We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, Chic hotel with large rooms in New York City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz 5th Avenue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Andaz 5th Avenue to your Saves list
Andaz 5th Avenue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Good Morning Sunshine
Ranked #32 of 459 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Temecula, California, USA
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Modern, Chic hotel with large rooms in New York City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The Andaz 5th Avenue is a hotel that exudes ambience . From the minute you walk into the lobby and are greeted with an IPAD holding staff member for your check in, you know that your experience will be different. The hotel design and the staff exemplify a artsy, eclectic feel. The location is superb. The rooms are designed to meet Hyatt's new standard for their Andaz line. It is a contemporary, upscale, boutique type of feel. The bathrooms are uniquely designed with sleek lines and modern updated fixtures. Our room was quite over-sized for hotel rooms in New York. The bathroom as well. All the towels and linens are top quality. The decor reflects the location and the warm tones are comfortable. We travel often to New York for business and we will be looking forward to future stays at this hotel. It is a unique positive new experience and not your typical five star hotel. However, it does deserve the rating of five stars as it is not only luxury but feels like a smaller boutique type hotel with wonderful personal service.

Room Tip: Request a room that overlooks the library across the street. A nice view at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,017
    304
    90
    32
    10
See reviews for
279
594
85
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thailand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We had a small trouble looking for the hotel entrance, was not sure the dark passage on the 41st side led to the lobby as there was no one standing there when we came. Anyway, once we got our luggage in, check-in was casual and quick. The high ceiling loft room we had was perfect in every way, new, clean, good size and highly functional, with a small separate working space and two flat screen TVs (one in the bedroom and one in the working area.)

The bathroom is really large and very well designed with modern and functional accessories, can be widely open or closed with accordion folding doors. All bathroom amenities are provided including robes, slippers, toothpaste, etc.The curtains, shades and electricity are sort of a touch switch system. The bed and sheets are high quality. Free Wifi works well, elevators are quick, we never had to wait longer than 15 sec. All these make a very comfortable and convenient stay.

That non-alcoholic mini bar is free is a nice addition. We have not tried the hotel restaurant as the location is opposite to the NY Library near Bryant Park, with a number of nice cafes/bakeries like Eric Kayser, Le Pain quotidian, and Bryant Park Cafe nearby. The bell/check-in staffs are friendly and helpful. Upon check-out, one of them efficiently help arrange for our parking and later loading with a big smile. Thank you. We will come back the next time if the price/night for the loft room is not over $500, we felt our $330++ rate was a deal.

Green Features: Good, we support linen reuse and other energy saving programs from Andaz.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andaz5thAveMgr, Assistant Director of Rooms at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear ChiaraJ,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our hotel!
Great to hear that you had a good time and enjoyed your stay.

Next time make sure to try our restaurant "The Shop" for breakfast, brunch, lunch or dinner and try one of our handcrafted cocktails in "The Bar Downstairs".

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Ratna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We recently spent a couple of days at Andaz Hayatt. We were really looking forward to relaxing after a long journey and so chose to stay at a high end hotel hoping for a peaceful time.

The hotel is located centrally and it is stylishly decorated. The room was elegant and clean with free mini bar, except alcoholic drinks. We would have had a wonderful stay, however on the 1st night we were kept awake by a large party next door to us, who returned to their room around 2am, played loud music, were shouting and partying. The walls are extremely thin so we could hear everything. We were unable to sleep and called reception. Reception were helpful, soon after the neighbors stopped the loud noise, however we could still hear people talking on the hallway etc.

This hotel is a hit and miss. If you don't mind thin walls and occasionally losing sleep then it is probably a good option.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andaz5thAveMgr, Assistant Director of Rooms at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Cristina M,

Thank you for your honest feedback in regards to your recent stay with us.

I am disappointed that your visit was disturbed by the guests residing next door on your first night and wish there was more we could have to done to make the situation less inconvenient for you. I would like to let you know that we have added these comments to your personal profile to ensure you will be placed in a quiet room so that you will not experience this same situation again.

