We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place in the middle of the 5th avenue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Langham Place, Fifth Avenue

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Langham Place, Fifth Avenue to your Saves list
Langham Place, Fifth Avenue
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10018 (Formerly The Setai Fifth Avenue) (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Linger Longer at Langham
Ranked #10 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great Place in the middle of the 5th avenue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed there in November 2013 and was lucky enough to get one of the only 3 room with a terrace with a view on the 5th avenue (room 1103). Though a bit expensive, the complementary services of this hotel is just stunning :
1. Room bar for free (though no alcohol),
2. a luxury car can pick you from hotel to any place in manhattan (Maserati Quatro Porte) based on first in first served.
3. free laundry for 5 item (though I didn't try)
4. Free newspaper
...

Room was big and very confortable. Heating in the bathroom was fast and efficient.

Spa area is good with Sauna, haman and "swimming pool" that is in fact a big jacuzi. One cannot swim in it. It's costing 50$ per day but steam bath is very well done and I strongly recommend to relax a couple of hours there.

on the minus(or less plus)
1. I tried both the continental breakfast on ground floor and "à la carte" on the first floor restaurant. Ok breakfast but nothing impressive, except the price maybe, very expensive (((

2. The restaurant is a one star Michelin but probably on American standard. Food was ok but nothing compared to a french one star Restaurant. Food was served very quickly (starter+main course. a small bottle of wine expedited in 43 minutes), waiters, though very friendly, were also a bit noisy.

But still, I'll be back there.

A big plus to the reception, Valet guys and concierge that ensure that my short stay could be optimized and thanks to the driver of the Maserati who was a perfect gentlemen that fit 100% with the car.

Room Tip: Room 1103 is one of the few with terrace. Swimming pool is not existant, in fact it's a very war...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    997
    141
    52
    21
    12
See reviews for
289
480
45
224
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

My husband and I booked a suite facing the Empire State Building to celebrate his birthday. We took advantage of the pay for two-nights, get the third night free promotion and it was well-worth it. As soon as we arrived, the staff went out of their way to be friendly and to make our stay comfortable. The bed, room, linens, soaps, tub, etc. were all luxurious.

While we didn't use the very nice cooktop in the kitchen area or the washer/dryer in the dressing area, having those features made us feel like we had a wonderful, New York apartment for our trip. (It was much larger than my apartment when I lived in Manhattan.) We did use the fridge, expresso machine, dishes, serving dishes, and hosted two cocktail parties for friends and family in the living room before going out to dinner. We requested extra glasses and a champagne bucket which were delivered quickly. We enjoyed a terrific meal in the Michelin Star Al Fiori restaurant (expensive but memorable) one night and went to the Metropolitan Opera and the Bryant Park Grill on other evenings.

My only complaints (and they are minor ones) are that they could use more hooks and places to hang towels in the bathroom and the TV in the bedroom should be moved to a corner. We had a fantastic view from the bed that was blocked by the television.

Room Tip: The higher floors give you a great view (especially of the Empire State Building).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We first stayed at Langham Place when it was known as The Setai after reading great reviews on trip advisor. We were not disappointed. The rooms are very stylish and modern but cosy and the reception staff were so friendly and nothing was too much for them.
The complimentary hotel Mazarrati was a nice touch and used on a number of occasions.

The food in the hotel restaurant was great but the waiter was rude and unprofessional.

On the negative side, the view from the hotel rooms was not great particularly if you have a standard room which are in the lower levels, and the massages we had in the spa were expensive and very average.

To summarise, it's a beautiful modern hotel, quite different to any other hotels we've stayed in in New York, service is fantastic although the nesscesity to tip everyone for everything can get a bit much, but that's the same anywhere in New York.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Coast Australia, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Could not get anything right,would not return emails,had other langhams confirm booking all instructions ignored.in suite nowhere to put luggage.if you have been in 5 star this is not it ,and the excuse we have only just bought the property.many more complaints best thing about the stay leaving.i hope they fix it as other langhams so much better

Room Tip: do not get the rooms that back onto the service elevator,i think 05 rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanghamPlaceNYC F, Director of Sales at Langham Place, Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Sir,

We truly regret that you encountered challenges during your visit at Langham Place, Fifth Avenue. In order for us to avoid repeating any difficulties experienced, could you kindly advise u which department/contact did not respond to your inquire?
We would also greatly appreciate receiving any other specific feedback namely as it relates to your rating for value, cleanliness and service.

Thank you in advance for any additional comments.

Sincerely,

Anne-J. Maurice
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a getaway weekend in early October, when we came for the New Yorker Festival (highly recommend), and we certainly had no regrets about choosing the Langham. We really enjoyed our very large room, with an extraordinary marble bath, overlooking 5th Avenue. We also really liked the Duxiana bed, which was quite comfortable. Equally impressive, we heard no traffic noise whatsoever, and slept beautifully, something which is not always easy to accomplish in such a highly stimulating and noisy environment. So, for our purposes the Langham was a great place to retreat to at the end of the day. We also loved having a Nespresso machine in our room with all of the fixings. I found the gym to be adequate, but not exceptional in any way. As fitness swimmers, we were both wishing that they had a pool, but you can't have everything. Service seemed quite good, but we didn't make use of the concierge or eat/drink in any of their venues. Overall, this is an excellent hotel in a central location. If you can find a coupon special at Jetsetter.com (as we did) it can take some of the sting out of the lofty room rates.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room overlooking 5th Ave, but we heard not a hint of traffic noise. Look for coupon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I spent three nights at the Langham during a business trip to New York in September and was truly impressed with every aspect of the hotel. The reception was highly efficient and friendly. The room was large by New York standards with a superbly comfortable bed. The complimentary mini-bar was a nice touch as was the Nespresso machine in the room.

The gym had all the equipment required for a good workout with complimentary water bottles and fresh apples which provided a nice start to the day.

Easy walking access to the Empire State Building and Macys.

I can't wait for my next stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Excellent base for shopping or sight seeing. 2-3 minutes walk from Empire State (number of rooms have empire state building view) albeit our room looked straight into a brick wall. Hotel is 8-10 minutes walk from Macy's, 20-25 mins to times square etc. From arrival to leaving the staff could not do enough to help. Once arrived we were offered complimentary pressing of 5 garments, which we did the following day. Free mini bar was a nice touch, only have experienced this once before (in Tahiti). They recommended us Sarabeth's for breakfast which was excellent. We came with 3yr old and the staff always rushed to try and open the door for us. Our car to JFK did not turn up, so car arranged replacement immediately. Would definitely go back and would highly recommend. I don't normally write reviews, but was impressed enough to write one.

Room Tip: Ask for one not facing the courtyard else your view will be of a brick wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Langham Place, Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Place, Fifth Avenue

Address: 400 Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10018 (Formerly The Setai Fifth Avenue)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Langham Place, Fifth Avenue 5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracefully complementing Manhattan’s luxurious Fifth Avenue and boldly accenting New York City’s famous skyline, Langham Place Fifth Avenue is a renewed celebration of sophistication and style. Soaring more than sixty stories above the city, Langham Place, Fifth Avenue represents the new heart of the world’s most inspired metropolis. Accommodations exude the very essence of luxury and elegance. Duxiana beds, Pratesi linens, and floor-to-ceiling rain showers leave guests breathing easy, if not breathless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, LHW, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Langham Place, Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langham Place, Fifth Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.