We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lower Midtown Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz 5th Avenue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Andaz 5th Avenue to your Saves list
Andaz 5th Avenue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Good Morning Sunshine
Ranked #29 of 455 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Gatos, CA
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
“Great Lower Midtown Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Wow, I was suprised to enjoy a Hyatt this much! We used points to upgrade to a suite and lucked out with a huge two bedroom unit. Still not cheap, but lots of extras make it a good value.
What really sets this hotel apart is the staff. Everyone really went out of their way to help and greet guests. Andaz trains the staff to multi-task, so the person who checks you in also gets your cab or books your dinner reservations. Everyone worked very hard, but seem to really enjoy the guests and their jobs. It was so nice to be greeted in the elevator by different staff members and they actually want to know if you are enjoying your stay (which we were!).
It was terrific having free coffee in the morning, snacks in you room and wine in the evening. Guests were all hanging out in the lobby areas checking e-mail or reading the paper, a very comfortable place to be.
The location was good, as you could walk to Union Square or the theater district, even Central Park. Plus the huge park behind the library is beautiful with lots of snack options. There were not too many great dining options close by enjoyed the bar at Aureole and lots of light meals at Le Pain Quotidien. We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel restaurant, which was good and convenient, but not killer (amazing bread though).
Will definitely stay here again and recommend Andaz to friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelia S, General Manager at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Sparky22,

Thanks for your review! Our guests are often surprised of how residential & comfortable our hotel feels in the hustle & bustle of midtown manhattan. Glad to hear that you'll be back & we look forward to taking care of you and your friends.

My very best,
Cornelia Samara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    989
    299
    88
    29
    10
See reviews for
270
579
85
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Nice rooms (biggest room we have ever had in New York that wasn't a suite, helpful staff and centrally located in midtown. Really enjoyed this hotel for a few days of sight seeing, bed was really comfy and bathroom (shower especially) very nice!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This was our second visit to the hotel in as many years; the rooms are really generously sized--and the hotel was always busy. The restaurant serves really nice food, though slightly overpriced for what it is. The wi-fi was free and fast, and the snacks (which used to be more generous than they are now) and non-alcoholic drinks are also free in your room. I'd say that the cleaning service was slightly irregular but nothing was problematic at all. The reception can be busy, and the concierge service is not stellar. But then we are in NY regularly and know the area reasonably well. If you book in advance, months in advance, the hotel's rates are decent. But once those rates are gone, it does become pretty pricey, and it is possible to stay nearby at even nicer places for what the Andaz charges. All and all, we were really happy with our (four-night) stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed here during the NYC Marathon. It was a great and central location for the bus pick up for runners was on 5th Avenue, across from the Public Library. Similar to other Andaz Hotels, it has the informality of a hotel reception where they come to you, and offer you a glass a wine upon checking in. Nice touch.

The room are nice and open, but there are drawbacks.
- Our room view was limited. We were on the north tower on the 10th floor, which faced other rooms. Keep in mind, the windows are not mirrored or tinted, so you will see other guests naked walking around in their rooms and doing other things (which we did), and they can likely see you of you do the same. Draw your electronic curtains back.
- The bathroom was huge, with a huge shower. Bathroom amenities are nice, with C.O. Bigelow products and by far, the best hotel hairdryer I've used.
-The storage for our room was limited, because we did not have a closet, but one narrow armoire of sorts for hanged items, and only the nighstands as our drawers.
- There was a nice mini bar, with non alcoholic beverages and snacks free.

Overall, the hotel is great. The hotel restaurant is surprisingly good with a very rustic menu. Their juice options are decent, and really cater to a juice cleanse diet.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Top rated in all aspects. Celebrating our fortieth anniversary and much appreciated the champagne. Very attentive, friendly staff. We asked for a quiet room and got it, no traffic or guest noises. Free wi-fi, snacks and non-alcoholic beverages in the room, unheard of in a metropolitan hotel. Our room was not huge but the very high ceilings made it seem spacious. The bath was a nice size, two sinks, well-appointed. Would definitely stay there again and at their other sites, if available.

Room Tip: An "inside room" seemed to be a good solution for quiet. No view but we were only in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We arrived in New York in the middle of rush hour and were pretty frazzled by the time we arrived at the hotel. We almost missed the hotel as it is so inconspicuous but when we entered the hotel we were pleasantly suprised. It isn't 'plush' but very modern and open. We immediately checked in and taken to our room which was plenty big enough for our weekend trip. The bathroom was effectively a marble wet room with toilet and double vanity unit but was lovely. The view from the huge hotel windows wasn't good but as we were right on 5th Avenue nothing was too far away (except the ferry to Staten Island which was much further than we thought, but that is another story!) and so it wasn't an issue. The staff were extremely helpful and attentive without being a nuisance and nothing was too much trouble. The mini bar was free for snacks and non-alcholic beverages and coffee and soft drinks were available free on request all day. 'Happy hour' between 6pm - 9pm also meant free red or white wine for guests which was a very nice touch. As we were only in New York for three nights we ate in the hotel restuarant one evening (on arrival) and was pleasantly suprised because although the menu wasn't extensive, the food was well presented and tasty. The prices weren't cheap but certainly not extortionate by New York standards. The hotel was well kept and clean.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount laurel
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed here last November as well and have to say that I love this hotel even more than before. Great staff, very friendly and helpful, nothing is a bother. We had a balcony suite on the 14th floor with a view of the NY Public Library. Nice amenities in the room, free soda, waters, snacks, morning paper(s), great bathrooms etc.(this comes with every room no matter the type). The location is great for theater or shopping or both in our case. Not the cheapest hotel but well worth the extra $.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andaz 5th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz 5th Avenue

Address: 485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#25 Family Hotel in New York City
#26 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#26 Business Hotel in New York City
#29 Green Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz 5th Avenue 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 5th avenue at 41st street, Andaz 5th Avenue is in the fashionable Bryant Park area of midtown Manhattan directly across the street from the New York Public Library. Guests will enjoy easy access to iconic New York attractions, like Times Square, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, Herald Square and the Theater District. For a little retail therapy, we are within walking distance to endless shopping along 5th Avenue and are near subways to take you to other neighborhoods and the outer boroughs. The Andaz experience begins the moment you arrive and are greeted by one of our Hosts, who will check you in via handheld PC. Art work can be found throughout the hotel, whether it's 14-foot murals by Carlos Capelan, which glow like fire through the windows on 41st Street, or our ever-changing tbd Art series on the doors to the bar downstairs. But we don't just want you to look at beautiful things - we want to let you live the beautiful life as well. As part of that promise, we offer amenities like free Wi-Fi, a mini-bar stocked with complimentary non-alcoholic drinks and snacks, and 6,400 sq. Ft. Of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Andaz 5th Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz 5th Avenue Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz 5th Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.