We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility... even in NY City. That is the Andaz!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz 5th Avenue

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Andaz 5th Avenue to your Saves list
Andaz 5th Avenue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Good Morning Sunshine
Ranked #31 of 459 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Tranquility... even in NY City. That is the Andaz!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

All of the staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. Room was very neat, clean, and comfortable. Tranquility was definitely felt throughout the hotel…the library, the evening wine, etc. We did not feel the hustle bustle of NYC once we stepped into the doors of the hotel…..The staff went out of their way to accommodate whatever we might have needed….All of the food which we had was terrific! We would come back to the hotel to eat because it was so good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,016
    304
    90
    32
    10
See reviews for
278
594
85
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Andaz is very much 'on trend' - the location is excellent, right across from the NYC Library. The hotel itself is very clean, service was great (with one exception …will get to that) and reasonable cost for the time of year.

The room is small, yet designed well to give you a feeling of space. Free Wi-Fi, and a stocked minibar with premium products that is replenished daily

The only issue was on booking the hotel 6 months in advance for NYE, I requested my credit card was pre-paid, I was advised to complete a paper form and fax it (why not do online authentication!), which I did so 4 times over a period of a month - as the form was never received when sent and confirmation from the fax machine it was transmitted. The issue was escalated when on checking in, I was double charged, which took 5 weeks to reverse with the bank! The team were prompt to assist in assisting to resolve - but still an issue that should not occur

I would return to Andaz when next in NYC!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here recently as a family of four (including two teenaged children). We had asked for a two bedroom suite, and we were upgraded to a terrace 2BR suite. Even without the upgrade, it is clear that the room would have been spectacularly luxurious in a taut modern sort of a way. The 2 bathrooms are large and beautifully appointed with a rain shower and foot bath. The two king beds (one per bedroom) have excellent quality linens and down comforters, and the sofabed in the living room was reported by both my children to be comfortable. The room also has a mini kitchenette with full refrigerator, sink, dishwasher, microwave and nespresso machine. Our upgrade added a huge outdoor wrap around terrace (200 or so sf, I would guess), with breathtaking city views. We ordered two breakfasts and an afternoon cheese/fruit platter from room service during our stay. The food was excellent quality and farm sourced, if pricey. We did not order lunch or dinner, but the tell-us-how-to-prepare it option (pick protein (chicken, fish, beef, etc.); pick cooking technique; pick veg and technique; pick sauce) looked great. Our only complaint was spotty service. After we made coffee in the coffee machine on day 1, no one replaced the mugs, so we had none for day 2. When we called to order a cheese plate for 6, they were stymied and at a loss for how to proceed as if no one has ever ordered appetizers here before. Our car was brought up from the garage an hour late . . . . If they get these little things worked out, the hotel will be paradise in NYC.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We were in for just one night and wow, what a find! Location, ambience, staff and that room, wow. Very un-New York. Large, very high ceiling , open, amazing bathroom , super comfy bed, push button everything from the bed, and a majestic view of the incredibly picturesque New York library. Right on 5th Ave, you are literally right in the middle of it. Nice gym,cozy restaurant and bar in cellar has real atmosphere. We've found a new destination! Thanks Andaz.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
729 reviews 729 reviews
339 hotel reviews
Reviews in 188 cities Reviews in 188 cities
392 helpful votes 392 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

After a superb stay during 2012, we stayed here again in January 2013. We were not disappointed--the hotel was as (or more!) fantastic than during our first visit.

I cannot say enough glowing things about the service at this hotel. From check-in to check-out, it was remarkable without being overbearing or pretentious. Upon arrival, I was given a glass of wine to enjoy during check-in. The agent at the front desk discussed a few room options with me, which I really appreciated because we were in town for a special occassion. Later that night, he helped secure a dinner reservation at a restaurant that hadn't allowed me to make a reservation when I called on my own! Throughout our stay, we were always greeted (often by name) when walking through the lobby, including by the hotel's manager, who inquired about the quality of our stay and other travels in general.

The rooms at this hotel are excellent--understated, totally modern design that manages to not be cold. Amazing bathrooms, with gorgeous details and rainshowers. Fabulously comfortable beds. A guest guide that gives great tips to local (and non-touristy) spots.

Other hotel perks are great--free internet; free minibar snacks and soft drinks; complimentary wine and other beverages in the lobby; for Golld Passport diamond members, credit towards breakfast (that can even be applied to room service)! Unlike other luxury properties, which can feel like a mess of up-charges, you really feel like you got what you paid for.

Didn't try restaurant (other than breakfast), but would HIGHLY recommend "The Bar Downstairs" -- awesome cocktails with classic touches, incredible service.

Basically, I left this hotel again wishing that every hotel staff member and manager in the world could stop by to pick up tips for service and style. Looking forward to the next visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed at the Andaz for our honeymoon over Christmas and New Year. Fantastic hotel, easy to check in, helpful staff, great location. Great breakfasts in the restaurant and The Bar Downstairs was very lively and a real gem. We have stayed in Andaz hotels before and this one certainly comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the Andaz for a business trip and fell in love the hotel. I only wish I had known about it for previous trips into the city. I was only there one night, but it left a great impression and given the amount of travel I have had to do over the years, that is something unique to experience. To sum it up...the hotel is beautiful and the service very accommodating……Tranquility is a great word to describe the Andaz…I did not want to leave…little interaction but it was always customer focused. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Andaz 5th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz 5th Avenue

Address: 485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in New York City
#24 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#29 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#30 Green Hotel in New York City
#38 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz 5th Avenue 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 5th avenue at 41st street, Andaz 5th Avenue is in the fashionable Bryant Park area of midtown Manhattan directly across the street from the New York Public Library. Guests will enjoy easy access to iconic New York attractions, like Times Square, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, Herald Square and the Theater District. For a little retail therapy, we are within walking distance to endless shopping along 5th Avenue and are near subways to take you to other neighborhoods and the outer boroughs. The Andaz experience begins the moment you arrive and are greeted by one of our Hosts, who will check you in via handheld PC. Art work can be found throughout the hotel, whether it's 14-foot murals by Carlos Capelan, which glow like fire through the windows on 41st Street, or our ever-changing tbd Art series on the doors to the bar downstairs. But we don't just want you to look at beautiful things - we want to let you live the beautiful life as well. As part of that promise, we offer amenities like free Wi-Fi, a mini-bar stocked with complimentary non-alcoholic drinks and snacks, and 6,400 sq. Ft. Of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Andaz 5th Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz 5th Avenue Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz 5th Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.