We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence at its best !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Langham Place, Fifth Avenue

Save Saved
You added Langham Place, Fifth Avenue to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Langham Place, Fifth Avenue
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10018 (Formerly The Setai Fifth Avenue) (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #12 of 451 hotels in New York City
chicago
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellence at its best !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Room was exquisite with modern features. Very spacious. Courtious staff was eager to help.Room service kinda pricey. Great location. We were able to walk to Madidon Square Garden for the KNICKS game..We will definitely stay there again !!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,057 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    861
    117
    47
    20
    12
See reviews for
236
418
42
190
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Drexel hill,pa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed new years eve had two rooms and hotel was nice enough but, did not deliver the type of service that one would expect when at this price point. Have gotten similar type of room at Westin for half the price. Hotel restaurant should be avoided at all costs. Food not good and way overpriced with tip added on top of that. Location is ok, but, try and find another hotel at the prices these guys are charging, nothing special.

Room Tip: Try and get Corner room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneMauriceDOS, Director of Sales at Langham Place, Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback for your recent stay, over New Year's with us. We regret you found the hotel overpriced. New Year's is typically a very busy time in the City and we continuously monitor pricing, namely among hotels which fall within our pricing range. Our rates over this particular time frame, were in line with the market place.
Ai Fiori, the hotel's restaurant is owned and managed by an independent operator, thus we do not oversee its operation.
We value your patronage and hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. It would be my pleasure to personally assist with your accommodations. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

We wish you a very happy 2013 and thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,


Anne-J. Maurice
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I returned to the Setai after staying there with my two teenage kids for Christmas 2011, this time with my partner. Last time I valued the space of the Apartment Suite, the location which meant that we could walk almost everywhere we wished to go, and the friendly service. This time we were upgraded to an Apartment Suite (thanks Natalie) and again were very happy with the space, location and service.

Everyone was friendly and helpful and we especially appreciated a 4.00 pm checkout as we waited to be taken to the airport. We managed a couple of trips in the Maserati (thanks John), which certainly beats taxis for style.

This is not an old style five star hotel with luxury and obsequiousness oozing from every corner; it's a well equipped modern new style five star hotel and was perfect for our trip. Thanks.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Very mixed feelings about this hotel. On one hand, the location is absolutely amazing! Its near Empire State Building, walking distance to Public Library, Bryant Park, Grand Central, Times Square, Rockefeller Centre, Macy's and of course 5th Avenue. Also, the hotel is new and very well maintained, the furniture/elevators are all new, the hall and lounge are very clean. The Room Service is great as well, they are very quick and thorough ( they change bedsheets daily, clean bathroom and organize toiletries really well, stack minibar, fold clothes etc). On the other hand, the service is a let down. There is usually only one receptionist at the lobby (sometimes two), so when you finally get at the hotel after a day of traveling, be prepared to wait for your checkin. Also, be prepared that because the only receptionist is alway very busy, they could simply forget your request (we requested room-service in the evening, and after we came back to the room an hour later, they apparently forgot about us. As it was already very late, we had to stay in the room while they cleaned it, very awkward). Also, due to a very minimalistic design, there is only one couch in the lobby (beside the lounge/restaurant), so if thats taken, you have to stand and wait. There is also an option of a personal assistant, who are very helpful by email. However, once you are at the hotel, it takes time to get hold of one. Usually there is only one personal assistant present (sometimes none) and you always have to wait in line between 10 and 25 minutes. Then, there is also a Michelin Star restaurant. Well, the long seating and overpriced dishes might be alright for a dinner, at least it is expected. But this is also the only option if you want to have an early breakfast. And that is truly terrible. We always want to start our day with a quick and full breakfast, to go on with our tours and sightseeing. However, there is no buffet, only a very limited menu, and it takes ages to serve 4 people for omelets and coffee. Thankfully, there is a cheap-looking, but a very good breakfast cafe at the corner near the hotel, with many delicious sandwiches, panini's and pancakes. Also, due to a very minimalistic design and somberness I wouldn't recommend this hotel for the holidays season! (and that is possibly the biggest letdown). At last, the hotel is very pet-unfriendly, this is perhaps not the strict policy of the hotel, but of the US, so if you are from Europe, I wouldn't recommend taking your pet with you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneMauriceDOS, Director of Sales at Langham Place, Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback during your recent stay with us. We are always appreciative of any comments provided. We truly regret that you had a waiting time at the Reception/Personal Assistants Desks and that you found seating in our Lobby area limited. We are aware of these challenges and are working on improvements in the immediate future.
Regrettably, Ai Fiori restaurant is not owned or managed by the hotel. For breakfast, we do offer several alternatives: room service or Bar on FIfth (while we typically do not open the Bar area before 8am, we always make exceptions and can offer any room service item to be served in the Bar).
The Hotel is very pet friendly. We accept all pets - under 25 lbs - at no charge. New York City law prohibits however, any pet, from entering an area that serves food and beverage. I would very much appreciate receiving additional comments regarding your experience with your pet.

