We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in NYC, hands down” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue to your Saves list
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10018 (Formerly The Setai Fifth Avenue) (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
UP TO 20% OFF. BOOK NOW!
Ranked #12 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in NYC, hands down”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Well worth the money - by NY standards that is.
Everything is on par with a 5 star, only some minor glitches (noisy room doors, few stains on carpet, terrace door broken).
It is so rare to find a really good hotel in NY with huge rooms, that you forget about these, and service is much more efficient, fast and courteous than in other 5 stars of the city.
Great gym.
Yes, it does not have the glamour that you would find in Paris or trendiness of London's best hotels... but if you can afford it, it's by far your best choice, especially if you're on business.
Location is also contrary to some reviews perfectly central. Not the ritziest part of Fifth Avenue, but convenient for everywhere.
I'd just put some plants on the exceptional terraces (was expecting a tiny balcony, but got a stunning huge patio with a view of Empire State), and more staff at front desk.
Stayed for a while and it's the first time I thought of any hotel in NYC "if I could afford it, I'd live here".

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,180
    182
    58
    27
    15
See reviews for
354
550
55
279
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Booked the hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews and was very pleased with our 3 night stay in NYC. Hotel is fairly new and we found it to be very clean. Nice large bathroom and beverages in the frige definately a plus. We told them it was my daughter's birthday and they surprised us with an incredibly tasting chocolate layer cake. Staff was very accomodating and helpful. Location was pretty good, could hardly hear the road noise at night and heard nothing from the hallway. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle Village, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

this hotel was nicer than the plaza i loved the view of the empire state building i stayed in the penthouse very excellent

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Our family of three stayed in a premier king room over the past weekend at The Setai. The room is extremely spacious as advertised with twdo walkin closets and a nice vanity desk which my wife fully appreciated. It was 100 degrees outside so the free refreshments in the fridge was a welcomed amenity. I always felt that top hotels are too mean to charge five bucks for an in room soda on top of five hundred dollars for a regular room. Breakfast was included in our room rate and they were very flexible with the billing, netting off what we ordered vs. the billed amount in the package. The food was good and a la cate only, we enjoyed the tranquility of the restaurant which is a far cry from the hustle n bustle of the typical buffet breakfast. The staffs were all very friendly and warm, which I felt was much more welcoming than the rigid politeness of some of the old style hotels on the upper east side. Location is obviously very good, within walking distance of multiple subway stations which I must say (the NYC subway) has been further improved since I was there a few years ago. Bath room fixture is top notch and the warm air coming out from under the sink, warming your feet n the marble floor is particularly thoughtful. I'm sure I will enjoy that even more if it was cold outside. The gym is a bit small but they have a yoga room which was perfect for me practising my taichi but on a week day with more business travellers it may be a problem.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Sorry - but I'm going to rave...
This hotel was AMAZING!!
My husband and I have done some serious travelling the past 3 years, and we both agree that even though we've stayed in beautiful hotels with great service, this was by far the best!
The location is unbeatable - Fifth Avenue, just 3 blocks from the Empire State Building - surrounded by cafes and shops etc, on route for numerous buses, and a 5 or so minute walk to the subway.
If you don't feel like catching a taxi, bus or subway - the hotel has a complementary car (first in - first served basis) which will take you basically anywhere in Manhattan between 10am - 10pm. Sooo convenient!!
We stayed in an Avenue Apartment Suite for a week, and it was amazing. Beautiful decor and great size. It has a small kitchenette and washer/ dryer which was excellent for a week's stay.
Another excellent feature was complementary fridge items. I know it sounds pety, but we've been to so many places where you pay heaps of money and they still charge you for water. The Setai was almost like home...
The service was beyond excellent. From the daily room servicing (they would bring you snacks every afternoon) to the incredible reception staff we could not say 1 bad thing about anything.
Their personal assistants (especially Sohee and Kimberley) were amazing, and helped make the say so much better! We live in the UAE which has an impossible postal service, so I had ordered several packages to be delivered to the hotel during our stay. They were more than happy to collect them for us.
They have an excellent restaurant (Ai Fiori) - food is outstanding, and a very nice bar on ground floor as well.
Honestly - wasn't the cheapest stay, but it was well worth the money for a week's amazing comfort in NYC...
Will definitely go back again!!!

