We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My experience very different to your other reviewers” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Open Door Gastropub

Open Door Gastropub
110 John St, New York City, NY 10038-3201 (Financial District)
212-608-0200
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,030 of 11,186 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Financial District
Description: The Open Door is a Gastropub, which is a pub that serves high quality pub food. We have an extensive beer list with almost 30 beers on tap and over 60 by bottle, many of which are hard to find. Our menu features duck sliders, truffle blue cheese fries, Monkfish 'n' Chips, Duck Confit, Salmon, Scallops, and Black Truffle Mac 'n' Cheese just to name a few.Hope to see you soon for a beer.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
302 reviews 302 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“My experience very different to your other reviewers”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

I went to Open Door on a very chilly Sunday evening. Hardly any diners, a few people at the bar. Went, 1) because it had reasonable reviews and 2) it was near my hotel.

The hostess/waitress started quite efficiently, offering me a booth, but it went downhill from there.

She seemed to lose interest when I did not want anything to drink other than water (on a doctor ordered no booze regime). I ordered crab cake from the starters menu and an Asian style prawn and beef dish as main. She seemed surprised I wanted them to come separately.

The crab cake had far too much sauce - on the top - so there was no chance to remove it. Otherwise ok.

The Asian style prawn and beef had a small salad, also smothered in a dressing (not offered a choice - I prefer plain), the beef was quite tough and they must have had a big order of soy sauce and were trying to use it up as it was drowned in it. She asked if everything was ok, and did not even offer a "sorry" when I mentioned the excess of soy. I drank lots of water!!

She did not serve any food - that was left to what I supposed was one of the kitchen staff.

Next time I am very cold I will wrap up more, walk past and go to Seaport

Lucky to get a "poor" rating

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    18
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great for brunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

This was a perfect place for our family's brunch. The food was good, the service was prompt and friendly, and my boys were completely enamoured by all of the Christmas trees around the dining room. They don't have a kids' menu per se, but they will make any entree "kid size", and actually we just put together a bunch of sides for a great meal for them.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Place!! Has yet to disappoint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

I have only eaten at this place on weekends during their brunch hour which is great! They offer a small brunch menu on sat and sun and the best part is if you like morning. Cocktails the first one if on them as long as you order an entree.

Both times the food has been delicous from their blue cheese truffle fries to their banana walnut pancakes!!!

The atmosphere is fun they have a nice bar are with high booths and two big screen TVs but if your looking to relax a little more they have a quieter area in the back with tables an chairs.

It's a great place for everyone on the weekend whether you are by your self or with the whole family.

Service was exceptional they are very friendly and always very close if needed

They also have free wifi but no one knows the password

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Upscale Pub Food but at NYC prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Been to the Open Door a few times. I find the food is always good. Love the sliders and the fries. The service is always friendly and prompt. The grilled chicken salad is unusually bland. A little marinade could go a long way. The Bleu Cheese fries are a treat.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great for a drink and brunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

If you're looking for a brunch place, lunch or even just a beer, this place will not disappoint. Omelettes were great as was the steak and eggs. Large variety of beer on tap, excellent mimosas. Will definitely be back.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Open Door Gastropub also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Open Door Gastropub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Open Door Gastropub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.