We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel in midtown manhattan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz 5th Avenue

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Booking.com
and 11 more sites!
Andaz 5th Avenue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Good Morning Sunshine
Ranked #20 of 446 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“excellent hotel in midtown manhattan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Probably one of the best hotel in midtown manhattan. Very modern, friendly employees, comfortable and spacey rooms (rare in NY) and great location on the 5th just in front of the Library. The rooms are well equipped, bed really comfortable and well isolated from the street noises (a real luxury in NY). Even the check-out was a great experience (fast, friendly and a departure gift!). A little bit expensive but worth it!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelia S, General Manager at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear NomadeModerne,
I love that you had a great time with us!
You have a new home in NYC at Andaz 5th Avenue.
Hope to see you soon.
Be sure to ask for me next time so I can say hello in person :-)
My best,
Cornelia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    865
    247
    68
    25
    10
See reviews for
227
472
70
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

By far, the Andaz 5th Avenue provided the most pleasant stay I have ever had in NYC. Check-in was a breeze. No waiting. Any staff member on the ground floor can check you in, take your luggage, or assist you in any other way. The standard room felt the exact opposite of cramped. The decor was modern, sort of like a Fifth Avenue boutique except that it is your clothes that are on display! The bathroom, featuring a double sink and separate toilet area, is enormous. The rain shower head coupled with the 12-foot high ceilings will have you off-and-running before your wake-up call. Although on a very busy street, the room was eerily quiet. And, hardly a peep from the hallway since a room key is required for elevator access. The light switches are really cool. Just press the name of what you want lit and voilà! I raided the mini-bar the second I got into the room and enjoyed every offering (apple juice, iced tea, soda, still and sparkling water, kettle chips, chocolate, and other snacks are all complimentary). The lobby lounge offers free wine in the evening, free coffee in the morning, and walnuts all the time. You even get a token gift of your choice (chocolate-covered Oreo, magnet, or hand sanitizer) upon departure.

Room Tip: While billed as 322 square feet, the standard Andaz King is cavernous and provides ample space to mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This centrally located hotel is very modern and the staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. A must try is the free wine available each night between 6 and 9. Would definitely consider coming here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Indiana
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We had a great stay here. For Midtown it's a bit chill which we appreciated. The lobby staff works out of a kiosk in the middle of the lobby which makes for a botique/cosmopolitan atmosphere. The room is easily one of the biggest you'll find in NYC.

The location is nice if you're looking to spend time in Midtown with easy access to the subway.

Finally, the staff was very helpful for the entire stay and brought us complimentary champagne since we were celebrating our 5th anniversary.

I recommend staying here if you're in the Midtown area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west/north side face the chaos of 5th Avenue so keep that in mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Excellent overall indeed. Location, staff, room decor, free morning coffee, bathrooms, electric window shades (!) etc. Some oddities that stand out: hallways acting as walk in freezers (why?); afternoon wine hour done better at similar properties, namely Kimpton's (at Andaz tightly guarded wine bottles, no finger food on the side); unstable water temperatures in shower .... Also the quality and craftsmanship of room furnishing are somewhat of a concern. Will they still look good in five years? Somehow I doubt it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Great location! I love the fact that it's only a short walk to many sites such as the hustle and bustle of Times Square, a block from Bryant Park, few blocks from Grand Central station and a few blocks away from the Empire State Building. There is a really close subway entrance at Bryant Park if you plan on using the subway as your main form of transportation.

The hotel was modern and very clean. All of the hotel staff was friendly. My husband and I stayed in the room listed as a Loft but not the XL Loft. The orientation of the furniture in the room definitely made it feel more spacious. Since we had a partition wall which was shared between the bedroom and the sitting area it made the room feel that much more bigger because of the sectioned spaces and high ceilings. The bathroom was really clean and modern. The huge shower was definitely a plus!

Another great detail that the Andaz provides their guests with is a refillable/free mini bar. All of the non alcoholic beverages and snacks are replaced each day! It's great to not have to look for a place to purchase bottled water.

One thing that my husband and I noticed was that no matter what time of the night that we would end up strolling in, the streets around the Andaz were lit up and never felt unsafe. Of course definitely use your judgement when traveling, but we never ran into any situations where we felt uncomfortable in the surrounding streets around the hotel.

We definitely will stay at the Andaz again when we come back to New York!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel - lovely service from start to finish. Concierge guys extremely helpful.. Especially the lovely Miles who advised me on shoe shopping and yoga studios. Greeted by complimentary wine on arrival - and free snacks and non-alcoholic drinks in room. Small detail but makes a big difference. Huge room, extremely comfy bed. Slept so well. Loved the shower and footbath.. Gym was great.. Plenty of space and equipment. Location amazing - dead in the centre for shopping and theatre and walking distance to the park - but quiet enough area not to feel too touristy.. Really nice coffee shop at the front. Can't think of anything negative to say. Wish I'd stayed there longer - the friendliness of the staff and degree of comfort and luxury makes a huge difference to most hotels in NYC.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Andaz 5th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz 5th Avenue

Also Known As:
Andaz 5th Avenue Hotel
Andaz 5th Avenue Hotel New York City
Address: 485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in New York City
#14 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#22 Green Hotel in New York City
#30 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz 5th Avenue 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Andaz 5th Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz 5th Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Andaz 5th Avenue to your Saves list