We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Langham Place, Fifth Avenue

Save Saved
You added Langham Place, Fifth Avenue to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Langham Place, Fifth Avenue
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10018 (Formerly The Setai Fifth Avenue) (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 452 hotels in New York City
Palo Alto, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

My husband and I booked a suite facing the Empire State Building to celebrate his birthday. We took advantage of the pay for two-nights, get the third night free promotion and it was well-worth it. As soon as we arrived, the staff went out of their way to be friendly and to make our stay comfortable. The bed, room, linens, soaps, tub, etc. were all luxurious.

While we didn't use the very nice cooktop in the kitchen area or the washer/dryer in the dressing area, having those features made us feel like we had a wonderful, New York apartment for our trip. (It was much larger than my apartment when I lived in Manhattan.) We did use the fridge, expresso machine, dishes, serving dishes, and hosted two cocktail parties for friends and family in the living room before going out to dinner. We requested extra glasses and a champagne bucket which were delivered quickly. We enjoyed a terrific meal in the Michelin Star Al Fiori restaurant (expensive but memorable) one night and went to the Metropolitan Opera and the Bryant Park Grill on other evenings.

My only complaints (and they are minor ones) are that they could use more hooks and places to hang towels in the bathroom and the TV in the bedroom should be moved to a corner. We had a fantastic view from the bed that was blocked by the television.

Room Tip: The higher floors give you a great view (especially of the Empire State Building).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    882
    121
    49
    20
    12
See reviews for
252
431
42
194
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We first stayed at Langham Place when it was known as The Setai after reading great reviews on trip advisor. We were not disappointed. The rooms are very stylish and modern but cosy and the reception staff were so friendly and nothing was too much for them.
The complimentary hotel Mazarrati was a nice touch and used on a number of occasions.

The food in the hotel restaurant was great but the waiter was rude and unprofessional.

On the negative side, the view from the hotel rooms was not great particularly if you have a standard room which are in the lower levels, and the massages we had in the spa were expensive and very average.

To summarise, it's a beautiful modern hotel, quite different to any other hotels we've stayed in in New York, service is fantastic although the nesscesity to tip everyone for everything can get a bit much, but that's the same anywhere in New York.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Could not get anything right,would not return emails,had other langhams confirm booking all instructions ignored.in suite nowhere to put luggage.if you have been in 5 star this is not it ,and the excuse we have only just bought the property.many more complaints best thing about the stay leaving.i hope they fix it as other langhams so much better

Room Tip: do not get the rooms that back onto the service elevator,i think 05 rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanghamPlaceNYC F, Director of Sales at Langham Place, Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Sir,

We truly regret that you encountered challenges during your visit at Langham Place, Fifth Avenue. In order for us to avoid repeating any difficulties experienced, could you kindly advise u which department/contact did not respond to your inquire?
We would also greatly appreciate receiving any other specific feedback namely as it relates to your rating for value, cleanliness and service.

Thank you in advance for any additional comments.

Sincerely,

Anne-J. Maurice
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a getaway weekend in early October, when we came for the New Yorker Festival (highly recommend), and we certainly had no regrets about choosing the Langham. We really enjoyed our very large room, with an extraordinary marble bath, overlooking 5th Avenue. We also really liked the Duxiana bed, which was quite comfortable. Equally impressive, we heard no traffic noise whatsoever, and slept beautifully, something which is not always easy to accomplish in such a highly stimulating and noisy environment. So, for our purposes the Langham was a great place to retreat to at the end of the day. We also loved having a Nespresso machine in our room with all of the fixings. I found the gym to be adequate, but not exceptional in any way. As fitness swimmers, we were both wishing that they had a pool, but you can't have everything. Service seemed quite good, but we didn't make use of the concierge or eat/drink in any of their venues. Overall, this is an excellent hotel in a central location. If you can find a coupon special at Jetsetter.com (as we did) it can take some of the sting out of the lofty room rates.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room overlooking 5th Ave, but we heard not a hint of traffic noise. Look for coupon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I spent three nights at the Langham during a business trip to New York in September and was truly impressed with every aspect of the hotel. The reception was highly efficient and friendly. The room was large by New York standards with a superbly comfortable bed. The complimentary mini-bar was a nice touch as was the Nespresso machine in the room.

