We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service & location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Langham Place, Fifth Avenue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Langham Place, Fifth Avenue to your Saves list
Langham Place, Fifth Avenue
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10018 (Formerly The Setai Fifth Avenue) (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Linger Longer at Langham
Ranked #11 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent service & location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The location is superb enabling you to see the majority of sights on foot. The concierge service is excellent and friendly. The hotel itself is very clean and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. The maid gave the room a clean 3 times a day!

Whilst this is not the cheapest hotel it does offer excellent value for its location, a 5 minute stroll to the Empire State Building and the shops on Fifth Avenue. We will be staying there again.

Room Tip: The higher floors are away from the traffic are a little more quiet, especially during the night. Tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    997
    141
    52
    21
    12
See reviews for
289
480
45
224
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, FL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This hotel is absolutely spectacular. The rooms are very spacious. Bedding and actual beds are a little piece of Heaven. Absolutely the best hotel I have ever stayed while visiting NY. Service and staff were available for whatever was needed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This was our first trip to NYC and we stayed at the Setai for 11 nights so we were very grateful to have such a spacious room with a large wardrobe where we could completely unpack and make ourselves at home. The hotel does not have any designated "check in or out" times which is great because they will work around whatever suits the guest. All staff were extremely helpful, attentive and friendly. The rooms were HUGE, clean and comfortable. We loved the addition of the Nespresso machine and small sweet treats that were delivered to the room each night - it's the small details that make this a special hotel. Great location, close to shopping and Times Square. Highly recommended! Oh and do try the wonderful restaurant on the 2nd floor - Ai Fiori - you must book in advance, but it's worth it !!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We travelled to New York recently for a 40th Birthday celebration and spent a wonderful 3 nights at the Setai. We were lucky enough to get a deal, a 3 for 2 nights on a Studio Suite much earlier in the year. The room was fabulous. Having done a great deal of research about New York hotels and prices, we were expecting very little for our money but the Suite at the Setai surpassed all expectations, it was a really good size, with a seperate lounge area, walk in wardrobe and huge bathroom, with a large walk in shower, very large luxurious bath, oh yes and 3 TV's one of which was in the bathroom mirror!

Our personal assistant Eugenie was exceptional!, As we were there for a special occasion we had been in contact with Eugenia for a good few weeks prior to our arrival to help us with restaurant recommendations and bookings, as well as other sightseeing and tour information. When we arrived everything was ready for us and the slightest mention of wanting to visit anywhere was followed by a few clicks of the keyboard and we had all travel information and tickets in our hands, they made it so simple and easy it was truly fabulous and we both wanted to say a big thank you to the hotel and Eugenia, who helped make our trip so special. They even sent us a bottle of champagne and birthday cake with Birthday note.

The hotel is very conveniently located on fifth avenue, a few blocks walk from Grand Central Station, The Empire State Building, Times Square etc as well as the Subway.

When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by the staff with a "welcome to your home for the next 3 nights" This certainly was what the hotel felt like, the service was excellent but the room just felt like we had arrived and was as close to home as you can get when staying in a hotel room. We would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I have not felt compelled to write a review on a hotel or restaurant ever! We went to NYC for my husbands 40th birthday and to attend the US Open. We arrived to the hotel at 11am and were immediately checked-in. Very happy I could change clothes and relax a little before heading out. We stayed in the superior room and it was perfect for us. We faced the W Cafe and could open our windows (this was a first for me) and listen to the sounds of the city. We loved coming back to our room for a little treat in the evening - a big soft pretzel with mustard one night. I asked for a couple of more pillows on our way out one morning and when I had to run back to the room an hour later there were 4 fluffy pillows waiting! We slept like babies for all of our three nights - there was no outside or interior noise AT ALL. Housekeeping was also the best I had ever seen. They really took the time to straighten and clean our room each day. The staff as a whole were very friendly and helpful! We were very sad to leave!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mickey040
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Great location, great staff, great property. I have stayed at the peninsula hotels around the world, Alvear in Buenos Aires and other great properties and The Setai is on par with the best. The rooms are huge. The property location is perfect but the service truly stands out. Our personal assistant, Sohee, contacted me prior to arrival and arranged all transportation needs, special requests I had for celebrating my mother's 75th birthday, dinner reservations and on and on. The bar is great with great jazz in evening, great atmosphere, very laid back and great view for people watching on 5th Ave! Al Fiori is great. Hotel car and driver was always available and very nice touch. Service really does exceed what I have experienced in Asia and have never received at other luxury USA properties. Cannot say enough about The Setai.

Room Tip: One bedroom city view apartment blogger and better than the more expensive empire state view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at the Setai for three nights in May, booked through five star alliance! Despite having spent a fair amount of time researching the best hotels in New York I feel I made the wrong choice with the Setai. We found the Bar on the ground floor lacked atmosphere and felt a bit like an airport lounge. Our room was modern and clean but predictable and forgetable. Staff were pleasant enough but the restaurant for breakfast was lacking again in atmosphere and the food was again average. Overall a four star experience, we did get a good deal and perhaps it proved the point that you get what you pay for !

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Langham Place, Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Place, Fifth Avenue

Address: 400 Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10018 (Formerly The Setai Fifth Avenue)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Langham Place, Fifth Avenue 5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracefully complementing Manhattan’s luxurious Fifth Avenue and boldly accenting New York City’s famous skyline, Langham Place Fifth Avenue is a renewed celebration of sophistication and style. Soaring more than sixty stories above the city, Langham Place, Fifth Avenue represents the new heart of the world’s most inspired metropolis. Accommodations exude the very essence of luxury and elegance. Duxiana beds, Pratesi linens, and floor-to-ceiling rain showers leave guests breathing easy, if not breathless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, LHW, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Langham Place, Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langham Place, Fifth Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.