. The elevators take forever and they too are old and slow. While there we had a an all day conference and I can tell you that in a lifetime of bad conference meals this was by far the most odious. Turkey sandwiches with processed meat and a lobster bisque that tasted like corn starch soup horrible. I do want to say the front desk staff was friendly and efficient,,perhaps they should take jobs at nearby hotels There is a lot of new hotels springing up in the area..I can't see this one surviving in its current state much longer

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This was a surprisingly great stay. Very accommodating to both business and personal travelers. Tough area to find a good hotel, but this is an exception to that rule. The added benefit is being in a great location for food...Chinese food!


Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed at this hotel Friday evening December 6th. It is a little hard to find walking down the street. I was told by the front desk staff that signage on Canal street is strictly regulated by NYC. The room on the 10th floor was clean and quiet. Nice king size bed with comfortable pillows, mattress and comforter. The room is a decent size for a NYC hotel room. Same for the bathroom. No tub just a very big shower. Good black out drapes kept the room dark until it was time to get up.

WiFi was a bit pricey -- over $20 per day. We did not use it.

Good choice for this part of NYC.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel

Address: 370 Canal Street, New York City, NY 10013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #290 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you’re traveling for business or pleasure, we’ve got it all. Our 1,000-square-foot state-of-the-art fitness center is open 24 hours a day and features a wide range of cardio equipment. And enjoy The Link Experienced with Microsoft® in the heart of our lobby. Feel free to surf the web on our terminals or bring your laptop for complimentary wireless High Speed Internet Access. Our modern, energetic lobby was designed so you can socialize with new friends or old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Amex, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.