We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great midtown choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz 5th Avenue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Andaz 5th Avenue to your Saves list
Andaz 5th Avenue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #41 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fairview, New Jersey
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Great midtown choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from the andaz for my husbands 40th bday. I got a decent deal as a prepay at about 425 a night for the large king with view , room 702 to be exact . They bragged upon check in this was one of the nicest rooms of the hotel with the view of the library . I'd say the bathroom was the highlight of this room - awesome shower , double sinks , very modern. The grey walls made it appear dingy even though it was spotless. I personally love modern and minimalistic so I loved it . THe room itself was not "large" by typical standards but yes for NYC it was pleasantly roomy. I agree with previous reviews that the storage was not ideal . Instead of the little couch and put a dresser or some storage in. In terms of service , they were very kind but a few bumps were experienced - Such as not delivering all of our clothes to the room and it took three calls and locating the woman who checked us in (thanks Renee !)to locate them. It didn't ruin our stay because we were impressed with the kindness of the staff as opposed to other hotels with attitude . Housekeeping was great with 2 services a day. We especially liked "the bar" on level c - creative cocktails and great service . Location was perfect for shopping , hailing a cab and and fine food. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat but would like to try the splash suite !

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,097
    338
    99
    34
    13
See reviews for
303
648
95
307
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Great location opposite the New York Public Library and only a couple of blocks from Grand Central and Times Square. Stayed for a bit over a week in an XL King View room and had no problems whatsoever. Hotel has a slick vibe, nice room, huge bathroom and great service though perhaps a bit pricey. The bar in the basement was also quite nice. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to others wanting to stay in this part of town.

Room Tip: XL View King was a nice size and had a great view - worth the extra $$ for a night or two
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

At the end of our US holiday, we planned 5 nights in New York and had selected this hotel on the basis of a strong recommendation from a friend. That recommendation could not have been better - we were delighted with the hotel!

The check-in process when we first arrived was simple and straightforward - rather than a traditional reception area, there is just an island in the middle of the ground floor that the staff use and means that there is a more personal touch to the service being provided as there is no desk in between you and the assisting staff member.

Our room was on the 5th floor, which was probably too low to adequately block out the constant sirens and car horns that are a part of the New York culture. It meant that sleeping in wasn't easy ... not really a huge issue as we wanted to explore New York. As we hadn't previously visited New York, we don't know whether the noise problem is common to most properties. This was the only possible negative to our stay.

We found that the concierge/reception staff (they do both) had some great recommendations in relation to Broadway shows (such as how they could assist to get tickets to sold out performances), restaurants in the area (including calling ahead to make sure that the kitchen was open when we wanted to eat late), taking our shopping bags up to our rooms when we were in a hurry ... in short, there was nothing that they wouldn't do and were always on the lookout to help.

I've stayed in many hotels with a great concierge service, but I'm yet to encounter the level that the team here went to. And there was a team - it wasn't just one person who helped: if the person we asked (say for dinner) didn't know a good place, they would know which other staff member on duty did know ... so there was always information and assistance at hand.

The housekeeping was great and there are some nice touches at the hotel - such as soda (soft) drinks and snacks being free of charge, the provision of a PC to print boarding passes (I have previously had to battle with a Singapore hotel to print a boarding pass) and having one of the concierge staff come up to the room to show you how everything operates as part of the checkin process.

Our room was quite spacious, tastefully decorated with modern furniture and a subtle level of automation (such as the foyer lights coming on when you entered). The rain shower in the bathroom was one of the more spectacular examples we've seen!

No problem to recommend the fine stay you can enjoy at this property.

