We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great rooms in really interesting area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanctuary Guest Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sanctuary Guest Suites to your Saves list
Sanctuary Guest Suites
196 A Stanton Street, New York City, NY 10002 (Lower East Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great rooms in really interesting area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Flying in from UK we stayed 3 nights here with 2 small children. We loved the location - brilliant places to eat and good atmosphere - a world away from time square ( which you could easily get to on the subway). The room was very well decorated, beds comfy and with all mod cons - dishwasher, full oven etc. The view from the roof at sunrise and night ( we were jet lagged !) was really great, and a lovely place to relax. The guy we met when we checked in was very helpful and lugged 40kgs of bags up 3 of flights of stairs for us. We especially enjoyed having NY hells angels as next door neighbours - lent a kind of edginess we don't often get as parents these days!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    41
    9
    7
    6
See reviews for
60
34
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ankara, Turkey
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The localisation of this suites is in lower east Manhattan. This means that you need to take a taxi or metro to reach the midtown. No room cleaning or no linen changes during 9 day stays. But "if you want" they give you some bathroom amenities such as toilet paper or shampoo. Room was very noisy due to the airconditioner. Yes, you can stay here on your own and be sure that you will not see anybody around from hotel staff. Based on my experiences; services provided not to meet the required fee, too. I didn't like this place to stay and never recommend to anyone...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I stayed here in sept 2012 with my partner( at stanton street). We couldnt of been more happy when we seen our room,its was amazing everything you could need in one place. It was clean,very spacious was very suprised by that,bed was so comfy and all staff very helpful and it was in a prime place for travel with the train station just up the way.What made my stay even more special was that i got engaged while in new york which means this stay was even more special for me and i cannot wait to come back and stay with the santuary guest suites. Anyone looking to stay in new york should come and stay here without a doubt,you deffinately get what you pay for and more. I love this place .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed here with my family and we couldn't have asked for better. Right in the middle of where we wanted to be and quick access to everywhere, this hotel provided a serene, spacious room with all the amenities we would need. I gave a very good rating to service simply because I didn't need any.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This review is for the 3rd street location. I would define this "suite" as a small Manhattan apartment. It was very clean and updated. We had an issue with a non-working refrigerator but management was quick to help and supplied a small dorm refrigerator. Our apartment was towards the back of the building so it was nice and quiet. The subway and Whole Foods were only a few blocks away, both very handy. I had two safety concerns, the apartment did not have smoke detector and there was no upper deadbolt lock (the kind that can only be locked from inside). Overall, good experience and would recommend for the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

After 20 years living in NYC we moved to MA a few years back but visit Manhattan 3-4 times a year to see friends etc. Ater several shaky experiences with VRBO, we finally decided to given this place a try and highly recommend. Mario was SO welcoming and helpful, we knew we were on the right path were longer stays (4 days min) are concerned (for shorter stays we stay at Washington Square Hotel). Small but beautifully renoved aparments abound in the 3rd street location, though most area walk up so note if you have limited mobility! Very clean, nicely appointed spaces, and location is steps to the village and soho, a short cab ride to much of the rest of Manhattan. Subways are only about 3-5 blocks (several lines) so if you're up for it, navigation is super easy. Place and location IS NOT MID TOWN (which I avoided, even when I lived in city), but tenement type location in which the area was gentrified 10-15 years ago (and still going). Everything is small shop and restuarant, which a european flair to boot.

Room Tip: Note that building is a walk up (no elevator!), so be prepared to walk up/down flights of stairs dur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed in the Chakra suite (at 196A Stanton Street) and had a great stay there for five nights. The building has an elevator (a must-have on our list) and the suite was attractively furnished and seemed quite new. We were at the front of the building and whilst there was some traffic noise at times, generally it was quiet (although the fridge was somewhat noisy).

The studio was just as lovely as pictured in the photos, even more spacious than expected, with a very comfortable bed, nice cotton bed linen and a well equipped kitchen. We had good Wi-Fi reception which was free.

The Lower East Side is a great neighbourhood and we felt safe walking around, there are lots of places to eat close by, Wholefoods is a few blocks away if you want to stock up, we liked The Meatball Shop, great atmosphere (had takeaway as the wait was an hour for a table), Katz Deli is also nearby as is Russ & Daughters. The subway is a 7 – 10 min walk and we used nearby buses to get up to Union Square or to Downtown … and walked a lot. We enjoyed the nearby Tenement Museum (on the corner of Orchard Street and Delancey Street) where we did the “Irish Outsiders” tour – so if you are interested in the social history of the LES you may enjoy this place too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanctuary Guest Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Guest Suites

Address: 196 A Stanton Street, New York City, NY 10002
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 185 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sanctuary Guest Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Guest Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanctuary Guest Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.