We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at The Setai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Langham Place, Fifth Avenue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Langham Place, Fifth Avenue to your Saves list
Langham Place, Fifth Avenue
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10018 (Formerly The Setai Fifth Avenue) (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great stay at The Setai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Spent a few days at The Setai between Christmas and the new year, and had an absolute fantastic time. Had a great suite on the 26th floor, with nice neutral decor and great views.
Everyone I dealt with from the second I arrived were very service minded, and it truly felt as if they were going the extra length to make me feel comfortable.
I was fortunate to be transported by the house car on a few occasions, and every request I had during my stay was dealt with promptly.
To Gabriel and the other guys at the door. Thank you for a great stay!

Br

Mads J

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    923
    127
    50
    20
    12
See reviews for
271
449
45
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights as part of our honeymoon travels. We have stayed in many 5 star hotels around the world and overall the Setai was very average.

Positive points:
-Every concierge we spoke to was very helpful and pleasant.
-The house car was very convenient and we used it on 2 occasions.
-Room was a good size and the hotel is in a good location.

Negative points:
-When we went to use the Nespresso machine in the room there was sour milk in there - had not been cleaned from previous guests.
-I asked for some milk to be brought to the room so we could have a coffee however when it arrived we were charged $19 for the privilege!
-The spa was very average. The relaxation area was very small and not very private. Both of us had treatments but the therapists seemed very rushed. Also for the level of service we received it was way overpriced.

Overall we still had a fantastic time in New York. I think for a business trip this hotel would be more than adequate however it is not a luxury hotel. It just did not meet our high expectations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneMauriceDOS, Director of Sales at Langham Place, Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your December stay. We hope you had a most enjoyable honeymoon in our City and hotel. We appreciate your positive/negative points which you clearly stated. We apologize for not having milk made available to you for your coffee, when needed. It would be my pleasure to have your milk charge removed from your bill. Please contact me directly in order for me to proceed as I will require your full name.
We have made note of your Spa comments, which we will share with the appropriate individuals.

I look forward to hearing from you so that I may make the adjustments noted above. In the meantime, we congratulate you on your wedding and wist you a wonderful 2013!

Sincerely,


Anne-J. Maurice
Director of Sales & Marketing
212-613-8733
anne.maurice@setaififthavenue.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The Setai Fifth Avenue (no relation to The Setai South Beach) is one of ten properties worldwide managed by Capella Hotels. The boutique hotel opened in late 2010 and is located in Midtown just steps from The Empire State Building and Bryant Park.

The Setai places a strong emphasis on service and style. Staff are universally attentive and guests receive a welcome call after arriving to ensure everything is to their satisfaction, rooms all come with free wi-fi and a turn down service which leaves nightly treats. Something I appreciated was the attention given to their furnishings which are both beautiful and comfortable; adding appeal to both the body and the eye.

The stylish amenities continue in the large bathroom which includes an oversized tub that even I could fit in comfortably, ample vanity space, and a soothing shower all within easy eye shot of a small flat screen T.V.

HINT: Business travelers will like the complimentary overnight shoe shine service (esp. when visiting NYC in the winter).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Came back to room after a long night out to find the room had not been cleaned...THOROUGHLY DISAPPOINTED and embarrassed to have to stand in our room while it is being serviced. To make matters worse Emir the night manager wants to fight with us. Way to go Setai!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneMauriceDOS, Director of Sales at Langham Place, Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback during your recent stay with us. We sincerely apologize for not having your guest room serviced prior to your return. We hope that despite this occurence, you enjoyed your time at The Setai Fifth Avenue.

We wish you a very happy new year!

Sincerely,


Anne-J. Maurice
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay at the Setai. The staff were all quite professional and personable. Room service was delicious. Our room, a corner suite, was extremely clean and quiet. We appreciated the extra touches thanks to the personal assistants. Looking forward to our next stay in the future!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

The Setai Fifth Avenue certainly exceeds the expectations. From the elegant decor to the fantastic service, this hotel is the prime choice for a mid-town stay. The rooms are spectacular, the staff is friendly and consistently goes above and beyond to make your stay the best possible experience. The food in the restaurant is spectacular, and their lounge provides a tranquil space while still providing a view of the city streets. My bartenders in particular, a girl named Emily and a fellow named Vinnie made certain my experience felt personal. I could not have felt more pampered and could not consider using another hotel after this experience.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Excellent staff (they remembered our names from the moment our family walked in). Our original suite was overbooked, so we ended up in a much nicer suite (no complaints here). Extremely convenient location to Fifth Avenue shopping, restaurants, and subway system. Use the concierge, they worked magic throughout our entire stay. Regardless of whether we needed tickets, or merely a ride, the staff would go out of their way to make sure we were happy. Honestly will have trouble staying at any other hotel in the NYC area. Room service was superb. One of our family members forgot their toothbrush. We called downstairs and within 3 minutes, we had four.

For those who stay at this hotel, there's always a chance at a celebrity sighting. Our hotel neighbor happened to be Jamie Foxx, who was staying during his Django Unchained promotional tour.

Room Tip: Rooms on floors 18-27 are suites. We stayed on the 18th floor in the one bedroom suite with a total...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Langham Place, Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Place, Fifth Avenue

Address: 400 Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10018 (Formerly The Setai Fifth Avenue)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Langham Place, Fifth Avenue 5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracefully complementing Manhattan’s luxurious Fifth Avenue and boldly accenting New York City’s famous skyline, Langham Place Fifth Avenue is a renewed celebration of sophistication and style. Soaring more than sixty stories above the city, Langham Place, Fifth Avenue represents the new heart of the world’s most inspired metropolis. Accommodations exude the very essence of luxury and elegance. Duxiana beds, Pratesi linens, and floor-to-ceiling rain showers leave guests breathing easy, if not breathless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LHW, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Venere, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Langham Place, Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langham Place, Fifth Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.