We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool, quiet, sophisticated mid town hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue to your Saves list
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10018 (Formerly The Setai Fifth Avenue) (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complementary 3rd Night
Ranked #10 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Cool, quiet, sophisticated mid town hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Setai for 1 week in December 2012. I must say, I was a bit apprehensive as we stayed in the Setai in Miami a few years ago and yes it was lovely, but there were a few things that i was quite disappointed with. But not the case here. From the moment you enter the the people are friendly, its clean and modern, theres music (piano mainly) from the lounge and they had a lovely big tree in reception. The room was grand! We stayed in a corner room on the 11th floor, it was huge, walk through wardrobe area, beautiful large bathroom with a very roomy shower and windows overlooking the balcony. The balcony was really big and even though it was freezing it was nice to be able to open the doors get some air in the room and look over the hustle and bustle of 5th avenue from above.
Nespresso coffee machine, and soft drinks included - i was sold!
The one complaint I have to make is there was a draft coming from the balcony doors, we called someone who taped up various bits of it, which did make it much better. He, however, mentioned that other people had complained and nothing had been done - an oversight as New York winters are pretty cold and it did get quite chilly until the taping!
We had breakfast included which was the continental- very reasonable choice. They also gave us the flexibility of choosing whatever we wanted from the a la carte menu and we only got charged above the continental breakfast price. A lot of hotels would not let you do that.
Any tickets, restaurant information etc was always met with a smile, lots of information and personal experience.
The gym was decently equipped and a really good size.
We would definitely stay here again and great access to all of New York with a choice of subway lines only a couple of blocks away.

Room Tip: cant remember the exact number but it was the corner room (1100, or 1010??) on the 11th floor with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,107
    160
    54
    23
    13
See reviews for
322
518
51
255
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed hear with my wife for three nights in January 2013, the room on the 9th floor was of an excellent standard, bed was very comfortable, bathroom well appointed. Mini bar with complimentry soft drinks.
Breakfast was of a very good standard and service was excellent. The late check out at no extra charge was a bous on the last day.

Room Tip: Our room on the 9th floor had no view at all just a concreate wall (room 919)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Having stayed in quite a few NYC hotels on business and for leisure, the setai has stood out time and time again. The staff makes the difference. Always warm, helpful, professional. Luxurious, large rooms by NYC standards. Coffee machines, well stocked fridge with complimentary beverages. Large, well equipped fitness centre, first class in house italian restaurant that serves amazing breakfasts. Apparently the hotel has been sold- I hope they are able to keep the same high standard.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Swanky mid-town hotel. Rooms and bathrooms are huge by NYC standards. Well decorated. In room coffee machine and complimentary water/soda. Staff was very very friendly and helpful. Did not use the fitness center, but peeked in and it was very large with a number of exercise machines. Truly enjoyed my stay. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I travel to NY several times a year for business and my first choice hotel is always the Setai. Over the years i have stayed in most if not all of the top end hotels in mid town and I think the Setai beats all the others hands down. I travel quite a bit as part of my job and I can say this is the only hotel I actually look forward to visiting Highlights for me that make the Setai special:

The hotel is not pretending to be a nightclub.

The rooms are well decorated and of good size for NYC, it actually feels like home away from home.

All the staff are exceptional. they are always polite and co-operative.

The bar is sophisticated and well laid out. Service is great.

The food through the hotel (Al Fiori, Bar on 5th and room service) are all v good.

I have stayed here a dozen or so times and can not find anything to complain about. It really is by far and away the best mid town hotel. Yes, The Setai does charge more than other hotels in the vicinity but you do get what you pay for, as the Asian proverb goes "if you pay peanuts you get monkeys". I can promise you there are no monkeys at The Setai.

Room Tip: One bedroom suites are truly amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

In the start of January i had a 5 days business trip to New York and stayed in The Setai. Well it was a great experience!! The room was outstanding luxury and i can't stop thanking my company that sent me here. Great views of Empire State Building, really helpful and accommodating staff!! The breakfast was so tasty and rich. Couldn't ask for more.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

A TV in the bathroom mirror while you are brushing your teeth? An espresso bar beside your 40 inch flat screen TV? Did not want to leave!

The Setai is in a great location - it's midtown on 5th Avenue between 37st and 36st.

The minute you walk in the doors you have entered a completely different world.

First class service and guest rooms.

Splurge if you can while visiting NY, The Setai is well worth it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue

Address: 400 Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10018 (Formerly The Setai Fifth Avenue)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue 5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracefully complementing Manhattan's luxurious Fifth Avenue and boldly accenting New York City's famous skyline, Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue is a renewed celebration of sophistication and style. Soaring more than sixty stories above the city, Langham Place, Fifth Avenue represents the new heart of the world's most inspired metropolis. Accommodations exude the very essence of luxury and elegance. Duxiana beds, Pratesi linens, and floor-to-ceiling rain showers leave guests breathing easy, if not breathless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Amex, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.