We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best luxury hotel in NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Langham Place, Fifth Avenue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Langham Place, Fifth Avenue to your Saves list
Langham Place, Fifth Avenue
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10018 (Formerly The Setai Fifth Avenue) (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Linger Longer at Langham
Ranked #10 of 459 Hotels in New York City
York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“best luxury hotel in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stayed in LP for 4 nights as part of a 40th birthday celebration. I have stayed in a number of top hotels in NYC including places like the Waldorf Astoria and NY Palace, but I can say without doubt that this was by far the best and I won't be staying anywhere else in future. I stayed in a junior suite with Empire state view (and boy what a view!) and I would echo the comments of other reviewers about the high standard of the rooms and all the nice extra touches. What really stood out for me re the rooms was simply the size. NYC is notorious for small hotel rooms and I've paid more money to stay in smaller rooms / suites at other hotels. However the suite was incredibly spacious and felt more like an apartment than a hotel room. More importantly, my girlfriends were staying in cheaper smaller rooms on the eighth floor but they were still hugely spacious and decorated to the same high standard as mine with the same extras, so they were particularly pleased.

Everything about LP is top notch and execution is flawless. However what really makes this hotel the best are the staff. Everyone, without exception, was as warm and helpful as you could ask for, from reception to bar staff to housekeeping to guest services and so on. You expect good service at a hotel in this price range but at LP it was just a bit more genuine / human than at other places. A special stand out mention must go to the personal assistants (concierges) who were fantastic at helping us with our itinery, especially Mr Luis Vasquez. He managed to get us some reservations at some really great restaurants who treated us very well on learning that we were celebrating a birthday, and this also extended to the hotel itself where we received free drinks in the bar one night when we were watching the resident jazz band (awesome band btw). Thank you Luis for helping to make our stay such a good one! It was much appreciated.

I have absolutely nothing bad to say about this hotel or any suggestions for improvements. The rooms, location, staff and value for money were all fantastic. I can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    997
    141
    52
    21
    12
See reviews for
289
480
45
224
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Let's start with the obvious-this hotel is expensive (I stayed on a random weeknight for biz and it was north of 500 for the night for just a basic king room with no view to speak of) but it really competes with some of the best and most luxurious in the city.

For starters the service was outstanding. The check in attendant was funny, attentive and informative. She explained all features of the hotel and location of facilities etc. The housekeeping staff and turndown staff were friendly but also asked me if I needed anything while i was in the hall-again i expect this for 500 plus a night but you don't always get it.

The rooms were gorgeous with a sleek and clean modern design-the hotel is 3 years old so the rooms are very fresh. Satelitte TV channels for all interests and preferences, Nespresso espresso machine's, free fridges stocked with complimentary soft drinks, bottled water and pellegrino-even a complimentary umbrella in the closet to use which really came in handy because I had forgotten mine and it was pouring when I was on my way to my meeting. Bathroom-beautiful marble sunken tubs with rain shower and high product. Room was spotless and turndown service included a gourmet sugar cookie and a bottle of mineral water placed at bedside. Complimentary ride in the Masarati was a straight up trip and a half.

The bar "measure" was swanky with excellent cocktails. It's amazing how good a simple whiskey and soda can be when it's made properly and some dirtbag franchise owner hasn't swapped out the premium liquor for cheap label stuff. Oh here is a novel idea-thank you for using ginger ale out of a bottle so that it was fresh and had carbination instead of giving me some yellow piss water from a dirty tap and ruining my Jame-o.

Would recommend, would return-better for business obviously if you can break out the expense account.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I stayed at the Langham two nights for a business conference. My impression was one of understated professional elegance. The rooms were very well appointed, clean and the beds and pillows were like sleep magnets. The staff was caring, professional, well-trained and always available. I never had a full meal there but the snacks and h'ordeuvers were excellent. The location was close to attractions, but far enough away to feel that I was not a tourist.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed for 6 nights at the end of August while in NYC for our wedding. Can't speak highly enough about the level of service. Housekeepers, concierge, personal assistants - everyone was incredibly helpful and service was always extremely prompt. Room was large and comfortable with great amenities and views. We have great memories of our wedding in New York and we picked the perfect hotel as our base. Will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkesboro, North Carolina, USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Everything was excellent.. Great location and value for your money. I I used the restuarant and service and food was great. Paper was delivered to your room early. Coffee in the lobby early in the morning. We also had coffee in the room. As a business person who travels this is great to start your day as you normally have something to review prior to your meeting. So I would stay at this hotel on future vists to the city. Thanks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Langham Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great experience at this hotel. Rooms very spacious. Staff very friendly and helpful throughout the stay. Restaurant Al Fiori was outstanding. Wifi worked very well. Room faced busy Fifth Avenue and could not hear a thing outside. Also, I didn't take advantage of it but the free shoe shine and free pressing of up to 5 pieces of clothing is a great touch. Food in meeting rooms was very good. A really great hotel. Recommend it highly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

It was excellent experience for our stay, great welcome, services and standards. The rooms and decor were pristine, the food we had was of top quality and well presented. we liked it all over and definitely will return for my next visit

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Langham Place, Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Place, Fifth Avenue

Address: 400 Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10018 (Formerly The Setai Fifth Avenue)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Langham Place, Fifth Avenue 5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracefully complementing Manhattan’s luxurious Fifth Avenue and boldly accenting New York City’s famous skyline, Langham Place Fifth Avenue is a renewed celebration of sophistication and style. Soaring more than sixty stories above the city, Langham Place, Fifth Avenue represents the new heart of the world’s most inspired metropolis. Accommodations exude the very essence of luxury and elegance. Duxiana beds, Pratesi linens, and floor-to-ceiling rain showers leave guests breathing easy, if not breathless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, LHW, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Langham Place, Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langham Place, Fifth Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.