We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Andaz” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz 5th Avenue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Andaz 5th Avenue to your Saves list
Andaz 5th Avenue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Good Morning Sunshine
Ranked #27 of 454 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Andaz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

The room. Was a good size, view of public library , through very dirty windows. Room could have been cleaner, staff were very nice and the location was good, also room had very good beds and not a lot of noise, we had just finished a cruise so was not in New York to eat, but they sent us to a good thai resturant , called room service and to john pizza,I suppose for the price of hotels in New York it was probable a pretty good deal, also very nice wine from chili served in the evening.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    987
    298
    88
    29
    10
See reviews for
270
576
85
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Opelika, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

My now husband and I went to NYC in February of last year. I spent days searching info about hotels to find the best one. I have high anxiety about staying at hotels because of the potential for a lack of cleanliness. We arrived and it was even better than the reviews! This is hands down the best hotel I've EVER stayed at and probably ever will. The rooms are modern, spacious, and very clean! My husband proposed to me on this trip, and the staff at Andaz helped make it as memorable as possible. When we arrived they offered us a free upgrade, and it had an amazing view. My husband had the concierge help him set up reservations for us to go to dinner and let him know he planned to propose right before the dinner. The concierge let the restaurant know and we were given amazing service and congratulatory dessert at the restaurant. When we arrived back to our room the following night there was champagne, strawberries, and a sweet note from the staff. Because of this hotel, we had the best trip we've probably ever taken.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andaz5thAveMgr, Assistant Director of Rooms at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear kgidd14,

Thank you for your great review. Conratulations on your wedding!
We are very excited for you and feel honored that Andaz 5th Avenue was part of your very special trip last year.

Hoping to see you again very soon to celebrate your anniversary.

All the best,
Ratna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed at the Andaz for 4 nights for our trip to NYC to celebrate my wife's 40th birthday. Smooth check-in courtious staff, best of all the location of the hotel is perfect. Near enough all the major tourist spots are walking distance. The hotel grew on us day by day. We would defintely go back.
Special thanks to Joy, Zara and JD who were very helpfull at all times.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor - 14th, amazing views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andaz5thAveMgr, Assistant Director of Rooms at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Jaggy_boy,

Thank you for staying with us for this special occasion. Happy belated birthday to your wife!

I'm very happy to hear that Joy, Zara and JD took such good care of you and that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the compliments.

Looking forward to welcoming you back. Maybe for your birthday this time?

Best regards,
Ratna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed with my fiance for 4 night at the end of May 2014. We knew what to expect at check-in based upon the reviews. We stayed in the north tower, which was great and there was virtually no street noise, though you do not get a view if that's important to you. The rooms, as others have mentioned, are modern, clean, and simultaneously soothing (the blackout shades help). Higher-end toiletries, snacks and n/a beverages plus Grumpy's coffee (delicious!) in the morning were nice touches that I wish more hotels would include in their rates.

In regards to the staff, Joe was incredibly helpful and accommodating during our stay. Other staff members were also helpful, offering advice and suggestions when we inquired. A note: the staff is very unobtrusive, which other reviewers may have interpreted as aloof or rude. I never found any of the Andaz staff to be rude, I just found that most left you alone unless/until you approached them. The location for a first-time visitor was perfect, close to subways and major attractions while being able to retreat into the Andaz at the end of a day of sightseeing. We prefer the vibe of the Chelsea/Meatpacking district, but if we needed to stay in midtown, I wouldn't hesitate to stay at Andaz again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andaz5thAveMgr, Assistant Director of Rooms at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Linds B,

Thank you for choosing Andaz 5th Avenue for your NYC retreat.

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed our service and had a memorable stay. I will make sure to pass on your compliments to Joe.

All the best,
Ratna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We have just returned from a short stay in New York and each time we visit we stay at a different Hotel. This time our trip was made just that little bit more special by being at this marvellous hotel. For NYC regulars like ourselves or for people making their first visit, it's position on 5th Ave is terrific. We stayed in the Splash suite, which is a spacious 787 square feet corner suite with views overlooking the NYC Public library and the Empire State Building. Amenities included a marble bathroom with amazing walk-in rain shower, separate free standing bath, 54" inch HDTV and complimentary soft drinks and snacks. Only downside was a slight hiccup with room service on our first morning and the windows could have done with a bit of a clean! Otherwise the room and service was excellent and thanks to JD for arranging our upgrade at a reduced cost. The splash suite is for couples but we had another bed put up in the main seating area that fitted perfectly. Thanks to the whole team at the Andaz for making it such a great trip!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parlin, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I booked a weekend for my boyfriend and I at Andaz 5th Ave., and I'm so glad I did! The location was phenomenal. I've lived in New York and its surroundings for most of my life, and many things I enjoy are in the Bryant Park area. This hotel put me in the middle of all of that.

The room itself was beautifully appointed. I fell in love with the design: modern, clean lines, classy yet remarkably comfortable. Lots of yummy snacks and non-alcoholic beverages in the room at no extra charge. Great toiletries as well.

I'd love to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Stayed at this amazing hotel from 24th May to the 28th. The hotel is brilliantly located. It's extremely clean, decor is amazing. We checked in early evening to be greeted with a free glass of very good wine. Shown to our room and our cases taken straight to the room. There was a problem with our room as we were supposed to have a twin room, (2girls). They only had a large single which had 1 queen bed. They rectified this by putting in an extra single and taking 25% of our total bill. The service we received was fantastic. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Meals in the restaurant were very good. We had a continental breakfast one morning which was 2 croissants, 2 glasses of orange juice and 2 teas. The charge was over 50dollars! We thought this was a bit over the top! Especially as we had exactly the same in Pret across the road for less than 15dollars for both of us. All in all I would definitely recommend and would revisit. The only thing I would ask for if I returned would be tea & coffee making facilities in the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andaz 5th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz 5th Avenue

Address: 485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#25 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#26 Business Hotel in New York City
#27 Family Hotel in New York City
#29 Green Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz 5th Avenue 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 5th avenue at 41st street, Andaz 5th Avenue is in the fashionable Bryant Park area of midtown Manhattan directly across the street from the New York Public Library. Guests will enjoy easy access to iconic New York attractions, like Times Square, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, Herald Square and the Theater District. For a little retail therapy, we are within walking distance to endless shopping along 5th Avenue and are near subways to take you to other neighborhoods and the outer boroughs. The Andaz experience begins the moment you arrive and are greeted by one of our Hosts, who will check you in via handheld PC. Art work can be found throughout the hotel, whether it's 14-foot murals by Carlos Capelan, which glow like fire through the windows on 41st Street, or our ever-changing tbd Art series on the doors to the bar downstairs. But we don't just want you to look at beautiful things - we want to let you live the beautiful life as well. As part of that promise, we offer amenities like free Wi-Fi, a mini-bar stocked with complimentary non-alcoholic drinks and snacks, and 6,400 sq. Ft. Of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Andaz 5th Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz 5th Avenue Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz 5th Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.