We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite First Class Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Langham Place, Fifth Avenue

Save Saved
You added Langham Place, Fifth Avenue to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Langham Place, Fifth Avenue
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10018 (Formerly The Setai Fifth Avenue) (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #12 of 451 hotels in New York City
Orlando
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Quite First Class Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The Setai was a great escape from the crowds of New York City. God location in midtown. The Staff were helpful and had good attitudes. Our room was modern medium size but bar was nice extra with soda and water free. Large bathroom with extra tv in bath. Breakfast wasn't cheap but was very good. I would be happy to return to The Setai.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,058 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    862
    117
    47
    20
    12
See reviews for
239
422
43
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Very good experience in deed - fantastic hotel - great sized rooms - lovely welcoming bar with Jazz played nightly and reasonably priced drinks and food - great location on 5th avenue - excellant staff and concierge services - managed to get us in a 2 Michelin star restaurant on a Saturday night with the same days’ notice - which in NYC as you will know is hard work! Make sure you take a trip round town in the "Town Car" - not your average, Maserati Quattroporte. Due to flight issues and snow back in the UK the front desk went out of their way to help and contact the airport and extended our check out time without hesitation which was very much appreciated ! I believe it’s just been bought by the Langham Group and I can see why !

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Empire State - its quite impressive at night !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneMauriceDOS, Director of Sales at Langham Place, Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our jazz at Bar on Fifth and were able to take advantage of our Maserati house car.
We offer on going special weeked offers; please do come back and visit and let me know if I can ever assist with future reservations.

Many thanks for your comments.

Anne-J Maurice
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Setai for 1 week in December 2012. I must say, I was a bit apprehensive as we stayed in the Setai in Miami a few years ago and yes it was lovely, but there were a few things that i was quite disappointed with. But not the case here. From the moment you enter the the people are friendly, its clean and modern, theres music (piano mainly) from the lounge and they had a lovely big tree in reception. The room was grand! We stayed in a corner room on the 11th floor, it was huge, walk through wardrobe area, beautiful large bathroom with a very roomy shower and windows overlooking the balcony. The balcony was really big and even though it was freezing it was nice to be able to open the doors get some air in the room and look over the hustle and bustle of 5th avenue from above.
Nespresso coffee machine, and soft drinks included - i was sold!
The one complaint I have to make is there was a draft coming from the balcony doors, we called someone who taped up various bits of it, which did make it much better. He, however, mentioned that other people had complained and nothing had been done - an oversight as New York winters are pretty cold and it did get quite chilly until the taping!
We had breakfast included which was the continental- very reasonable choice. They also gave us the flexibility of choosing whatever we wanted from the a la carte menu and we only got charged above the continental breakfast price. A lot of hotels would not let you do that.
Any tickets, restaurant information etc was always met with a smile, lots of information and personal experience.
The gym was decently equipped and a really good size.
We would definitely stay here again and great access to all of New York with a choice of subway lines only a couple of blocks away.

Room Tip: cant remember the exact number but it was the corner room (1100, or 1010??) on the 11th floor with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed hear with my wife for three nights in January 2013, the room on the 9th floor was of an excellent standard, bed was very comfortable, bathroom well appointed. Mini bar with complimentry soft drinks.
Breakfast was of a very good standard and service was excellent. The late check out at no extra charge was a bous on the last day.

Room Tip: Our room on the 9th floor had no view at all just a concreate wall (room 919)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Having stayed in quite a few NYC hotels on business and for leisure, the setai has stood out time and time again. The staff makes the difference. Always warm, helpful, professional. Luxurious, large rooms by NYC standards. Coffee machines, well stocked fridge with complimentary beverages. Large, well equipped fitness centre, first class in house italian restaurant that serves amazing breakfasts. Apparently the hotel has been sold- I hope they are able to keep the same high standard.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Swanky mid-town hotel. Rooms and bathrooms are huge by NYC standards. Well decorated. In room coffee machine and complimentary water/soda. Staff was very very friendly and helpful. Did not use the fitness center, but peeked in and it was very large with a number of exercise machines. Truly enjoyed my stay. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I travel to NY several times a year for business and my first choice hotel is always the Setai. Over the years i have stayed in most if not all of the top end hotels in mid town and I think the Setai beats all the others hands down. I travel quite a bit as part of my job and I can say this is the only hotel I actually look forward to visiting Highlights for me that make the Setai special:

The hotel is not pretending to be a nightclub.

The rooms are well decorated and of good size for NYC, it actually feels like home away from home.

All the staff are exceptional. they are always polite and co-operative.

The bar is sophisticated and well laid out. Service is great.

The food through the hotel (Al Fiori, Bar on 5th and room service) are all v good.

I have stayed here a dozen or so times and can not find anything to complain about. It really is by far and away the best mid town hotel. Yes, The Setai does charge more than other hotels in the vicinity but you do get what you pay for, as the Asian proverb goes "if you pay peanuts you get monkeys". I can promise you there are no monkeys at The Setai.

Room Tip: One bedroom suites are truly amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Langham Place, Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Place, Fifth Avenue

Address: 400 Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10018 (Formerly The Setai Fifth Avenue)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 451 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Langham Place, Fifth Avenue 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracefully complementing Manhattan’s luxurious Fifth Avenue and boldly accenting New York City’s famous skyline, Langham Place Fifth Avenue is a renewed celebration of sophistication and style. Soaring more than sixty stories above the city, Langham Place, Fifth Avenue represents the new heart of the world’s most inspired metropolis. Accommodations exude the very essence of luxury and elegance. Duxiana beds, Pratesi linens, and floor-to-ceiling rain showers leave guests breathing easy, if not breathless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LHW, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Agoda, Otel, HotelsClick, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Langham Place, Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langham Place, Fifth Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.