We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, luxurious and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Langham Place, Fifth Avenue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Save
You added Langham Place, Fifth Avenue to your Saves list
Langham Place, Fifth Avenue
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10018 (Formerly The Setai Fifth Avenue) (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
BOOK NOW - Up to 20% off!
Ranked #10 of 455 Hotels in New York City
Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent location, luxurious and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Excellent base for shopping or sight seeing. 2-3 minutes walk from Empire State (number of rooms have empire state building view) albeit our room looked straight into a brick wall. Hotel is 8-10 minutes walk from Macy's, 20-25 mins to times square etc. From arrival to leaving the staff could not do enough to help. Once arrived we were offered complimentary pressing of 5 garments, which we did the following day. Free mini bar was a nice touch, only have experienced this once before (in Tahiti). They recommended us Sarabeth's for breakfast which was excellent. We came with 3yr old and the staff always rushed to try and open the door for us. Our car to JFK did not turn up, so car arranged replacement immediately. Would definitely go back and would highly recommend. I don't normally write reviews, but was impressed enough to write one.

Room Tip: Ask for one not facing the courtyard else your view will be of a brick wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    975
    136
    51
    21
    12
See reviews for
285
471
45
216
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I reserved a studio place king room at the above mentioned hotel, at a rate of $695 per night.
I checked in at 15:00 only to be told that my room was not ready, at the same time other customers were checking in and they also had the same room type as me, but we're not inconvenienced at all.

I then went to have something to eat and came back at 15:40 to be told that the room is still occupied and that they do not have any available rooms and they cannot give me a time when my room will be ready.

I then got a little agitated and called for the manager but of course he was unavailable to see me, at the same time I phoned other hotels to make a reservation. The gentleman came back 5 min later to say that he has got a room available , and the assistant front desk manager said that he was terribly sorry but he had a cancellation and that is why that room is ready. When I asked why they couldn't of moved me there in the beginning they could not answer.

I also again asked to see the manager but he was not prepared to see me, by the way, I left my email for the manager Mr Luiggi to contact me, but of course he has not.

This sort do treatment is totally unacceptable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanghamPlaceNYC F, Director of Sales at Langham Place, Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your recent visit at Langham Place, Fifth Avenue. We sincerely apologize for not being able to provide you with accommodations upon your arrival. In-house guests, do, on occasion, extend their check-out times without advising the Front Desk. Rooms are often pre-assigned due to specific requests to include connecting rooms, handicap, etc.. which is the reason for us providing guests checking in at the same time, immediate access to accommodations.
Our General Manager, Mr. Luiggi, has advised that you have spoken during your time with us.
We regret you experienced a delay at check-in and would very much like to ensure that your future accommodations are handled via the Executive Office.
Natalie David-Zsemes, Executive Assistant to the General Manager is at your complete disposal and may be contacted at: 212-613-8730 or at Natalie.david-szemes@langhamhotels.com

We appreciate your patronage and thank you again for your comments.

Cordially,

Anne-J. Maurice
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Hotel is centrally located bet.36/37th st. And 5th ave.. Can see the Empire State fr. Our window. Big spacious common living room w nice ambience ..w efficient kitchen.( ref. filled w sodas/sparking water free of charge)....all staff are wonderful, courteous and helpful...will surely come back and stay in this hotel..

Room Tip: Pls. Ask for higher room for better view of NYC.. Room 2603 is excellent !!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed at Langham Place in NYC for a mother daughter week-end with my two young daughters (13 and 9). What an unbelievable beautiful hotel. Not only is the hotel spectacular but the staff is there to wait on you hand and foot. The rooms are beautiful, spacious and clean, my daughters especially liked the TV in the bathroom through the mirror. The room was littered with all kinds of goodies all over the room for the girls, there was a plate of fruit with a note naming the kids by name welcoming them in chocolate, at night when we returned to the room there was a book for each girl on the respective bed for them to fill out, outlining their stay. The hotel is located perfectly in the City. Three blocks from The Empire State building, close to Central Park and Times Square. I would highly recommend this hotel for any kind of stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