I look forward to hearing back from you and should you wish to discuss in further detail, do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind regards,
Ratna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Anselmo, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Midtown is not exactly known for fantastic hotels, but Andaz as always, scores high. Premium property, with premium rooms and premium amenities (but expect to pay a premium price). On site restaurant is good, not great. Staff friendly, courteous and helpful. Location is fantastic (just a few blocks to any major NYC subway line and across from NY Public Library. Rooms are impeccable, and quiet.

When travelling in NYC, expect rooms to be more "European" in size - you have options, but they are going to cost you - square footage in Manhattan comes at a steep price.

Always my first choice in midtown.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We arrived at the Andaz to be greeted by a casual check in experience complete with glass of wine. Our rooms over looked the New York Public Library through to Times Square. I think they said the building was previously designer, Tommy Hilfiger headquarters. Loft style ceilings and window, huge bathroom complete with foot spa. Lots of lovely boutique touches in the room. Restaurant food and service were sublime. Perfect place to do all the midtown activities, in the centre of things but having the library and park (which had twilight movies in the park running while we were there) made it feel quite open. Great start to our New York stay.

Room Tip: I think they would all be good but a view of the library with glimpse of Empire State building to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andaz5thAveMgr, Assistant Director of Rooms at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Culinarykids,

Thank you for sharing your perfect NYC experience at Andaz 5th Avenue :)

Hoping to see you back again soon on your next trip to the city!

All the best,
Ratna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This has been my second time at the fabulous hotel on 5th Avenue directly opposite the Public Library, meters away from Bryant Park, Times Square and Grand Central Station with the most amazing views and simply best location in the heart of NYC.
From the arrival to the departure the HOSTS take care of you with everything that you require. In our case excellent ideas and suggestions for visits, excursions, restaurants and much more.
The hotel is very hip and trendy but also still warm and friendly towards families with young kids like in our case.
We very fortunate to stay in probably the most incredible suite with a huge terrace on the 11th floor looking straight over to the Empire State Building.
The restaurant has a fantastic breakfast and lunch menu focusing on local produce and producers of very high quality.
Simply got to try it out and see for yourself.

Green Features: The hotel has a great program on highlighting and using product only from producers surrounding New York which has a big environmental impact. They also have a Linen and towel reuse program
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Everything was perfect for my wife and I . The room was comfortable,super clean and quiet.
I don't know how they do it but this is not a small hotel, yet it feels intimate . I suppose the care the staff takes with it's visitors has a lot do do with it. Additionally, the restaurant is terrific, so you should at least try one meal on site.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andaz5thAveMgr, Assistant Director of Rooms at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Rogukulele,

Thank you for the compliments!

Hoping to see you back again at Andaz 5th Avenue soon.

Best regards,
Ratna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andaz 5th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz 5th Avenue

Address: 485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in New York City
#25 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#29 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#30 Green Hotel in New York City
#40 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz 5th Avenue 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 5th avenue at 41st street, Andaz 5th Avenue is in the fashionable Bryant Park area of midtown Manhattan directly across the street from the New York Public Library. Guests will enjoy easy access to iconic New York attractions, like Times Square, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, Herald Square and the Theater District. For a little retail therapy, we are within walking distance to endless shopping along 5th Avenue and are near subways to take you to other neighborhoods and the outer boroughs. The Andaz experience begins the moment you arrive and are greeted by one of our Hosts, who will check you in via handheld PC. Art work can be found throughout the hotel, whether it's 14-foot murals by Carlos Capelan, which glow like fire through the windows on 41st Street, or our ever-changing tbd Art series on the doors to the bar downstairs. But we don't just want you to look at beautiful things - we want to let you live the beautiful life as well. As part of that promise, we offer amenities like free Wi-Fi, a mini-bar stocked with complimentary non-alcoholic drinks and snacks, and 6,400 sq. Ft. Of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Andaz 5th Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz 5th Avenue Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz 5th Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.