We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Anniversary Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz 5th Avenue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Andaz 5th Avenue to your Saves list
Andaz 5th Avenue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #41 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Darien, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Anniversary Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

My husband and I just visited the Andaz while celebrating our anniversary. It was a wonderful hotel. It is clean and modern, and the service is excellent. They even left us a note and some fruit for our anniversary. The room was a great size - especially in NYC (we stayed in one of the extra-large king view rooms) - and the view of the NYC Public Library was beautiful. The bathroom was also huge and very well-equipped. All-in-all, it was a fantastic hotel, staff, and experience. The bar downstairs is also a great spot for cocktails and/or dinner - we stopped in for a drink and had an awesome time. We highly recommend the Andaz!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andaz5thAveMgr, Assistant Director of Rooms at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Katherine B,

Happy Anniversary!
Thank you for staying with us on this very special occasion.

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Hoping to see you again soon.

My very best,
Ratna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,097
    338
    99
    34
    13
See reviews for
303
648
95
307
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tiburon, California, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Enter the lobby of Andaz 5th Avenue off one of the busiest streets in manhattan and you'll forget the noise and crowds immediately. it is truly an oasis. The hotel's public rooms are all stylish and elegant but very warm. Hosts offer coffee, water or a glass of wine while you're checking in and the place just feels good, it feels like you're really in NY but with a lovely soft landing! We had a suite in the North Tower and it was beautifully laid out and again, elegant but comfortable. Bathroom is fantastic - huge and great amenities and towels. lots of good light too which is hard in this part of town. staff is great looking and genuine in service - everything we needed was secured quickly and with a smile.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

The Andaz 5th Ave surpassed almost all of our expectations.
The rooms were huge (we were in a king deluxe room - there was a king size bed, a couch, a desk, and plenty of space to move around). The bathroom was equally gigantic. There was no soaking tub, but we never take baths anyway, so the gigantic rain shower worked perfectly! There was a his and hers sink with plenty of space.
I wouldn't recommend it for people sharing a room who need bathroom privacy as the bathroom doors are kind of like a long wall of multiple sliding doors so there is not much privacy and unless you leave the doors open, it could be a bit awkward at night. Perfect for a couple or friends who don't care about privacy.
The free (water / soft drinks / snacks) mini bar was a huge hit - they had really delicious local goodies which was a nice touch. They refilled it daily as well.
The staff was very courteous and checked us in and out in no time.
The only thing that did not meet expectations if that the lobby is currently undergoing renovations so it can be a bit loud down there (but these renovations should be over very soon). The room however was very quiet (despite facing 5th Ave) and we had a beautiful view of the NY Public Library.
I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to stay in midtown.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the NY Public Library / Bryant Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I was 6-month pregnant and weird as it may sound I was craving the cold weather- as we love New York, we decided to go in January. It was definitely freezing cold. :)
We arrived at the Andaz- the reception was a bit unusual, as there is no traditional reception desk, but it was very modern and the staff was helpful. We got a room overlooking a courtyard, which I was not overly happy with, so we asked to move to a different room. This was not a problem and we got moved very soon the same evening to a room with a street-view.
The hotel is quite big and seem to have good facilities- although we didn't eat in the restaurant, there is one on the ground floor and as I was walking around the hotel I saw another kitchen/restaurant, but not sure if it was only for conferences.
There is an unlimited supplies of apples and coffee for free in the hotel, which is great. I was jetlagged and kept waking up around 4am and didn't want to stay in our room so that I don't wake up my husband. There are great little areas in the hotel where you can sit and read a book.
There is a gym in the basement- for a hotel it's fairly well equipped- as far as I remember there are about 3 treadmills, exercise bikes and other cardio equipment. There are other things as well (weights etc.).
The room is very nice. There is a fantastic double shower/wet room with 2 shower heads, one on each side. There are 2 basins and plenty of space in the bathroom- it's really nice and modern. The toilet is semi-separated from the rest of the bathroom with a half-wall.
The room is nice as well- there is a very decent size double bed, bedside tables, a desk, a chair and as far as I remember a sofa.
There was some nice chocolate and some other nice snacks/drinks for free that was provided each day.
The room was immaculately clean. There is shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and body lotion provided- very nice all of them.
There was plenty of room for all of our things- we stayed for a week and brought a lot of clothes and putting them in the wardrobe was not a problem at all.
The location is VERY good- there are a number of places around to eat- we fetched bagels and things every day and had proper New York breakfast.
Everything was just the way you would want a hotel stay to be- comfortable, relaxing, quiet and clean rooms, perfect location.
It was one of the best trips of my life.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andaz5thAveMgr, Assistant Director of Rooms at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Englandreviewer1111,

Thank you for staying with us and for your great review.

