We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but excellent.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Langham Place, Fifth Avenue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Langham Place, Fifth Avenue to your Saves list
Langham Place, Fifth Avenue
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10018 (Formerly The Setai Fifth Avenue) (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 458 Hotels in New York City
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pricey but excellent.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Bring the kids, and whomever else, It'll fit quite a party in near-perfect elegance. We stayed last month for a few days and thoroughly enjoyed just about everything and although the place was busy and a bit crowded, things still felt separated nicely. Peaceful for downtown.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    995
    141
    51
    21
    12
See reviews for
289
479
45
223
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Hotel is excellently located within walking distance of attractions and transport links. The facilities were of a suburb standard in an comfortable and understated sophisticated design. Rooms were very well equipped with the most comfortable beds! And ask for a room with a view when you book. They are fantastic.

All the staff are beyond courteous and go beyond the call of duty to make your stay the best. Thank you especially to Michelle for making our stay so wonderful.

If you're looking for a special place in New York, look no further.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We arrived on the 7th of March for our daughter's 18th birthday. We were upgraded to the "prime place". It was a beautiful room, with complimentary water and all the soft drinks you would need. We got a knock on our door shortly after we arrived and there was a beautiful cake delivered for my daughter's birthday. The washroom was stunning very modern and spacious. The beds were super comfy and the service throughout the hotel was impeccable. We also had a chance to use the Masarti for a ride to Bloomingdales, which was so convenient.

Thanks Langham for a perfect stay! Highly recommend it for anyone who likes to be treated like royalty!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

This was my first trip to NYC and it was strictly for pleasure. I looked at a lot of hotels and areas of NYC to stay. I chose Langham Place on Fifth Avenue because it was so easy to get around town from the hotel. We did not have a car. We flew into Newark and took the NJ train to Penn station which is literally a 10 minute walk or $7 cab fare to the hotel.

We did lots of shopping and saw 3 broadway shows the week we were there. We used the hotel car a couple of times to drop us off in the morning simply because we loved the Maserati! For shopping in SoHo, Chinatown and the Upper West Village -- we simply got on the subway at Herald Square which was a 5 minute walk. For the broadway shows we walked to the restaurants and shows (about 10 minute walk from the hotel). This area of town is very safe and we never felt uncomfortable walking the streets at 10pm.

The staff at Langham Place are very polite, friendly and helpful. Everytime we returned to the hotel the doorman would welcome us back.
We ate one breakfast and one lunch in the lounge of the hotel. Each was delicious food but I did find the waitstaff a little inattentive.

We didn't use the spa so I can't comment. Personally I found the price list way too expensive!
Our room was the Premier Place with a King bed. Lots of room! I was very impressed with the size of the bathroom. 2 sinks -- great for getting ready in the morning or for a night out on the town. Turn down service each evening was lovely and we appreciated the bottled water by the bed and the cookies! We didn't have a view from our room as we faced the courtyard -- but we were hardly in the room anyway so the view wasn't a deal breaker. We found our room to be VERY quiet because of the courtyard location. The beds are the most comfortable I have ever slept on at a hotel!
One criticism I do have is that the daily room cleaning definitely varied. On one day none of our toiletries were replenished and one of the hand towels was literally falling apart. It had holes in it and the threads were all torn and fraying from every edge of the towel. Not what I would expect from a 5 star hotel.

Overall, I would stay here again as the location is so great. I would never want to stay by Times Square as the noise level and amount of people is too intense for me. There is a great cafe just 30 seconds south of the hotel (W cafe) and it has great foods for breakfast/lunch at a very reasonable price. The complimentary drinks in the room are a bonus. We weren't espresso drinkers so instead I asked for a tea kettle and they brought it up within 5 minutes. The fridge in the room is nice too so that you can bring back some dessert and enjoy it in your room!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

The Langham on Fifth Ave can only be described as perfect. The family suite was more than enough for our family of 4. The staff are all examples of what every hotel should hire. The location of the hotel is perfect for all Manhattan attractions. We have stayed in many hotels all over the world and we would put this one at or near the top. It is a given that we will stay here when we return to NYC.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had a fabulous 4 day stay feeling like stars in the luxury of the Langham in the big apple. As my first visit it is perfectly central to easily visit tourist spots but the highlight truly was the hotel. The room was enormous with a cloud like bed, a sex-in-the-city wardrobe and a bathroom with incredible views of the NY skyline. The complimentary components of the stay were both welcoming and generous and the staff were genuinely improving ones' stay. The private assistant service provided efficient and excellent restaurant and cultural recommendations and organisation. We experienced a stay well above expectations and would recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Once again, our stay at Langham Place, Fifth Avenue was perfect. The staff is professional but helpful, and the accommodations are perfect. A great room for families in the city (Empire Suite offers kitchenette and 1 1/2 baths). We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Langham Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Langham Place, Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Place, Fifth Avenue

Address: 400 Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10018 (Formerly The Setai Fifth Avenue)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Langham Place, Fifth Avenue 5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracefully complementing Manhattan’s luxurious Fifth Avenue and boldly accenting New York City’s famous skyline, Langham Place Fifth Avenue is a renewed celebration of sophistication and style. Soaring more than sixty stories above the city, Langham Place, Fifth Avenue represents the new heart of the world’s most inspired metropolis. Accommodations exude the very essence of luxury and elegance. Duxiana beds, Pratesi linens, and floor-to-ceiling rain showers leave guests breathing easy, if not breathless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, LHW, Expedia, Hotels.com, Amex, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Langham Place, Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langham Place, Fifth Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.