Thank you again for your time. We wish you a wonderful new year and do hope to see you at The Setai Fifth Avenue in the future.

Sincerely,


Anne-J. Maurice
Director of Sales & Marketing
anne.maurice@setaififthavenue.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Spent a few days at The Setai between Christmas and the new year, and had an absolute fantastic time. Had a great suite on the 26th floor, with nice neutral decor and great views.
Everyone I dealt with from the second I arrived were very service minded, and it truly felt as if they were going the extra length to make me feel comfortable.
I was fortunate to be transported by the house car on a few occasions, and every request I had during my stay was dealt with promptly.
To Gabriel and the other guys at the door. Thank you for a great stay!

Br

Mads J

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights as part of our honeymoon travels. We have stayed in many 5 star hotels around the world and overall the Setai was very average.

Positive points:
-Every concierge we spoke to was very helpful and pleasant.
-The house car was very convenient and we used it on 2 occasions.
-Room was a good size and the hotel is in a good location.

Negative points:
-When we went to use the Nespresso machine in the room there was sour milk in there - had not been cleaned from previous guests.
-I asked for some milk to be brought to the room so we could have a coffee however when it arrived we were charged $19 for the privilege!
-The spa was very average. The relaxation area was very small and not very private. Both of us had treatments but the therapists seemed very rushed. Also for the level of service we received it was way overpriced.

Overall we still had a fantastic time in New York. I think for a business trip this hotel would be more than adequate however it is not a luxury hotel. It just did not meet our high expectations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneMauriceDOS, Director of Sales at Langham Place, Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your December stay. We hope you had a most enjoyable honeymoon in our City and hotel. We appreciate your positive/negative points which you clearly stated. We apologize for not having milk made available to you for your coffee, when needed. It would be my pleasure to have your milk charge removed from your bill. Please contact me directly in order for me to proceed as I will require your full name.
We have made note of your Spa comments, which we will share with the appropriate individuals.

I look forward to hearing from you so that I may make the adjustments noted above. In the meantime, we congratulate you on your wedding and wist you a wonderful 2013!

Sincerely,


Anne-J. Maurice
Director of Sales & Marketing
212-613-8733
anne.maurice@setaififthavenue.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The Setai Fifth Avenue (no relation to The Setai South Beach) is one of ten properties worldwide managed by Capella Hotels. The boutique hotel opened in late 2010 and is located in Midtown just steps from The Empire State Building and Bryant Park.

The Setai places a strong emphasis on service and style. Staff are universally attentive and guests receive a welcome call after arriving to ensure everything is to their satisfaction, rooms all come with free wi-fi and a turn down service which leaves nightly treats. Something I appreciated was the attention given to their furnishings which are both beautiful and comfortable; adding appeal to both the body and the eye.

The stylish amenities continue in the large bathroom which includes an oversized tub that even I could fit in comfortably, ample vanity space, and a soothing shower all within easy eye shot of a small flat screen T.V.

HINT: Business travelers will like the complimentary overnight shoe shine service (esp. when visiting NYC in the winter).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Langham Place, Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Place, Fifth Avenue

Address: 400 Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10018 (Formerly The Setai Fifth Avenue)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 451 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Langham Place, Fifth Avenue 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracefully complementing Manhattan’s luxurious Fifth Avenue and boldly accenting New York City’s famous skyline, Langham Place Fifth Avenue is a renewed celebration of sophistication and style. Soaring more than sixty stories above the city, Langham Place, Fifth Avenue represents the new heart of the world’s most inspired metropolis. Accommodations exude the very essence of luxury and elegance. Duxiana beds, Pratesi linens, and floor-to-ceiling rain showers leave guests breathing easy, if not breathless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , LHW, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Otel, HotelsClick, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Langham Place, Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langham Place, Fifth Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.