We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location in Soho” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   370 Canal Street, New York City, NY 10013 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #276 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Convenient location in Soho”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This Sheraton is very conveniently located on Canal St between Wooster & West broadway. It is one of the newer SPG Sheraton and therefore, the hotel lobby and rooms do look somewhat new. The service is good and better than the nearby W downtown, which I stayed the previous week. Keep in mind, Canal St is busy almost all day with crosstown traffic congestion due to the holland tunnel access. So it may not be for everyone! In addition, Canal street isn't one of the pretties street in NYC. On Sunday early mornings, it can be quiet but that is when you see all the litter. Otherwise, the hotel is perfectly located minutes from centre of soho and within walking distance to WTC and 9/11 memorial. We walked to brooklyn bridge from here in 15 min. If you wish to avoid the crowd and Chinatown activities, exit the hotel and cross Canal Street into Wooster or West Broadway for a more pleasant walk. Avoid walking along Canal St. We had to request for a room change due to noise from the traffic on a lower floor. The upper floors do have a remarkable view of midtown depending on which side the room faces. The wifi Internet is good in some rooms but can be spotty on the corner room away from the routers. Bring your own router to connect to the Ethernet cable and off you go at blazing speed. We didn't dine at the restaurant but the breakfast buffet option for $14.95 seem reasonable. The beds are comfortable. The rooms size are reasonable for NYC. Some reviews complained on the size and noise. This is NYC and not the adirondacks. I wouldn't eat anywhere along Canal St. Walk a few blocks into soho on Prince St. or Elizabeth St. for better options. I would stay again if the rates are reasonable and if there are deals.

Room Tip: Don't get a room facing Canal St especially on the lower floor. You may end up hearing the traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    475
    186
    72
    49
See reviews for
189
374
81
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights due to its proximity to Canal St but I wouldn't stay here the next time I visit New York simply it is located in not nice neighborhood. Also, the hotel alone looks new but not well maintained though.

The staff was friendly, at least they tried but you can still sense the forcefulness of the staff trying to be friendly. It's better but you need to hire more staff that's friendly in their core character. But anyways, the room is typical Sheraton but I was surprised with the lack of sports equipment when I used the gym.

Again, I will choose another starwood hotels the next time I visit New York.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Tiny, hot air conditioning was bad and noisy, they forgot to do our room a few times..It was July last year sorry I could not find the right month in the drop down menu! Position is food although outside is full of abusive sellers in the street that disappear once police comes!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We (2 adults, a 2yo, a 4yo) enjoyed this hotel. It really is in a great location, right on Canal St. The subway is a couple blocks away in any direction.

Pros: Friendly staff, clean hotel, amazing location.

Cons: LOUD (obviously, it's NYC) but we were on the 20th floor and it still sounded like we were outside, small and awkward hotel lobby (there is a huge pole in the middle of the lobby and the cafe area makes it awkward to walk to the elevators without bumping into someone), the person checking us in said they gave us an amazing room even though it was only one bed. I'm not sure what was amazing about it. Maybe the view of the apartment building next door?! Also, please note: when they say the valet will take 45 minutes to get your car...THEY AREN'T LYING!!

In conclusion, we would probably stay here again mostly for the location. Close to the Financial District, Chinatown, Little Italy, West Village, and easily accessible by subway. It's also a couple blocks from the Holland Tunnel and West Side Highway for easy access in and out of the city.

Room Tip: Try to request a room at the back side of the building. It might be quieter than where we were (on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korschenbroich
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Easy to book caused problems before the trip with writing emails, that I would have problems with my Mastercard. I contacted the hotel in front and it was not true.

A lot of trouble for nothing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I preferred to locate in Tribeca because of a work assignment. I got a great rate on Priceline. Took the subway from Penn Station and walked to my meetings. Free internet on many computers in the lobby. Nice bar/lounge. I did not use the restaurants. Elevator service a bit slow. Well-trained staff from front desk to housekeeping.Very clean.








Room was small but ok for NY. High floor and pretty quiet for Canal Street. Good week in NYC.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I stayed at the Sheraton Tribecca for 3 nights in August. I picked it because it was the only hotel I could find in NYC under $200 and that was centrally located. I was a little skeptical going there but it turned out to be a pleasant experience! The hotel is on Canal St. right at the edge of SOHO and Tribecca. There are great restaurants and shops in walking distance, as well as many subway lines. The hotel was clean and the room was a reasonable size for NYC. In addition, the gym was well equipped. For the price I paid, this hotel provided good value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel

Address: 370 Canal Street, New York City, NY 10013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , SoHo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #276 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you’re traveling for business or pleasure, we’ve got it all. Our 1,000-square-foot state-of-the-art fitness center is open 24 hours a day and features a wide range of cardio equipment. And enjoy The Link Experienced with Microsoft® in the heart of our lobby. Feel free to surf the web on our terminals or bring your laptop for complimentary wireless High Speed Internet Access. Our modern, energetic lobby was designed so you can socialize with new friends or old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Amex, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.