Room Tip: If you can pay the bit more, go for the Apartment Suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingham
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

The hotel was in an excellent location....3 minutes walk to the Empire State Building, 10 minutes walk to the Rockefeller Center, 15 minutes walk to August Wilson Theatre to see Jersey Boys, 25 minutes walk to Central Park and 4 minutes walk to get the Hop on Hop off bus which we found to be excellent value (we negotiated 4 days for the price of 3). A previous comment was made about the $94 credit for breakfast (per couple)......you CAN have anything off the menu up to the value of $94 (remember to factor in the 18% service charge and taxes) it's not rocket science........you'd have to go overboard with the amount of food ordered to greatly exceed this credit !! The staff were, without exception, happy, friendly and helpful with one outstanding member of staff being the lovely Manuela. We thoroughly enjoyed the meal we had in the hotel restaurant Ai Fiori for my birthday.......just one little blip when a side dish was forgotten and arrived a little too late to be enjoyed with our main course. The hotel is modern, contemporary and spotless. I would rate it as a very good 4 star but not quite up to the standard of other 5 stars we have stayed in around the world. Couple of negatives which are very minor but hopefully will be addresed by management after reading this review .... the coffee at breakfast was never hot and the nuts occasionally offered in the bar when we had cocktails tasted stale. We didn't have chance to try the spa, unfortunately, but we checked it out and it looked very nice. We caught the NYC Airporter bus from JFK ($28 per person round trip) to Grand Central Station and then got on the complimentary minibus which dropped us outside of the hotel. The hotel complimentary car service took us back to Grand Central to pick up the bus back to the airport which run every 30 minutes. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Happy belated birthday!
Thank you so very much for your wonderful feedback. We always appreciate it when one of our outstanding team members - in this case Manuela - is mentioned by our guests.
We have noted your comment regarding the coffee temperature and the nuts in our Bar.
We are very much looking forward welcoming you back to The Setai Fifth Avenue and hope you will have the opportunity to sample our exceptional Auriga Spa.

Again, thank you for your review.

Sincerely,

Anne-J Maurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Booked a Family Staycation for the weekend and the Avenue Apartment we were in was really fantastic. Beautiful view, beautiful decor, great ameneties, and more space than I could have imagined. Perfect for kids - the in unit washer dryer was fantastic, I was able to do all our laundry before we left. Loved being able to use the house car and the complimentary drinks. And not being charged for wireless like you are at so many other luxury hotels is just a very sensible perk. A lot is made by the hotel (on the website) over the Pretasi linens but I didn't find them to be all that special. There was nothing wrong with them, just not great. The giant fluffy towels, however, were very nice. My husband said the mattress hurt his back. I didn't find it that bad, but I've definitely stayed in chain hotels that seem to have the comfy bed thing figured out nicely. Turn down service was great.

Room Tip: The Avenue Apartments are lovely, huge and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#8 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,569 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#4 of 464 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 2,962 reviews
Upper East Side
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#2 of 464 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
#3 of 464 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 4,080 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at The New York Palace
The Towers at The New York Palac...
#14 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#22 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue

Address: 400 Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10018 (Formerly The Setai Fifth Avenue)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue 5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracefully complementing Manhattan's luxurious Fifth Avenue and boldly accenting New York City's famous skyline, Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue is a renewed celebration of sophistication and style. Soaring more than sixty stories above the city, Langham Place, Fifth Avenue represents the new heart of the world's most inspired metropolis. Accommodations exude the very essence of luxury and elegance. Duxiana beds, Pratesi linens, and floor-to-ceiling rain showers leave guests breathing easy, if not breathless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, EasyToBook, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.