Room Tip: I'd ask for a higher level room to try and limit as much of the external noise as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

On a recent trip in to New York my wife and I ran in to a difficult start. We were to meet my family for dinner and decided to make a weekend of it. To start our day we ran afoul of traffic and the NYC Parking Authority. We had reached a point where we were ready to just give up on the rest of the weekend when we arrived at the hotel. The staff immediately saw we were having difficulty and did everything they could to make us feel more welcome in a sometimes difficult city. Specifically Ramon was able to move us in to a quiet room in the back of the hotel and arrange for a fairly late checkout. For the rest of the weekend whenever we saw him he would stop what he was doing too make sure we were doing better.
The room was fairly large, especially for a New York hotel, with very high ceilings and a very comfortable bed. The bathroom had a spacious walk in shower with a rain shower head way up on the ceiling. The Minimalist decorations are clean and neat, but comfortable at the same time.
The hotel is located right on 5th ave. across the street from the main branch of the New York Public Library and Bryant Park. A short walk of only a few blocks will bring you to Rockefeller center and St. Patrick’s Cathedral. Head in the other direction and you are just as close to the State building. Close by are the Diamond District, Grand Central Station, Times Square, and a collection of world class restaurants. It would be hard to find a more centrally located hotel.
In summary, this is a great hotel, in a great location, with an exceptional staff. I fully intend to be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I had a wonderful experience at Andaz 5th. Avenue!
Great hotel, modern, beautiful design, clean lines, lovely décor!
Comfortable room (I stayed at 1408), quiet, spacious, separated sitting area from bedroom, big bathroom, kitchenette and free mini-bar with non alcoholic beverages and snacks. Great!
People at the front desk are extremely gentil! You can count on them for anything! They're always ready to help!
Restaurant is nice and trendy. One day Nicki Minaj was having lunch at the table next to mine!
Nice location, in front of Bryant Park and NYC Public Library.
I will surely come back and recomend it to my friends!

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Easy check in on late arrival Saturday, Memorial weekend. Great room overlooking the library. A quick call downstairs to change our bedding from feather was ok. Although non allergenic duvet rather than a sheet & blanket would have been preferable. Enjoyed the free drinks & snacks in the mini bar. Saved having to pop into a deli every night. My 8th visit to the city & 8th hotel and definitely my favourite. Fantastic location and view if you get a room facing the library. Loved the techy control board for all the lights and blinds. As others have mentioned very little hanging/draw space but didn’t bother me. Nice touch of cookies & milk for my daughter’s birthday. We will be back. Bringing my old Mum over at Easter. Visitor tip. If you can’t find a taxi when it is time to head to the airport the shuttles run from 2 blocks down at a fraction of the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Always try and stay here whenever I come to New York. It's exactly what you need from a hotel in the city. Perfect location minutes from Grand Central, 5th avenue, times square, etc. The service is first rate and they get the little things bang on --> life free non-alcoholic beverages and and snacks in the mini bar. The rooms are modern, clean, new and quite large for NYC. The sky high ceilings also help! Already looking forward to my next stay!

Room Tip: As for a high floor away from the lift. Pretty standard advice for New York
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andaz 5th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz 5th Avenue

Address: 485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#33 Business Hotel in New York City
#34 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#36 Green Hotel in New York City
#53 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz 5th Avenue 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 5th avenue at 41st street, Andaz 5th Avenue is in the fashionable Bryant Park area of midtown Manhattan directly across the street from the New York Public Library. Guests will enjoy easy access to iconic New York attractions, like Times Square, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, Herald Square and the Theater District. For a little retail therapy, we are within walking distance to endless shopping along 5th Avenue and are near subways to take you to other neighborhoods and the outer boroughs. The Andaz experience begins the moment you arrive and are greeted by one of our Hosts, who will check you in via handheld PC. Art work can be found throughout the hotel, whether it's 14-foot murals by Carlos Capelan, which glow like fire through the windows on 41st Street, or our ever-changing tbd Art series on the doors to the bar downstairs. But we don't just want you to look at beautiful things - we want to let you live the beautiful life as well. As part of that promise, we offer amenities like free Wi-Fi, a mini-bar stocked with complimentary non-alcoholic drinks and snacks, and 6,400 sq. Ft. Of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Amex, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Andaz 5th Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz 5th Avenue Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz 5th Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.