We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue to your Saves list
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10018 (Formerly The Setai Fifth Avenue) (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complementary 3rd Night
Ranked #10 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We have never stayed in such a beautiful hotel with staff that were so nice. Suite was beautiful. Cookies and complimentary drinks stocked were wonderful. Ride in complimentary Mazzarati was a great touch for my husband and 5 year old! Location is good too. Loved it. Staff made the visit outstanding.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,104
    160
    54
    22
    13
See reviews for
321
517
51
254
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed here for a week and had a really nice stay - the staff are all very helpful and pleasant, modern decor and nice spacious room (standard). Complimentary sodas and waters in the room stocked daily which is a nice touch. The "personal assistant" service is great, it felt more like having a PA than just speaking to the concierge. I would have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We booked an Empire State view suite for the experience and we were not disappointed. Wow wow wow. From arriving the concierge were very welcoming. The only strange thing, although not bad was that we were issued out room card and shown to the lift and not escorted to our room. Thinking about it, this is better than the usual over the top service from top hotels. This was our first time in NYC and I've read the rooms can be small, not this. kitchen, lounge, bedroom, bathroom. Kitchen had everything you have at home with free soft drinks. Lounge had working desk, sofa, large screen tv, literature and amazing views of the Empire State Building down to the world trade site. The bedroom had the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in (I stay in hotels 80%of the year). The bathroom is again amazing. Large bath and shower, lay in the bath with views if the Chrysler building and manhattan, not to mention the tv in the mirror.
We ate at the oxford cafe across the road fir breakfast and this was very good.
Downstairs the bar is friendly and lively, prices are typical NYC.
The only downside was the cost of the room, £1700 for three nights, not including breakfast is painful..... But worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a long weekend in march and loved it. The room was lovely and quiet and fairly large. The bathroom was great. It was the little things that made it special for example the coffee machines in the room, the complimentary minibar and the Easter snacks that were delivered. We ordered room service breakfast one morning, expecting a tray to be carried up but no it was a fully laid out table that was wheeled up to the room.
The concierge desk could not have been more helpful - on arrival we need somewhere quick and nice to eat and they recommended and booked us into a restaurant a few minutes away.
We needed to check out before 5 am and having spoken to the doorman the night before he had a taxi waiting for us as we checked out.
If you want VIP treatment this is the hotel to go to.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed as a family (5 Pers.) in a suite at the setai. It was a very friendly surrounding.
We loved to sit at the bar, every day live music, nice snacks and the view to 5th Ave. The staff was very friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My husband and I had a great weekend at the Setai. It is a beautiful hotel with friendly staff and excellent service, a very good location, and a great restaurant and bar.

Our room was exceptional. It was the largest hotel room I have ever seen in New York. (We booked the lowest-priced class of room, but we were given a one-class upgrade because we booked through Leading Hotels of the World's Leaders' Club.) The bed was very comfortable. There was a huge bathroom with two sinks, a soaking tub and a separate glass shower stall big enough for two. Our "personal assistant" emailed us before our arrival to ask what we would like stocked in the mini-bar (non-alcoholic drinks are free).

We had dinner at Ai Fiori, which had superb food and service without being stuffy or excessively formal. (We had a couple of great breakfasts there, too, included with Leaders' Club membership). We finished the evening in the bar off the lobby, which features live jazz every night.

The Setai is not inexpensive but is an excellent hotel and actually a good value among top-class hotels in New York. We definitely would recommend it and would stay there again

Room Tip: Even the smallest rooms are quite large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This hotel & their staff members were the highlight of our trip to NYC. They were professional, helpful, personable & friendly. The room exceeded our expectations! I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: There were 5 of us - 3 adults with 2 children & the suite was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue

Address: 400 Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10018 (Formerly The Setai Fifth Avenue)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue 5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracefully complementing Manhattan's luxurious Fifth Avenue and boldly accenting New York City's famous skyline, Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue is a renewed celebration of sophistication and style. Soaring more than sixty stories above the city, Langham Place, Fifth Avenue represents the new heart of the world's most inspired metropolis. Accommodations exude the very essence of luxury and elegance. Duxiana beds, Pratesi linens, and floor-to-ceiling rain showers leave guests breathing easy, if not breathless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Amex, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.