The gym had all the equipment required for a good workout with complimentary water bottles and fresh apples which provided a nice start to the day.

Easy walking access to the Empire State Building and Macys.

I can't wait for my next stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Excellent base for shopping or sight seeing. 2-3 minutes walk from Empire State (number of rooms have empire state building view) albeit our room looked straight into a brick wall. Hotel is 8-10 minutes walk from Macy's, 20-25 mins to times square etc. From arrival to leaving the staff could not do enough to help. Once arrived we were offered complimentary pressing of 5 garments, which we did the following day. Free mini bar was a nice touch, only have experienced this once before (in Tahiti). They recommended us Sarabeth's for breakfast which was excellent. We came with 3yr old and the staff always rushed to try and open the door for us. Our car to JFK did not turn up, so car arranged replacement immediately. Would definitely go back and would highly recommend. I don't normally write reviews, but was impressed enough to write one.

Room Tip: Ask for one not facing the courtyard else your view will be of a brick wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I reserved a studio place king room at the above mentioned hotel, at a rate of $695 per night.
I checked in at 15:00 only to be told that my room was not ready, at the same time other customers were checking in and they also had the same room type as me, but we're not inconvenienced at all.

I then went to have something to eat and came back at 15:40 to be told that the room is still occupied and that they do not have any available rooms and they cannot give me a time when my room will be ready.

I then got a little agitated and called for the manager but of course he was unavailable to see me, at the same time I phoned other hotels to make a reservation. The gentleman came back 5 min later to say that he has got a room available , and the assistant front desk manager said that he was terribly sorry but he had a cancellation and that is why that room is ready. When I asked why they couldn't of moved me there in the beginning they could not answer.

I also again asked to see the manager but he was not prepared to see me, by the way, I left my email for the manager Mr Luiggi to contact me, but of course he has not.

This sort do treatment is totally unacceptable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanghamPlaceNYC F, Director of Sales at Langham Place, Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your recent visit at Langham Place, Fifth Avenue. We sincerely apologize for not being able to provide you with accommodations upon your arrival. In-house guests, do, on occasion, extend their check-out times without advising the Front Desk. Rooms are often pre-assigned due to specific requests to include connecting rooms, handicap, etc.. which is the reason for us providing guests checking in at the same time, immediate access to accommodations.
Our General Manager, Mr. Luiggi, has advised that you have spoken during your time with us.
We regret you experienced a delay at check-in and would very much like to ensure that your future accommodations are handled via the Executive Office.
Natalie David-Zsemes, Executive Assistant to the General Manager is at your complete disposal and may be contacted at: 212-613-8730 or at Natalie.david-szemes@langhamhotels.com

We appreciate your patronage and thank you again for your comments.

Cordially,

Anne-J. Maurice
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Langham Place, Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Place, Fifth Avenue

Address: 400 Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10018 (Formerly The Setai Fifth Avenue)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 452 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Langham Place, Fifth Avenue 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracefully complementing Manhattan’s luxurious Fifth Avenue and boldly accenting New York City’s famous skyline, Langham Place Fifth Avenue is a renewed celebration of sophistication and style. Soaring more than sixty stories above the city, Langham Place, Fifth Avenue represents the new heart of the world’s most inspired metropolis. Accommodations exude the very essence of luxury and elegance. Duxiana beds, Pratesi linens, and floor-to-ceiling rain showers leave guests breathing easy, if not breathless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, LHW, Agoda, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Venere, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Langham Place, Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langham Place, Fifth Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.