We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in LES” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanctuary Guest Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sanctuary Guest Suites to your Saves list
Sanctuary Guest Suites
196 A Stanton Street, New York City, NY 10002 (Lower East Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great stay in LES”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

This was our first visit to sanctuary guest suites and it won't be our last...is in a great location, rooms are fab and the staff very accommodating and friendly..wouldn't stay anywhere else....the lower east side is the place to be great bars restaurants and boutiques.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    41
    9
    7
    6
See reviews for
61
35
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed here November for 5 nights in the om room 1st floor. Lift to room. Apartment clean and comfortable with nice touches. Supplied with bathroom toiletries and washing up liquid. Met by Mario who escorted us to room and was very helpful in informing us of breakfast, how to get fresh towels etc. never made breakfast so can't comment. Location excellent for eating out. Subway not too far. Bike rental around corner.supermarket across road. Had trouble with key one day and quy on desk came up and helped us.all staff very helpful and polite. Ordered a taxis to airport for us much cheaper than taxis from airport. Only downside was no safe in room. But would recommend these apartments to friends and would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Great hotel apartment with "everything" you need to cook a basic meal. We loved the location, away from the noisy, midtown, though very easily accessible via subway 5 min from the hotel.
Big room which was clean. Great beds for all three of us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

If you want to stay in NYC at an affordable price, with the option of home catering, a balcony in a hip location then you have found the right place. LES is a great neighbourhood. Excellent variety & priced restauants within walking distance, fast access to subway within 5 minutes of the hotel with transfer stops to other lines within easy change over. Could not be happier with the accomodation.

Room Tip: Ideally located out of the high rise districts - developing jazz venues
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

4 of us stayed at the Nitai C1 suite in early October. I was initially scared by a bad review written in August 2012. Well, let me just say that my fears where put to rest as soon as I walked into the room. It was exactly as photographed without exposed pipes or anything falling off the walls as the previous review stated.
+:
-location! Near the F, 6 trains, near tons of wonderful restaurants and walking distance to everything
downtown.
-very helpful staff. They helped us with luggage up the stairs & brought us new towels, bedding & supplies as soon as we asked.
- clean
- roof top view and seating. Very New York.

-:
- Be ready for a 3 floor walk up. Great for those calfs.
- 10 min walk to main location to leave bags for storage. It's not too bad though & I recommend stopping at Wafels & Dinges on your way.
- Don't sit on the bench & smile at the Hell's Angels next door. Makes for good photo ops and they are quite nice really.
- Noisy if in bed next to window but this IS NYC so Welcome!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

My sister, husband, & I stayed in the Himalayan Penthouse at Sanctuary Guest Suites in the East Village for almost a week. Although we had to walk the 6 flights of stairs to our suite, it was well worth it! It has a full kitchen and rooftop access. Lovely amenities. It was quiet, no street noise. We had a private rooftop balcony (don't forget to carry your key for this door - it's different than the room key - we discovered that the hard way & got locked out... funny story... later), but there was also another much larger rooftop balcony with fantastic views down the hall that was available to us. There's a great coffeehouse on the corner, the subway is right there (F?). There's a Whole Foods a few blocks away, a theater, Katz deli, the Tenement Museum are all nearby or at least within walking distance. Of course, we found some fantastic restaurants like Mayahuel within walking distance. My sister & I felt very safe walking around at night. They provided a healthy choice of breakfast foods to get our busy days started. We would all definitely come back to Sanctuary Guest Suites & to this particular suite. Enjoy! Look no further.
We were there in Oct. 2010 - not 2012 (their "calendar" didn't go back that far. )

Room Tip: We will definitely go back to the Himalayan Penthouse Suite with it's own rooftop access. Very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

If you want to live like a local, this is the place to stay. My sisters and I spent one week on apartment 6H. It was kind of small for 5 persons, but we managed to organize the space. The apartment was clean and everything works fine .... the only problem was that a mouse "lived" in that apartment and we spent almost every night in his company! the people in charge placed some traps, but until the last night the mouse was a loyal companion.
But we have to thank Mateo for helping us to take our luggage to a sixth floor!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sanctuary Guest Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Guest Suites

Address: 196 A Stanton Street, New York City, NY 10002
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 185 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sanctuary Guest Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Guest Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanctuary Guest Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.