We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect peaceful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz 5th Avenue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Andaz 5th Avenue to your Saves list
Andaz 5th Avenue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #42 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
North Yorkshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect peaceful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed here mid March 2013. It was monsoon like rain when we arrived but we were still greeted at out taxi and our luggage taken in for us whilst we ran inside. The check in procedure, via informal stations rather than a desk, was quick, friendly and simple. We were escorted to our room and shown how everything works by Amy although even she seemed a little confused by the multiple shower settings. The room looked into a light well behind and between other buildings and the constant drone of AC plant / kitchen ventilation (assumed) could be a bit if a problem for some guests, although being on either the 5th Ave or 41st street side could be the same from street noise. Depends what you're used to. To be honest, if you're making the most of NY and have had a couple of glasses of wine, you should be sleeping like a log anyway! Beds are very comfortable and the touch controls for lighting / blinds etc work well. The basement bar is very cool and was, at around 6pm, full of well healed NYers winding down after work. The free wine between 6 and 9 is very welcome after a slog around the city before venturing out for your evening meal. The location is second to non with the Empire State (10 mins), grand Central (5mins), MoMA (10 mins), Times Sq (10 mins), Top of the Rock (15 mins) and Central Park (20 mins) all within easy walking distance. The interior design is sharp yet relaxing creating a sophisticated uncluttered ambience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,091
    337
    99
    34
    13
See reviews for
302
646
94
304
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I recently stayed at the Andaz 5th Avenue for 11 nights (with 3 adult family members) and I can honestly say, I have never encountered such exceptional service.

From the moment we walked in through the door (after a long haul flight from Australia), to the moment we checked out (which was very depressing), the staff at Andaz made the difference between our holiday being great and amazing.

In terms of the rooms, we had two twin rooms which had a nice aspect to Library Way and the New York Public Library. Our rooms were very spacious (the high ceilings are sensational) and the beds were really comfortable.

The bathroom is massive. The shower bay is huge and has 3 different shower head options. There isn't a door on the shower so a bit of water may get splashed around but it wasn't a huge issue. The toilet is contained within the bathroom area. Two basins and lots of vanity/bench space.

There isn't a huge amount of wardrobe space, which was the only downside but our host indicated he could organise another temporary wardrobe if we needed one.

Everything in the mini bar is complimentary (except for the alcoholic beverages) and there is happy hour in the foyer/lounge area every night from 6-9pm. We enjoyed sitting in the lounge area and having a wine before working out where to go and what to do in the evenings.

The lounge and library area also have kettles of coffee and tea which you can help yourself to throughout the day. We also requested a kettle in our room so Mum could have a cup of tea first thing in the morning and the staff provided one straight away.

The Shop and The Bar are excellent. We had breakfast most mornings at The Shop and the food was so fresh and delicious. The coffee was the best we had in New York City (it's gutsy not milky).

As for the bar (lower ground floor) it's definitely not one of those sterile bars you would find in an old school hotel, where you may have a handful of hotel guests sitting quietly. Cocktails are superb, decor is great and the food is again, magnificent. I recommend the chocolate ganache on toast! WOW! You will find lots of New Yorkers here having drinks at all hours of the evening.

Lastly, our host was second to none! From recommending (and booking) bars and restaurants, to investigating tickets for Broadway shows, to booking sight seeing day trips - he was faultless and genuinely wanted to make sure we had a wonderful time.

Should you book Andaz 5th Avenue - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Andaz on 5th Ave for two nights this past weekend and I have never felt like such a valued customer. From the minute you walk in, the service is impeccable. Since we were there for a special occasion, we got a free upgrade without even asking. Every employee went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed and I mean every employee from the front kiosk, to the cleaning staff, to the bar staff, to the door woman. The rooms were modern, clean and stocked with free water, soda, and snacks. We went out late on Saturday and came back pretty quickly sure that they wouldn't have gotten to our room yet - but they did. Clean as a whistle.

We stay in NY every year for a weekend and we have tried all of the usual hotels including the Marriot, Excelsior, and the Sofitel - all of which make you feel like they're doing you a favor for letting you stay there. None of them come close to treating you like this place does. We are done hotel jumping. On our next visit to NY we are definitely staying at the Andaz.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a suite with electronic shades and a bathroom to die for but I believe all of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Andaz on 5th Ave last weekend. Our room was beautifully designed - modern, thoughtful and very comfortable. The bathroom shower was exquisite. Even though we could see 42nd St from our window, there was no traffic noise at all.

On Thursday night, we went to "the bar downstairs". It was packed. The hostess asked if we were hotel guests and then sat us right away. The staff was very friendly and really went out of their way to be helpful. Overall, it was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

First time staying at an Andaz, and will definitely stay again when back in NYC, or they're someplace I am working or playing.

