We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ate weird stuff...loved it all!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Takashi

Takashi
456 Hudson Street, New York City, NY 10014-3781 (Manhattan)
(212) 414-2929
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,618 of 11,748 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Japanese, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Sylvania, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ate weird stuff...loved it all!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I ate things I never thought I would (or could)....and they were amazing!

This is our new favorite restaurant in NYC and we will eat here every time we visit.

We didn't have a reservation, but 3 of us showed up anyway to see if we could get a table. They sat us immediately with the understanding that we had about 1.5 hours to eat due to booked reservations.

We agreed and started our dining experience.

They finally kicked us out about 3 hours later after we ate half the menu and had 2 bottles of wine. ;-)

I suggest you don't even look at the menu...just ask your server to bring out the best dishes. You'll enjoy them all!

We had the Testacargot (first time I ever had balls in my mouth...and they were delicious), Beef Schmaltz Crostini (with Truffle oil - yum), 1st Stomach, 2nd Stomach, the Tongue "Experience," intestines, sweetbreads and our favorite....cheek!

Like I said...I ate stuff I never thought I could and I love every bite.

Enjoy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    15
    2
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Just go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Oh my god this is one of the beat restaurants experiences I've ever had,. If you always wanted to try something you thought you never would this is the place to do it. But you have to like beef!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Over Promise, Under Deliver”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Have heard several reviews of this place and thought I'd check it out. Walked in and sat at the bar in this tiny little place. Things started out fine but once I saw the menu, I wasn't wowed. Mostly oddities on the menu, at least for the American palette. Tried the steak and intestines, along with a beef tartar. The tartar was fine, but tasted only like sesame (oil and seeds). The intestines were incredibly chewy to the point on being inedible, and the steak fell flat. $145 for an app and two entrees, and left hungry. Ended up grabbing a dog at Gray's Payapa and wished I had just gone there in the first place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“2 hour time limit in table”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

went for dinner with 5 friends. food was ok. atmosphere ok. but after spending $800 and when we asked to order more we were told our 2 hour time limit was up and they kicked us out. We were all very disappointed and dismayed after spending so much. sadly, we won't be returning.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, USA
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Japanese BBQ of both familiar and exotic meats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This was one of the most interesting dining experiences we have ever had. We were a party of 4. Menu choices range from prepared appetizers and snacks/entrees to grill your own meat. We chose the grill your own, and tried beef belly (delicious!!), sweetbreads, beef large intestines, beef liver, and beef testicles. Not for the faint of heart (although they have traditional Korean kalbi etc as well). Prices are steep (just 1-2 bites of meat each person for $15-$20). Rice-bombs were interesting (sushi rice wrapped in either a sesame leaf or nori) but not that innovative. Uni appetizer was a one-bite piece of heaven, as was the $20 foie gras-stuffed mini Kobe burger drizzled with chocolate sauce. Came here at the advice of an Anthony Bourdain episode.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Takashi also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Takashi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Takashi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.