We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz 5th Avenue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Andaz 5th Avenue to your Saves list
Andaz 5th Avenue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Good Morning Sunshine
Ranked #31 of 458 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bangkok
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The minute I walked into the lobby, the staff eagerly welcomed and assisted my family to check in to the reserved suite. The suite was very big for NYC hotel standard. What I love about this hotel was the cleanliness and the complimentary of free wifi and all the beverages. Everything is free except alcohol drinks. We really had good sleep as the beds were so comfy. The sofa bed in the living room was also great and comfortable. We ordered room service for breakfast and late night snack. The food were delicious. The rain shower was also great. One thing that I would like the hotel to add is "a shower cap". There was none. All in all, I have made a great choice on this trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andaz5thAveMgr, Manager at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Hello TRNTBangkok,

It is wonderful to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay at our home. We take great pride to ensure all guests have a relaxing and memorable stay when they visit. I am glad that you were able to enjoy some of the complimentary items we provided as well as Room Service, the chefs here do an incredible job. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

have a wonderful day,

Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,014
    302
    90
    32
    10
See reviews for
276
594
85
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

First, as a caveat, I used the two free nights I got with my Hyatt credit card to cover my room. The cost of the "loft" room I was in would have been about $350/night the weekend I was there. Based on other NYC hotel experiences, this would have been pretty good value for money and I very much enjoyed my stay. The room was large for NYC and modern. I liked the decor - the swipe pads in lieu of light switches added to the modern feel, although they were a bit temperamental. The bathroom and shower were particularly spacious. Free water/soft drinks/snacks in the mini bar is a nice amenity. The biggest issue for me is no coffee machine. On the second day when I commented on this, they said they could have an espresso machine brought to my room. I would have been more happy to just have a regular coffee machine there as a matter of course. But their response to my comment just generally sums up the approach to service I experienced. Extremely helpful and friendly, and not at all snooty. I would definitely recommend this hotel to someone who is looking for a nice upper-mid range hotel in mid-town.

Room Tip: I was on the third floor facing the street, and it was a little noisy, but that is part of being in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

When I booked it I was a bit concerned: the location was too perfect for the price so I was expecting... Well, I was not at all expecting what I found: a beautiful, new, welcoming and exceptionally located hotel. The room was really spacious for NYC and the bathroom was outstanding. The mixture of wood and stainless steel is classy and trendy. Water, snacks and sodas are...free. Can you believe it? "Hotel, water, NYC and free" very unusual combination. What about the location? Right in front of the library, on 5th avenue?! Service is gracious and polite, they make you feel welcome. By the way, the hotel is very clean. I would recommend it, actually I already did, I told my sister who owns a travel agency, to send her customers there.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge MA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We were unable to upgrade, so we had to stay in the new tower rooms on 4th floor for 3 nights. These rooms were painted gray, with no decoration on any wall such as art of any form( maybe just a black and white photo would add a sense of comfort ..)windows looked out across small courtyard to other windows of other rooms. No natural light filtered into rooms at all. Minimal artificial light in room. One wall light had burned out near desk and was not replaced for the 3 days we were there. Only one chair in room, a small upright desk chair, so you could not sit to read comfortably anywhere except bed. Bathroom shower fixture controlled all three faucets in shower and had no explanation for how it worked or for temperature control. My husband gave up and took cold showers. Beautiful spring sunshine in NYC , so we survived. I felt like I returned to prison cell. Rest of hotel was interestingly designed.

Room Tip: Do not chose lower floors in Tower...avoid Tower rooms if possible, at all costs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night to celebrate a birthday/anniversary. Upon check in, we were informed that there was no heat or hot water in the building due to the city doing some maintenance on the pipes on the hotel's side of the street. Right away the room was reimbursed with 22,000 points to cover a free night. The staff handled the situation correctly, based on the fact that it was totally out of their control. Having said that, perhaps they could have notified customers in advance of check in and given the option to move to the Andaz Wall Street. Regardless, we snuck a shower in as there was still hot water in the tank. To the room itself: Large, modern and beautifully furnished. The clear glass closet is a cool touch. The complimentary mini bar should be adopted by all 5 star hotels, enough with the petty charges for a bag of chips. The bathroom was tremendous and had all the requisite luxury bath items. We had a library view room which was really pretty also. The location is perfect for theater, and the parking on a weekend is ample and free on the street which was nice. Overall, the stay was enjoyable and the service was excellent. Would definitely consider it again for a weekend jaunt.

Room Tip: Ask for library view room, very pretty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I wish I stayed here longer, I stayed at the Andaz 5th Ave for one night on a work trip. So I didn't get to enjoy it as much as I would have liked. The customer service was fantastic, I couldn't have asked for better service. The hotel has a boutique feel to it, and its pretty trendy. So much so, that the person who checks you in walks you up to your room, and shows you how to work everything. For example the shower had like three different options, I appreciated that they personally showed me how to work it because I would have been annoyed trying to figure it out at 6am the next day.

They provide you snacks and non-alcoholic drinks for free, and even serve wine (for free!) in the evenings. I did have dinner at The Shop and it was tasty and fast, excellent service! The location is perfect, its by Bryant Park so optimal location if you're doing business in midtown or anywhere in Manhattan actually! Definitely staying there everytime I return to NYC!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

the biggest challenge in visiting NY is finding a hotel that is affordable, mpt too small and in a good location. I have never found one uo until now that has all three. my friends let me pick the hotel so I researched it well and andaz seemed to have it all. fortunately I was right. all four of us felt the same way. what an incredible find. we had been to the bar downstairs which was quite memorable a year before but had not stayed there. we will definitely become l oyal Andaz customers in the future. the only thing we found disappointing was the hours of the hotel bar. it was quite crowded but seemed to shut down quite early, much earlier than we would have liked

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andaz5thAveMgr, Manager at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear JJPDDS,
Greetings from NYC and thank you so much for choosing us for your recent trip! I am thrilled to hear that you and your friends felt like you made the right choice by staying with us and all of the team hope that you keep making the right choice and come and stay with us again! :)
If we can ever do anything prior to a future arrival please don’t hesitate to let us know,
Best regards
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andaz 5th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz 5th Avenue

Address: 485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in New York City
#24 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#29 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#30 Green Hotel in New York City
#40 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz 5th Avenue 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 5th avenue at 41st street, Andaz 5th Avenue is in the fashionable Bryant Park area of midtown Manhattan directly across the street from the New York Public Library. Guests will enjoy easy access to iconic New York attractions, like Times Square, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, Herald Square and the Theater District. For a little retail therapy, we are within walking distance to endless shopping along 5th Avenue and are near subways to take you to other neighborhoods and the outer boroughs. The Andaz experience begins the moment you arrive and are greeted by one of our Hosts, who will check you in via handheld PC. Art work can be found throughout the hotel, whether it's 14-foot murals by Carlos Capelan, which glow like fire through the windows on 41st Street, or our ever-changing tbd Art series on the doors to the bar downstairs. But we don't just want you to look at beautiful things - we want to let you live the beautiful life as well. As part of that promise, we offer amenities like free Wi-Fi, a mini-bar stocked with complimentary non-alcoholic drinks and snacks, and 6,400 sq. Ft. Of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Andaz 5th Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz 5th Avenue Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz 5th Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.