Not a flashy place, but that's what I liked about it. Terrific location, right across the street from the NYC Library, but an almost undetectable entrance on 41st Street instead of 5th Avenue. The feeling is more like a club than a hotel, and the staff was relaxed and always ready to help.

The rooms are designed to not look like hotel rooms - maybe even a little too much so, but perhaps I'm not the exact demographic they're aiming for. I like the clean design and spareness of the room which allowed you to focus entirely on the view of the Library and skyline. Only negative to the room was that the "fit and finish" was a bit off - like the door to the compartment containing the safe was sagging and didn't close cleanly, or the large window shade was frayed and curled at the edges where many previous guests have pulled it back to see outside, or a lot of scratches and scrapes on the the window seat.

The bathroom was quite large, good lighting, great bath products. The shower controls were not as intuitive as they might be, and it took a lot of tinkering with the knobs to figure out how it all worked.

But overall, it's the atmosphere - a nice quiet, well designed spot, away from the crush of NYC that makes this so much better than a "hotel." Couldn't ask for a better location in order to have the City at your disposal, and I can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The Andaz on 5th and 41st Street is a real find. Directly across from the steps of the main library the hotel is well located. The hotel has hip Euro feel. The staff was all extraordinarily nice and helpfu. I think most were aspiring actors. The rooms were good size and quiet, which is hard to find in NYC. I plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
282 helpful votes 282 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My wife and I had the opportunity to stay at the Andaz 5th Ave for 1 night while visiting New York City. The hotel is a very unassuming and smaller but personal hotel. If you aren't deliberately looking for it you might miss it on the corner of 5th Ave and 41st Street but that is partially what I really like about it.

On arrival the staff begins right away walking care of you. There isnt the traditional front desk setup, the staff is in the lobby area and their is a kiosk in the middle of the room where they assist you. I have never seen this kind of set up before but I have to say I really like it allot. It makes everything feel very personal and allows you and the staff to interact quite regularly as you come in and out of the hotel. Off the lobby is a lounge area that serves free coffee in the morning and beverages in the evening which is very nice. Parking was a bit confusing but if you pull onto 41st street in front of the double black entry doors, someone inside will take care of it.

We arrived early so our room was not quite ready yet, but the staff took our luggage and got my phone number to call me once it was ready. My wife and I took a walk down to Times Square which is only a few blocks away and after about an hour and a half the hotel called us as promised that our room was ready.

Our room was fantastic, much larger then your standard New York City room, with a separate seating area with a sofa, table and desk. In a cabinet as you walk in the door is a full size fridge that for the first time in my life contained FREE soft drinks and snack, what an awesome concept, most hotels dont even give you free water, I love it! Of course wifi is also free and works very well. The whole concept this hotel has for not nickel and dimeing you for everything in the room is a real win, wish others would follow.

The bedroom had a fantastic bed. Everything is very modern from hardwood floors in the living area to the central controls for the lights and drapes. I looked down and saw rooms on one floor had balconies, definitely will try that out next time. The room has the best bathroom I have ever seen in New York. A large rain shower area with bench and bowl to soak feet, a double vanity, just awesome, plan on copying it when I remodel. Bathrobes and slippers were also in the bathroom.

We had a chance to have room service breakfast and like everyone says, you have to try the pancakes and french toast, awesome! Overall a perfect stay, wonderful staff who are genuinely happy to see and talk to you to one of the best rooms I have ever stayed at in Manhattan. I would be comfortable staying in that room for 1 month let alone 1 night, loads of room, spotlessly clean and perfectly designed.

Fantastic Job Andaz ! I will be back

Room Tip: I personally would definitely try the rooms with the balcony but regardless you really cant go wrong...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andaz 5th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz 5th Avenue

Address: 485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#33 Business Hotel in New York City
#35 Green Hotel in New York City
#35 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#53 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz 5th Avenue 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 5th avenue at 41st street, Andaz 5th Avenue is in the fashionable Bryant Park area of midtown Manhattan directly across the street from the New York Public Library. Guests will enjoy easy access to iconic New York attractions, like Times Square, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, Herald Square and the Theater District. For a little retail therapy, we are within walking distance to endless shopping along 5th Avenue and are near subways to take you to other neighborhoods and the outer boroughs. The Andaz experience begins the moment you arrive and are greeted by one of our Hosts, who will check you in via handheld PC. Art work can be found throughout the hotel, whether it's 14-foot murals by Carlos Capelan, which glow like fire through the windows on 41st Street, or our ever-changing tbd Art series on the doors to the bar downstairs. But we don't just want you to look at beautiful things - we want to let you live the beautiful life as well. As part of that promise, we offer amenities like free Wi-Fi, a mini-bar stocked with complimentary non-alcoholic drinks and snacks, and 6,400 sq. Ft. Of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Andaz 5th Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz 5th Avenue Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz 5th Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.