We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“198 A Stanton” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanctuary Guest Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sanctuary Guest Suites
196 A Stanton Street, New York City, NY 10002   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“198 A Stanton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

If you want to stay in NYC at an affordable price, with the option of home catering, a balcony in a hip location then you have found the right place. LES is a great neighbourhood. Excellent variety & priced restauants within walking distance, fast access to subway within 5 minutes of the hotel with transfer stops to other lines within easy change over. Could not be happier with the accomodation.

Room Tip: Ideally located out of the high rise districts - developing jazz venues
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    31
    8
    5
    6
See reviews for
36
27
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

4 of us stayed at the Nitai C1 suite in early October. I was initially scared by a bad review written in August 2012. Well, let me just say that my fears where put to rest as soon as I walked into the room. It was exactly as photographed without exposed pipes or anything falling off the walls as the previous review stated.
+:
-location! Near the F, 6 trains, near tons of wonderful restaurants and walking distance to everything
downtown.
-very helpful staff. They helped us with luggage up the stairs & brought us new towels, bedding & supplies as soon as we asked.
- clean
- roof top view and seating. Very New York.

-:
- Be ready for a 3 floor walk up. Great for those calfs.
- 10 min walk to main location to leave bags for storage. It's not too bad though & I recommend stopping at Wafels & Dinges on your way.
- Don't sit on the bench & smile at the Hell's Angels next door. Makes for good photo ops and they are quite nice really.
- Noisy if in bed next to window but this IS NYC so Welcome!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

My sister, husband, & I stayed in the Himalayan Penthouse at Sanctuary Guest Suites in the East Village for almost a week. Although we had to walk the 6 flights of stairs to our suite, it was well worth it! It has a full kitchen and rooftop access. Lovely amenities. It was quiet, no street noise. We had a private rooftop balcony (don't forget to carry your key for this door - it's different than the room key - we discovered that the hard way & got locked out... funny story... later), but there was also another much larger rooftop balcony with fantastic views down the hall that was available to us. There's a great coffeehouse on the corner, the subway is right there (F?). There's a Whole Foods a few blocks away, a theater, Katz deli, the Tenement Museum are all nearby or at least within walking distance. Of course, we found some fantastic restaurants like Mayahuel within walking distance. My sister & I felt very safe walking around at night. They provided a healthy choice of breakfast foods to get our busy days started. We would all definitely come back to Sanctuary Guest Suites & to this particular suite. Enjoy! Look no further.
We were there in Oct. 2010 - not 2012 (their "calendar" didn't go back that far. )

Room Tip: We will definitely go back to the Himalayan Penthouse Suite with it's own rooftop access. Very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

If you want to live like a local, this is the place to stay. My sisters and I spent one week on apartment 6H. It was kind of small for 5 persons, but we managed to organize the space. The apartment was clean and everything works fine .... the only problem was that a mouse "lived" in that apartment and we spent almost every night in his company! the people in charge placed some traps, but until the last night the mouse was a loyal companion.
But we have to thank Mateo for helping us to take our luggage to a sixth floor!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We just spent 13 nights at the 196A Stanton Street location (apartment 2H Gita) and found it to be an excellent option for a NYC stay. The room was very large, clean, well appointed and included a fully equipped (and large) kitchen. We also had an outdoor patio which a nice place to sit some evenings (not that we did a lot of "sitting"). The apartment was surrounded by some great bars and restaurants and was a short walk from the Delancy and 2nd Ave subway stations. Soho/Little Italy was a 15 min walk. We walked to the WTC in about 35/40 mins. East Village/St Marks Place is also a 10/15 minute walk. The Lower East Side was a great base and the (still slightly) grungy/alternative vibe suited us just fine (it always felt very safe at all times of day though!). When we return to NYC, we'll definately try to stay at this location again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponce Inlet, Florida
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I picked SGS for a couple of reasons. First, our group wanted the feel of "real" NYC living. And nothing says real NYC like a 5th FL walk up. LOL. Second, we wanted to find a casual neighborhood location away from the tourist machine. We got both here, and more. We stayed in the Himalayan Penthouse at the East Village location. Zachary and Mario were fantastic to work with during the whole process. Mario was extremely responsive when so many others listed on homeaway were not. Zach even carried our bags up 5 steep flights of stairs. And would not accept a tip!! He gave us pointers about the neighborhood and where we could pick up supplies. We enjoyed the rooftop terrace immensely. We would go have a nightly cocktail up there after a long day in the city. Speaking of cocktails, check out the "secret" bar Please Don't Tell (PDT). It was just down the street and a memorable experience. Look online to find instructions on how to get in. We also loved the Bean coffee shop on the corner. We recharged there every morning before hitting the streets. If you want to live like the locals I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have just returned from almost three weeks at the Sanctuary Guest Suites. We had Rama, a large suite with its own patio that slept the five of us comfortably. It was ideal accommodation for us - we are all vegetarian and like to take care of our own catering arrangements so having a well stocked kitchen, large fridge, cooker etc was perfect. The room itself was a good size, with a decent bathroom plus TV etc which was nice after a long day walking. We adored being in the Lower East Side - so many amazing bars, cafes, fascinating shops to walk round. We caught the subway most days to Midtown or Brooklyn - Delancy Street Station is a few minutes round the corner and we found it no trouble at all. Initially, we thought Manhattan so expensive for food but we quickly found the Essex Street market round the corner for everything plus a couple of cheap supermarkets nearby (Trader Joes was especially good) that we soon got sorted. Plus Stanton Street pizza is the best at 2 dollars for huge slices! The staff are welcoming and laid back - we found that if we needed anything at all we simply had to ask. Be aware that this is not the same as having a hotel room - on the first day we were surprised when we got in after a day's sightseeing that the towels hadn't been changed but we only had to ask and new towels arrived. I think it's because these are more like serviced apartments which, as I say, suited us because we like being independent. I would definitely recommend the Sanctuary for serious consideration - the price is excellent, the rooms are lovely - clean, well decorated, lovely soft beds - and we found the location ideal and the staff very helpful. The rooms really do look just like the pictures on their website! I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Have a private patio - it's lovely to sit out on a hot summer evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sanctuary Guest Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Guest Suites

Also Known As:
Sanctuary Guest Hotel
Sanctuary Guest Hotel New York City
Address: 196 A Stanton Street, New York City, NY 10002
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 171 Specialty lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanctuary Guest Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sanctuary Guest Suites to your Saves list