First review I have ever written on Trip Advisor but I was so impressed with this hotel overall that I felt compelled to let others know about it. Beautiful modern hotel in the heart of New York, high standard of room which was spacious with a view of the Empire State Building, free soft drinks and coffee which was a nice extra. Great location on Fifth Avenue and was close to all the attractions and shops. All the staff were exceptional at all levels and could not do enough for you. We ate in the hotel a few nights, mainly downstairs because there was a Jazz Band and the food was good value. It was a welcome place to relax in the evening after a busy day seeing all the attractions. Beautiful restaurant upstairs which was more expensive and formal but lovely and well worth the extra cost. We had a wonderful holiday in NYC and the Langham Place Hotel made our visit even more special. Would definately go back in the future

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade if it's a special occasion. They go our of their way to meet your requiremen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I staid here and found the hotel pleasant but not special as it lacks warmth and atmosphere ,which is evident even as one arrives.This was previously the Setai and was only rebranded about six months ago and they are still finding their feet.
This could be a great Hotel if the management get their act together and the planned refurbishment will address some of the minor problems in the rooms AND they employ more staff where needed.
The staff are very friendly and helpful on arrival and always through out our entire stay . The complaint was the slowness in actioning a request after an assurance of "Right Away Sir" being issued.THIS is the fault of the management as there is a chronic case of under staffing in many areas,making top class service difficult if not impossible to achieve.[the Langham in London a sister hotel,where the service shines]
There is no fixed check in or check out time,we were lucky and only had to wait a short time to be shown to our suite.
It was very spacious and even had a full kitchen and a first a washing machine and dryer within the accommodation a first in our40 years of travel which my wife loved off to CVS pharmacy at midnight for for washing powder!! A couple of small gripes there was lots of hanging space but no drawers or shelves and the bathroom amenities were below par for a hotel of this level and especially when compared with other hotels in the group.
Breakfast was very pleasant except there were only two waitpersons and a manager to serve all the room with drinks,clear tales and replenish the buffet. THIS is totally unfair on the staff and frustrating to the clients,who in some cases got very upset
Finally the Spa was a haven tranquility and luxurious pleasure here the staff were All charming and professional

Room Tip: Higher up for the views,avoid being next to young families as the rooms are not well sound proofed.B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanghamPlaceNYC F, Director of Sales at Langham Place, Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your recent visit at Langham Place, Fifth Avenue. We rebranded in May this year however we have not made any changes in the design of the hotel. We have maintained our team and are constantly evaluating staffing levels to ensure we provide unparalleled service to all our guests. We are aware of enhancement needs, which we plan to address in the immediate future.
We greatly appreciate your positive comments regarding our flexible check-in times, the access to the private laundry facilities in your suite and the wonderful Spa team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Langham Place, Fifth Avenue. Please do not hesitate to contact our Executive Assistant to the General Manager, Natalie David-Szemes for assistance with accommodations at 212-613-8730 or at Natalie.david-szemes@langhamhotels.com

Sincerely,

Anne-J. Maurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Wonderful hotel. When I looked out my bedroom windows all I could see was the magnificent Empire State Building. How fantastic was that!! The Langham Place Hotel is in the best shopping area in New York. First Class for everything.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Langham Place, Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Place, Fifth Avenue

Address: 400 Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10018 (Formerly The Setai Fifth Avenue)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 455 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Langham Place, Fifth Avenue 5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracefully complementing Manhattan’s luxurious Fifth Avenue and boldly accenting New York City’s famous skyline, Langham Place Fifth Avenue is a renewed celebration of sophistication and style. Soaring more than sixty stories above the city, Langham Place, Fifth Avenue represents the new heart of the world’s most inspired metropolis. Accommodations exude the very essence of luxury and elegance. Duxiana beds, Pratesi linens, and floor-to-ceiling rain showers leave guests breathing easy, if not breathless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, LHW, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Agoda, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Langham Place, Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langham Place, Fifth Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.