We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea Mews Guest House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chelsea Mews Guest House
Save
You added Chelsea Mews Guest House to your Saves list
344 W 15, New York City, NY 10011 (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 96 New York City B&B and Inns
Malaga, Spain
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“superb location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

wasn´t quite sure what to expect given the other reviews; it was actually quite good. The area is superb and so centrally located, right by Chelsea market and plenty of eateries. The house is a bit like stepping back in time, full of antiques and interesting artwork to look at. The owners, although hardly saw them were welcoming enough and helpful. The single room was clean, good solid bed, and had all you needed. There is no housekeeping though. Shared shower and loo were fine, I was hardly there so didn´t really matter, but the best was the price! Def ok for a few nights.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
3
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed October 2013, great location, in fact the best! House is very oldie worldie, with antiques everywhere. No lift, lots of stairs and quite exhausting after a days sightseeing. You guys are great except please ensure that before arrival beds, sheets etc are changed and look and feel fresh before guests get there? Clean the bathrooms daily, and replenish what is needed in the bathrooms ie toilet rolls etc? Make more use of balcony without 'Otto'in middle of table? Allow guest to smoke outhere and enjoy a relaxed time. Gary is a great guy available to answer questions etc whenothers not around.

Room Tip: Accept you are in the heart of great Mahatten living, forget the issues and you are there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We went there in February of this year and I wish had seen some of the reviews before we booked. Totally agree about the weird guys that run this run down house.
Great location but that is about the only good this I can say about this place. Needs a complete rennovation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I planned a last minute weekend in NYC and found this to be a great value. You can't beat the location. I chose a single with a shared bath. The bed was very comfortable, and the place was very clean. Charles Lombardo, the Innkeeper is fascinating and has a multitude of colorful stories. I will definitely go back.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 5, which was very quiet. There's no TV, but I did not spend much time in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here, the service was great and the location perfect, it has an old charm feel about the building, if you into modern luxury then this is not for you. The hosts are very chatty and have a wealth of knowledge of new York better than any information you can get from the Internet or tour guides.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012 via mobile

This was our first stay in New York. The hotel is very convenient to the city with good travel links. The hotel was great and service was excellent. Staff were not as friendly and seemed a bit rushed but we had everything we needed.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hooge zwaluwe
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

After having read very bad critics, I hesitated to go there. The one person romms are really small with very good beds, one shower, one toilet and one sink for 3 rooms. It's clean, and OK for the price. Having to share stimulates contact.
They have also larger rooms with private or semi private bathroom.
I will come back

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chelsea Mews Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Mews Guest House

Address: 344 W 15, New York City, NY 10011
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan , Midtown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Chelsea Mews Guest House Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chelsea Mews Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.