We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet suites!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanctuary Guest Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sanctuary Guest Suites to your Saves list
Sanctuary Guest Suites
196 A Stanton Street, New York City, NY 10002   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sweet suites!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a few times now, amazing property that is very reasonable. Very clean and tastefully done. Im in NYC Frequently for work and this is my new lodging fave in the city! Juice bar and yoga downstairs is a bonus :)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    38
    8
    7
    6
See reviews for
51
32
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minden, Louisiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed a few nights during our first trip to NYC. The Sanctuary-Stanton exceeded our expectations with its atmosphere. Many hotels are clean and comfortable; but here we truly felt at home--and enjoyed that it was extremely clean, had a VERY comfortable bed (and that's important to us), was quiet, very nicely equipped, decorated, and furnished, and was very spacious. We didn't feel like visitors to the City--we were treated as guests of the neighborhood; and that made us feel comfortable and welcomed. The atmosphere was so relaxing and uplifting; and the location was great. We walked to many sights and restaurants, felt very safe, and enjoyed the convenience of the neighborhood grocery across the street. A short cab ride took us into the popular tourist areas, and after a long day of touring overload it was awesome to "come home" to The Sanctuary in the quieter LES. The name definitely fits! We will ALWAYS come back to stay here during future trips!! HIGHLY recommended for travelers (business or tourists) who enjoy a warmer, quainter, quieter place to rest, relax, and settle into home away from home.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I've had the pleasure of staying at Sanctuary Guest Suites a number of times. What keeps bringing me back is the zen-like atmosphere, the accommodating staff, and the super comfy beds.

It also really nice to stay at place that gives back to their community the way Sanctuary does. They are involved with a program called Food For Life-- which feeds the homeless of NYC at Tompkins Square Park every Mon,Weds, &Fri. They encourage to come volunteer as well.

All in all: if you are looking for a nice welcoming accommodation with a wonderful staff-- this is the move for you!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

My reviews always try and give an overview of both good and bad. This review is going to sound like I am moaning about a lot of things! We stayed at the Stanton street location. Firstly we had no problems with the area, we walked around at night and came back late on the subway numerous times.
Staff are only there 9-5 and even then are conspicuous by there absence, often "out somewhere" or in the back room.
Breakfast was very poor, we were down for the start of breakfast on the first morning. Cereal, bread for toast, tea and coffee and fruit. The coffee was cold and the hot water for tea the same. Didn't bother after that.
The room itself is spacious, clean and well appointed. Good size kitchen, comfy bed, decent bathroom. Sink in the bathroom is small and the water pressure in that sink very poor.
The room ONLY gets cleaned when you leave! you can empty your own rubbish, make your own beds etc unless you want to pay them an extra $30-40 dollars.
Now the worst parts for us, The fridge is pretty much next to the bed (i understand this can't be helped in a suite) but my when it starts up in the night is it loud, woke my Mrs up nearly ever night. (the bed was very comfy however) The walls are very thin, the first 3 nights we could hear a baby waking up between 3.30 and 7.30 and the parents just let it cry which was great for us trying to sleep (again the baby crying is not the suites fault but if the walls were better insulated...) then we had a woman shouting at her boyfriend another night and boy does sound carry in this place.
The room has a decent sized wardrobe however most of the space is taken by a foldaway bed and they provided 6 hangers.......6!
My biggest bugbear though came from the sign on the fridge which i have taken a picture of and posted for you with this review. You are NOT allowed to prepare/eat meat/fish/eggs in your room! what is the point of having a suite with a kitchen if you can't prepare food. One of the main reasons we picked it was because of chance if we didn't want to go out we could prepare food! I would never dream of telling a vegitarian they had to eat meat. Strange how they draw the line between milk and eggs.......

Overall I liked the room and the comfy bed, but there are to many negatives to recommend this place. Its a strange place apparently all about Zen etc etc seemed more about making money and doing little for it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

This was our first visit to sanctuary guest suites and it won't be our last...is in a great location, rooms are fab and the staff very accommodating and friendly..wouldn't stay anywhere else....the lower east side is the place to be great bars restaurants and boutiques.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed here November for 5 nights in the om room 1st floor. Lift to room. Apartment clean and comfortable with nice touches. Supplied with bathroom toiletries and washing up liquid. Met by Mario who escorted us to room and was very helpful in informing us of breakfast, how to get fresh towels etc. never made breakfast so can't comment. Location excellent for eating out. Subway not too far. Bike rental around corner.supermarket across road. Had trouble with key one day and quy on desk came up and helped us.all staff very helpful and polite. Ordered a taxis to airport for us much cheaper than taxis from airport. Only downside was no safe in room. But would recommend these apartments to friends and would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Great hotel apartment with "everything" you need to cook a basic meal. We loved the location, away from the noisy, midtown, though very easily accessible via subway 5 min from the hotel.
Big room which was clean. Great beds for all three of us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanctuary Guest Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Guest Suites

Address: 196 A Stanton Street, New York City, NY 10002
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 186 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sanctuary Guest Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Guest Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanctuary Guest Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.