We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my favorite NYC hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz 5th Avenue

Save Saved
You added Andaz 5th Avenue to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Andaz 5th Avenue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Good Morning Sunshine
Ranked #22 of 451 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“my favorite NYC hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Over the years I have stayed in about 20 hotels in New York, some better, some worse. Lately I have grown to love and appreciate the Andaz hotel chian - I love the way they do things.The Andaz 5th Avenue is my favorite NYC hotel so far. The location is perfect: 5th Avenue at 41st Street, right accross the street from the NYC Public Library and Bryant Park, 5 minutes from Grand Central Station, a 10-minute walk to Times Square. The staff is young, energetic, and, most importantly, SMILING, PLEASANT AND HELPFUL. This does not feel like a huge, impersonal hotel. Our room, a Splash Suite, was HUGE, modern, elegant, with the centerpiece being a huge, kidney-shaped, free-standing bathtub situated in the middle of a huge dressing area. My favorite Andaz amenity: the FREE mini-bar, which is restocked daily. I love a hotel that does NOT charge a guest $8.00 for a bottle of water. The restaurant was, at first glance, a bit unusual, but after exporing it a bit we found it is a small farm-to-table restaurant. We ate 4 meals here and all were wonderful. Hearty, healthy breakfasts, strong coffee and delicious lunches, all with an emphasis on organic ingredients. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our suite had huge windows overlooking the iconic New York City Public Library - a million-dollar vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,308 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    929
    268
    75
    26
    10
See reviews for
245
511
79
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterbury, Connecticut
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stay at Hyatt's all over the U.S. and have stayed at other Andaz properties. This was a nice hotel. My only significant complaint is that they don't have valet parking. We drive in from CT to NY all of the time and would definitely select a property that has parking versus one that doesn't. The staff was very attentive when we arrived. We were staying in a suite on the 14th floor and opted for a late checkout option. The room very spacious by New York standards. The shower was great! Light switches were a little oddly placed. I'm sure there are rooms you could request that provide you a nice view of the library.
The hotel is located in a convenient nice location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andaz5thAveMgr, Assistant Director of Rooms at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Santiccui 1,

Thank you so much for your nice comments about our hotel!
Great to know that you enjoyed your stay!

I'm so sorry to hear that you weren't explained our valet parking options. We actually offer this service to our guests! Next time you visit just approach one of our hosts and they'd be happy to help!
Looking forward to welcoming you back!

Warmest Regards,
Ratna

Assistant Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Probably one of the best hotel in midtown manhattan. Very modern, friendly employees, comfortable and spacey rooms (rare in NY) and great location on the 5th just in front of the Library. The rooms are well equipped, bed really comfortable and well isolated from the street noises (a real luxury in NY). Even the check-out was a great experience (fast, friendly and a departure gift!). A little bit expensive but worth it!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelia S, General Manager at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear NomadeModerne,
I love that you had a great time with us!
You have a new home in NYC at Andaz 5th Avenue.
Hope to see you soon.
Be sure to ask for me next time so I can say hello in person :-)
My best,
Cornelia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

By far, the Andaz 5th Avenue provided the most pleasant stay I have ever had in NYC. Check-in was a breeze. No waiting. Any staff member on the ground floor can check you in, take your luggage, or assist you in any other way. The standard room felt the exact opposite of cramped. The decor was modern, sort of like a Fifth Avenue boutique except that it is your clothes that are on display! The bathroom, featuring a double sink and separate toilet area, is enormous. The rain shower head coupled with the 12-foot high ceilings will have you off-and-running before your wake-up call. Although on a very busy street, the room was eerily quiet. And, hardly a peep from the hallway since a room key is required for elevator access. The light switches are really cool. Just press the name of what you want lit and voilà! I raided the mini-bar the second I got into the room and enjoyed every offering (apple juice, iced tea, soda, still and sparkling water, kettle chips, chocolate, and other snacks are all complimentary). The lobby lounge offers free wine in the evening, free coffee in the morning, and walnuts all the time. You even get a token gift of your choice (chocolate-covered Oreo, magnet, or hand sanitizer) upon departure.

Room Tip: While billed as 322 square feet, the standard Andaz King is cavernous and provides ample space to mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This centrally located hotel is very modern and the staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. A must try is the free wine available each night between 6 and 9. Would definitely consider coming here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Indiana
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We had a great stay here. For Midtown it's a bit chill which we appreciated. The lobby staff works out of a kiosk in the middle of the lobby which makes for a botique/cosmopolitan atmosphere. The room is easily one of the biggest you'll find in NYC.

The location is nice if you're looking to spend time in Midtown with easy access to the subway.

Finally, the staff was very helpful for the entire stay and brought us complimentary champagne since we were celebrating our 5th anniversary.

I recommend staying here if you're in the Midtown area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west/north side face the chaos of 5th Avenue so keep that in mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Excellent overall indeed. Location, staff, room decor, free morning coffee, bathrooms, electric window shades (!) etc. Some oddities that stand out: hallways acting as walk in freezers (why?); afternoon wine hour done better at similar properties, namely Kimpton's (at Andaz tightly guarded wine bottles, no finger food on the side); unstable water temperatures in shower .... Also the quality and craftsmanship of room furnishing are somewhat of a concern. Will they still look good in five years? Somehow I doubt it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Andaz 5th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz 5th Avenue

Address: 485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in New York City
#16 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#22 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#25 Green Hotel in New York City
#31 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz 5th Avenue 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Andaz 5th Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz 5th Avenue Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz 5th Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.