How nice that you spend your baby moon with us and had a relaxing and memorable time.
All the best for your family and we are hoping to see you with the new born very soon :)

Kind regards,
Ratna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I've never stayed in a hotel quite like this one. So if you like a traditional hotel, this might not be for you. I loved everything from the non traditional lobby, to the modern rooms - which were quite spacious by Manhattan standards. I stayed in one room with my two sons, and one son was able to sleep on the couch it was so large. I loved the shower and the lounge downstairs. Mostly, I loved how quiet the room was. If you've ever stayed in NYC, you know that's nearly impossible to find. A winner!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andaz5thAveMgr, Assistant Director of Rooms at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear happyfamily66,

Thank you for your nice review.
We're happy to know that you and your family enjoyed your time with us.

Come and visit us again very soon.

Kind regards,
Ratna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Great hotel, fabulous location, fantastic rooms. The bed was really comfortable. The kitchenette was just the right size. The bathroom was amazing. The views from the living room were stunning. Such a great place to crash and relax after a busy day in the city. And it was so surprising how quiet our room was with all of the traffic and city noises outside.

Room Tip: We had a side room with two walls of windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andaz5thAveMgr, Assistant Director of Rooms at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear PTOGreer,

Thank you for your review.
We're happy to hear that you had a good time at Andaz 5th Avenue!

Hoping to see you and your family back again soon.

All the best,
Ratna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chessington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
155 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We had booked a suite and got room 1213, a corner suite overlooking the back of the hotel. The room was large, with floor to ceiling windows, electric black out blinds and net roller blinds. There was a lounge area with two sofas, TV, dining table, huge fridge and sink/coffee area, coffee m/c (no kettle) behind folding doors. The bedroom had a large bed, TV, wardrobe and cupboard area with a safe. The bathroom was off the bedroom, with no door, a separate WC and shower room, no bath. A/C was very effective and the WiFi excellent, free and fast. The location, opposite the Public Library on Fifth Avenue was fantastic - a short walk one way to shops, MOMA etc and a short walk the other way to the Empire State Building. We were greeted with bottles of water on arrival and wine was served between 6 and 9pm in the lobby; also tea and coffee are available 24/7. No turn-down service. The staff were efficient but not particularly friendly (on one occasion my key didn't work, the "host" told me her computer said it was working, asked me how I was using it and insisted on coming up to 12th floor with me - when it still didn't work! Only then did she give me a new one!).
Room service was fast and very good: chicken schnitzel and fries, but we didn't eat any other meals here

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andaz 5th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz 5th Avenue

Address: 485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#34 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#36 Green Hotel in New York City
#53 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz 5th Avenue 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 5th avenue at 41st street, Andaz 5th Avenue is in the fashionable Bryant Park area of midtown Manhattan directly across the street from the New York Public Library. Guests will enjoy easy access to iconic New York attractions, like Times Square, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, Herald Square and the Theater District. For a little retail therapy, we are within walking distance to endless shopping along 5th Avenue and are near subways to take you to other neighborhoods and the outer boroughs. The Andaz experience begins the moment you arrive and are greeted by one of our Hosts, who will check you in via handheld PC. Art work can be found throughout the hotel, whether it's 14-foot murals by Carlos Capelan, which glow like fire through the windows on 41st Street, or our ever-changing tbd Art series on the doors to the bar downstairs. But we don't just want you to look at beautiful things - we want to let you live the beautiful life as well. As part of that promise, we offer amenities like free Wi-Fi, a mini-bar stocked with complimentary non-alcoholic drinks and snacks, and 6,400 sq. Ft. Of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Amex, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Andaz 5th Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz 5th Avenue Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz 5th Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.