We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Trip to NYC!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Langham Place, Fifth Avenue

Save Saved
You added Langham Place, Fifth Avenue to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Langham Place, Fifth Avenue
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10018 (Formerly The Setai Fifth Avenue) (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #13 of 449 hotels in New York City
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“First Trip to NYC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We chose the Setai as our hotel on our first trip to NYC because

1. Its # 1 Rating on TA(when we booked)
2. Location
3. Price( great deal on last minute travel)

We
were traveling with another couple, and I am always the trip planner.

We were not disappointed. I am sure we had the lowest grade rooms yet they were nice size, probably large for NYC, no view, only another building. The hotel, rooms and bathrooms were all extremely clean. The beds were very comfortable. The rooms were very quiet. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

I thought it was an exceptional item to have no set check-in-check-out times. I’m sure if they are super full they can not always accommodate, but we arrived at 1pm and were able to go to our rooms and had a late flight on our last day and were able to check out at 3.

Additionally we received breakfast coupons upon arrival that I was unaware of! Had 3 great breakfasts in their dining room the days we were there, but they do have a very limited menu.

We had drinks 2 nights in the hotel bar and while pricy it was a comfortable atmosphere. Great friendly servers.

The only minor issue was our friends bathroom, they had absolutely no counter space, just a sink on a wall Room 919. Our rooms were identical, but we had a nice long marble counter in our bathroom - Room 719. It was odd. Maybe theirs was a handicap room, but if it was I have no idea how a handicapped person could get in/out of the deep tub! When calling to confirm our reservations the day before we came I did mention it was their 30th anniversary. I felt bad they got that bathroom, but not a huge deal, but if you want a counter in your bathroom don’t stay in room 919.

All in all, great stay, lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Room 919 has no bathroom countertop
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    851
    116
    47
    20
    12
See reviews for
231
414
42
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I stayed here in Sept for 5 nights with my partner. I am a frequent visitor to NYC and have stayed in a lot of hotels throughout Manhattan. This is by far the best I have stayed in. The rooms are really comfortable and hi-tech. And at last ....a hotel that provides free high speed wifi throughout the hotel!! My room did not have any view but that did not matter to me, the service is awesome. Complimentary shirt iron on arrival, shoe shines, check out when suits you as the hotel was not fully booked - never been asked before "What time suits you" to check out when I enquired about a slightly later check out - and I mean any hotel anywhere. Front desk, concierge, all top notch. Great location for escape downtown or hitting the midtown/uptown highlights. I was on a mix of business and pleasure and it worked for both, highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington MA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed 5 nights and were upgraded at check-in to a large deluxe room. We were truly amazed by this wonderful hotel in the center of Manhattan, its excellent service, modern facilities, gorgeous bathroom and a very comfortable bed in a super-sized room with a walk-in wardrobe. I had requested for a low floor (9th) and although our room faced Fifth Avenue, it was so quiet and peaceful, and I could stand by the tall windows, deep in thought, watching the hive of activities below.
The location is perfect, being walking distance to Times Square, the theaters along Broadway and Bryant Park.
One regret was that we didn't manage to secure a treatment at the spa as it was so full and popular, and couldn't accommodate our last-minute attempt to book.
We will definitely stay here again the next time we are in NYC.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed 6 nights and could easily have stayed many more.

There is a service ethic that runs through the staff that is magnificent. From the concierge staff who greet you each time you walk though the front door, , to the front desk, restaurant staff and house maids there is a consistent desire to provide wonderful service whilst making you feel comfortable in a home away from home manner.

From the complimentary "refreshment centre" ( ie fridge stocked with water, juice and soft drinks) to the observant house maid who noticed we were almost outoftoothpaste and so provided a new one, there were just so many lovely little touches. It's the little things that make a stay particularly memorable.

Room tip: join Leading Hotels of he World and you will stand a good chance of getting a room upgrade whilst being assured of continental breakfast and free Wifi. If you don't do this may I encourage you to get a rate that includes breakfast especially if you like a full breakfast asit can be quite pricey.

Can't wait to stay here again.

Room Tip: Join Leading Hotelsof The world. Note: There is no pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I visited NY last october and I stayed at the setai on 5th.
The concierge its really friendly and helpful and the rooms are new, clean, very comfortable and bigger then expected! And the bathrooms are gorgeous!
One minus for breakfast , it was quite poor and took forever to bring 2 eggs ( half hour) and they were so fried that was impossible to eat them. I would have preferred to have a nice small buffet breakfast but they dont have one.
The door men were very careful always to help with umbrellas,doors and luggage it had a real feeling of a 5 stars!

Room Tip: I liked back room because its silent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed here in May of this year for 5 nights. It is a beautiful hotel in the perfect location. Service was second to none and our room was outstanding. You will pay for the pleasure but it was more than worth it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We absolutely loved our stay at The Setai. The service was impeccable. The hotel feels really classy but the staff are very approachable and helpful. We got upgraded to a one bedroom suite which was spacious and welcoming. The mirror in the bathroom had a tv built into it...amazing. Would recommend you get a deal with breakfast included as a little pricey but very tasty.
It's locations brilliant...on Fifth Ave. Only a few mins walk to the major shopping hub on 34th. About 15 mins walk to Central Park and a couple of streets from Empire State Building. Just loved it, would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: If you become a Leading Hotels of the World Member then they will likely upgrade you to a better roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Langham Place, Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Place, Fifth Avenue

Address: 400 Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10018 (Formerly The Setai Fifth Avenue)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 449 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Langham Place, Fifth Avenue 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracefully complementing Manhattan’s luxurious Fifth Avenue and boldly accenting New York City’s famous skyline, Langham Place Fifth Avenue is a renewed celebration of sophistication and style. Soaring more than sixty stories above the city, Langham Place, Fifth Avenue represents the new heart of the world’s most inspired metropolis. Accommodations exude the very essence of luxury and elegance. Duxiana beds, Pratesi linens, and floor-to-ceiling rain showers leave guests breathing easy, if not breathless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LHW, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Otel, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Langham Place, Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langham Place, Fifth Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.