We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous stay in Andaz 5th” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz 5th Avenue

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Andaz 5th Avenue to your Saves list
Andaz 5th Avenue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #41 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous stay in Andaz 5th”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I've heard many times that Andaz is one of the world best hotels. but, I should confess that I had thought it's a bit expensive to me.
Luckily getting two free nights, I decided to stay in Andaz 5th, NY, for two nights. Though I am a little bit worried that my stay was not paid stay, but it was totally my misunderstanding. Andaz treated me as a a king of NY. They were so perfect, impossible to be better.
Needless to say, hotel quality itself and its location was so great to enjoy NY city.
Now. I become a big fan of Andaz, I will definitely stay in Andaz 5th when my next travel to NY.

Please never forget to have lemon poppy seed pancakes. They are overwhelmingly yummy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,099
    338
    99
    34
    13
See reviews for
304
648
95
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

This boutique hotel was a really pleasant surprise. Had not heard of this hyatt brand but turns out it was the people who made it great. From the moment we got to hotel till departure(4 days) the staff was very attentive to our needs. Front desk set up and lobby is unconventional but it works. At one point I asked where I could find a cappuccino cause the coffee bar was closed so they reopened it and made me one at no charge. Had the suite with great beds, loft style design and awesome shower, not crazy about washroom doors but no biggie considering everything else. Oh yea free water soft drinks and snacks in room, go figure. Close to time square and easy walking to most places. Will be first choice next time.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

What a wonderful experience and I have not even had my first night sleeping here yet! Although I was too early for my check in, I was made to feel 'at home' right away. I was offered a beverage (coffee,tea or bottled Fiji water) and given guest wi-fi. You are welcome to wait in the guest lounge which has the latest newspapers as well as a new giant iMac which I used to work out my activities for the day. Every staff member was so helpful and each one full of GENUINE and warm smiles that are so sorely lacking in many other establishments in NYC. Directions and recommendations were not a problem. When I returned from a day of shopping, I was given my room key and luggage promptly. Entering the modern classic room was such a treat - what a spacious, wonderful, homely loft-feel room - lots of glass (including a see-through glass closet) giving it a fresh and bright appearance! The bathroom was impressively big with C.O. Bigelow products lined up like soldiers. The mini-bar is largely 'on the house' (you really only have to pay for alcohol but all snacks, waters, juices and iced teas are complimentary) which is a welcome change for a hotel. I was about to complain about the lack of tea/coffee making facilities so I asked the front desk where my kettle was. They instantly offered to have one delivered to my room. Here's the super impressive little touch, but big gesture - the kettle was delivered with cups, small jars of honey and a pint of farm fresh whole milk! No charge! Can't wait to try out the fitness centre (this often makes or breaks my hotel choice) and breakfast.

I travel a lot for work and pleasure and I'd have to say that the Andaz (my first time) has outdone itseld - well done Hyatt! This is leaps and bounds above the Westin and W and will now me my first choice wherever you have a property - please open up more around the world!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We really loved the room we got, very large, wonderful bathroom, gigantic flat tv and great view at the 5th Av and Empire State Building. Though our room faced 5th Av we did not get disturbed by all the traffic.

The hotel is located across the NY Public Library and the lovely Bryant Park where we ate breakfast every day.

Walking distance to Times Square, Broadway, ESB, Central Station, Apple Store etc. Because of jetlag we went up very early for a wonderful jogging trip to Central Park, an unforgettable memory.

The bus from airport stops almost in front of the hotel.

The entrance to the hotel is situated round the corner from 5th.

We ate at the restaurant in the hotel, which was ok, not fantastic.

I could definitely see myself return to Andaz, though it is quite expensive, but on the other hand, which hotel in Manhattan is not?

Room Tip: Choose a room facing 5th Avenue.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We arrived about midnight but were greeted with a smile and a cold bottle of water. Checking in was very easy.
After mastering the control panel which had electronic curtains we went to sleep on a very large and comfortable bed. The pillows were too soft for my liking but I am very fuzzy. The following morning I stepped in a massive shower with 3 differents means of wetting yourself. The overhead rain shower was particularly relaxing. My fiance was suitably impressed by the space in the shower as well.
We ambled down to breakfast where you were able to help yourself to tea or coffee. Breakfast whilst plentiful was expensive for what you got and there are plenty of cheaper alternatives nearby if you prefer but I suppose by 5* prices they were pretty normal,
Andaz Hotel has a great bar in the basement and a Spa somwwhere in the building but we didn't get a chance to try that with all the other things going on that weekend including Victoria's surprize Birthday meal at Balthazar off Prince Street.
Andaz’s location was excellent as it’s on the corner of 5th Avenue and 42nd Street so handy for shopping, the Empire State Building or Grand Central if arriving by train. We will definitely be going back to Andaz next time we are in New York

Room Tip: All rooms have big windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Middle of the action and yet totally private and quiet. You couldn't ask for a better location! - right in the buzz of 5th Avenue across the street from the iconic NY Public Library, close to Grand Central Station and the main subway line to Broadway. Chic contemporary design, room filled with comforts and functional amenities, novel snacks in the fridge - on the house! ... relaxing and beautiful! A visit to the clean and well appointed fitness centre followed by a stop at the street-side coffee bar was a great way to start the day. Stopping to chat with the upbeat and helpful staff, while picking up a complimentary glass of wine to enjoy after a busy day of sightseeing, added to our memorable experience. A cozy and secure haven, right in the heart of Manhattan!

Room Tip: Consider requesting a room with a view of the NY Public Library.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We arrived for a 2 night visit on our 31-st wedding anniversary, coupled with some business. When Ramon, our check in host, heard about our anniversary, he ordered champagne and fresh strawberries be brought to our room. What a wonderful surprise when we got to our room. The service was impeccable, the room very trendy and comfortable and just different enough from an ordinary hotel room to feel extra special. Mini bar is complementary and they offer to bring up tea/coffee cups, hot water kettle, tea bags, all just for the asking. Plenty of staff on hand without feeling hovered over. It is definitely worth staying here if you get the chance. The location is about as good as it gets.
Even received a personal note back from the general manager when I send in my comments after our stay thanking me for my review.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking a small courtyard. It was very quiet. We did not come for the view and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Andaz 5th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz 5th Avenue

Address: 485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#34 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#36 Green Hotel in New York City
#54 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz 5th Avenue 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 5th avenue at 41st street, Andaz 5th Avenue is in the fashionable Bryant Park area of midtown Manhattan directly across the street from the New York Public Library. Guests will enjoy easy access to iconic New York attractions, like Times Square, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, Herald Square and the Theater District. For a little retail therapy, we are within walking distance to endless shopping along 5th Avenue and are near subways to take you to other neighborhoods and the outer boroughs. The Andaz experience begins the moment you arrive and are greeted by one of our Hosts, who will check you in via handheld PC. Art work can be found throughout the hotel, whether it's 14-foot murals by Carlos Capelan, which glow like fire through the windows on 41st Street, or our ever-changing tbd Art series on the doors to the bar downstairs. But we don't just want you to look at beautiful things - we want to let you live the beautiful life as well. As part of that promise, we offer amenities like free Wi-Fi, a mini-bar stocked with complimentary non-alcoholic drinks and snacks, and 6,400 sq. Ft. Of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Amex, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Andaz 5th Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz 5th Avenue Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz 5th Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.