We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place to Stay in NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue to your Saves list
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10018 (Formerly The Setai Fifth Avenue) (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complementary 3rd Night
Ranked #10 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lexington MA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Place to Stay in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed 5 nights and were upgraded at check-in to a large deluxe room. We were truly amazed by this wonderful hotel in the center of Manhattan, its excellent service, modern facilities, gorgeous bathroom and a very comfortable bed in a super-sized room with a walk-in wardrobe. I had requested for a low floor (9th) and although our room faced Fifth Avenue, it was so quiet and peaceful, and I could stand by the tall windows, deep in thought, watching the hive of activities below.
The location is perfect, being walking distance to Times Square, the theaters along Broadway and Bryant Park.
One regret was that we didn't manage to secure a treatment at the spa as it was so full and popular, and couldn't accommodate our last-minute attempt to book.
We will definitely stay here again the next time we are in NYC.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,109
    160
    54
    23
    13
See reviews for
322
519
51
256
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed 6 nights and could easily have stayed many more.

There is a service ethic that runs through the staff that is magnificent. From the concierge staff who greet you each time you walk though the front door, , to the front desk, restaurant staff and house maids there is a consistent desire to provide wonderful service whilst making you feel comfortable in a home away from home manner.

From the complimentary "refreshment centre" ( ie fridge stocked with water, juice and soft drinks) to the observant house maid who noticed we were almost outoftoothpaste and so provided a new one, there were just so many lovely little touches. It's the little things that make a stay particularly memorable.

Room tip: join Leading Hotels of he World and you will stand a good chance of getting a room upgrade whilst being assured of continental breakfast and free Wifi. If you don't do this may I encourage you to get a rate that includes breakfast especially if you like a full breakfast asit can be quite pricey.

Can't wait to stay here again.

Room Tip: Join Leading Hotelsof The world. Note: There is no pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I visited NY last october and I stayed at the setai on 5th.
The concierge its really friendly and helpful and the rooms are new, clean, very comfortable and bigger then expected! And the bathrooms are gorgeous!
One minus for breakfast , it was quite poor and took forever to bring 2 eggs ( half hour) and they were so fried that was impossible to eat them. I would have preferred to have a nice small buffet breakfast but they dont have one.
The door men were very careful always to help with umbrellas,doors and luggage it had a real feeling of a 5 stars!

Room Tip: I liked back room because its silent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed here in May of this year for 5 nights. It is a beautiful hotel in the perfect location. Service was second to none and our room was outstanding. You will pay for the pleasure but it was more than worth it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We absolutely loved our stay at The Setai. The service was impeccable. The hotel feels really classy but the staff are very approachable and helpful. We got upgraded to a one bedroom suite which was spacious and welcoming. The mirror in the bathroom had a tv built into it...amazing. Would recommend you get a deal with breakfast included as a little pricey but very tasty.
It's locations brilliant...on Fifth Ave. Only a few mins walk to the major shopping hub on 34th. About 15 mins walk to Central Park and a couple of streets from Empire State Building. Just loved it, would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: If you become a Leading Hotels of the World Member then they will likely upgrade you to a better roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, VA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

This is the nicest hotel I have ever stayed at, and I have traveled a great deal. The staff could not have been more accommodating, polite, helpful, and efficient! The rooms are spotless. The location is perfect -- just far enough away from the hustle and bustle of 42nd Avenue, but close enough to walk everywhere I needed to go. The bed was so comfortable. No need to get used to a "different" bed as in some hotels. Each time I walked into the hotel I felt I was coming home and once in the room I felt completely at home! I will look for The Setai wherever I travel, and hope I get to stay here everytime I am in New York City.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

So, this place is fabulous. I stayed at the Hyatt before I stayed here, and this was like an island oasis.

First, the service is FANTASTIC. Everyone greets you by name. You get complimentary pressing. You get complimentary shoe shining.

Second, the amenities are great. There's a complimentary mini-bar. There's a huge soaking tub. The soaps smell lovely. You get a pouch with a loofa and other nice things.

This is where I plan for the foreseeable future when I have to go to New York. It's just not worth staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue

Address: 400 Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10018 (Formerly The Setai Fifth Avenue)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue 5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracefully complementing Manhattan's luxurious Fifth Avenue and boldly accenting New York City's famous skyline, Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue is a renewed celebration of sophistication and style. Soaring more than sixty stories above the city, Langham Place, Fifth Avenue represents the new heart of the world's most inspired metropolis. Accommodations exude the very essence of luxury and elegance. Duxiana beds, Pratesi linens, and floor-to-ceiling rain showers leave guests breathing easy, if not breathless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Amex, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.