We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Midtown Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz 5th Avenue

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Andaz 5th Avenue to your Saves list
Andaz 5th Avenue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #52 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hilton Head
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Midtown Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I was lucky enough to use my Hyatt two free nights to stay at this hotel in early December. Went with my adult daughter and we stayed in a corner room with two twin beds on the ninth floor. It's tough to find good hotels with two beds in a room in NYC so this was a bonus. The room was very quiet. I could not hear anyone from other rooms, the hallway or any street noise. The room has a sleek modern design and was spacious for NYC standards. I loved the bathroom. Being able to get a cold bottle of water at all times was great and snacks in the rooms was a nice touch.

I also loved the overall vibe of the hotel; small, hip, clean, and friendly. Great artwork. Not warm and cozy though. The seating in the "lobby" is not particularly comfortable or inviting. The staff was young and not as experienced as one would find at a five-star hotel but this is not a five-star hotel. They did the best they could to help with restaurant reservations, shopping information and other general information. Easy walk from here to Grand Central Station to hop the subway and cabs easy to find. Loved being across from The New York Pubic Library and Bryant Park. Lovely pop-up stores and ice skating in Bryant Park for the holidays. Beats the craziness of Rockefeller Center in my book.

There are a few problems that I believe can be corrected easily. One is the lack of proper lighting in the room, the architect and designers clearly were not thinking of women when they designed the rooms. It is very dark and would be really difficult if you were trying to get ready for a special event. Also there is no drawer space and the closet is minuscule. Not sure how to correct that issue. The other problem is that the beds, at least the twins we slept in, were not very comfortable. Very firm which is fine if you like it that way. All in all though, my memories are of a great stay.

Room Tip: I'd go for a higher floor, corner room, and a view of the Public Library is nice, Of course, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,192
    369
    112
    36
    15
See reviews for
338
699
101
335
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
656 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 826 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Other hotels in NYC that are space challenged would do well to take note of what Hyatt has done with its two Andaz properties here. Not only is the 5th Avenue property in a great location, but the rooms are wonderfully designed and well appointed and the staff does a great job in terms of customer service. My wife and I arrived at 10am on a Saturday morning and the hotel had been sold out the night before. However, the young lady checked us in quickly and asked for a phone number to call us when our room was ready. We went out to have breakfast and before we were finished she call to let me know that the room was ready. We also loved the complimentary snacks and beverages in the mini frig, as well as in the lounge. The only drawback is that the Internet is painstakingly slow, which is the reaso for the 4 stars. Except for that, the hotel is a 5 all around. Would definitely recommend highly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I'd never heard of this hotel, but came away a big fan! It is a boutique-style hotel with a European feel; staff always ready to serve and yet laid-back and friendly. The location on Fifth Avenue was walking distance to most of the sights we wanted to see. Perfect. The rooms and bathroom were modern and beautiful...we had a suite with a little kitchen mini-bar set up with complimentary espresso-maker, juices etc. and loved the complimentary wine in the evening! It was such a great stay and such a beautiful hotel and everyone on staff could not have been nicer!!! Thanks for all you did to make our trip to New York special…..we loved every aspect of the Andaz experience. And we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We had a corner suite on the 13th floor. looking out at 42nd st....windows and light and a great set...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Having stayed there during Huricane Irene (I agree this was 2011) the staff really helped us out on numerous subjects (changing flights, transportation, meals and laundry while the city closed down, etc.). Rooms were excellent and attached which fitted our family needs very well. Location is hard to beat. Would go there again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

A word to the wise and select your room carefully here. We had a loft room on the 8th floor; half of the room is an "office" (it really is an office!) which they did inform us at check in. The room is really only appropriate for a single business traveler. Only one drawer in the room so I used the office to lay out my suitcase and lived out of the that. Bathroom was roomy and the bed very comfortable. Decor is Japanese sensibility meets European minimalism. The controls for the shower were very challenging--no kidding! City noise does filter in--not bad but bring ear plugs just in case this bothers you. For the most part the staff was very helpful and friendly and attentive. The food here is just excellent (breakfast and room service); I would eat here even if i was not staying here. Entrances, dining areas, lounges are not well marked so you have to guess your way around for a bit. Location is excellent: very close to Grand Central Station and tons of eating and shopping options. I would definitely stay here again but would be more discriminating about the choice of room. Lastly, an observation and not a complaint: no holiday decorations to be found here in the midst of December!

Room Tip: You need to ask specifically what you are getting in the room: is there a sitting area, is there a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

First stay at the Andaz and I was quite impressed. Walk distance to some attractions like Times Square, Empire State Building, Top of the Rock, Grand Central Station etc.... The location is amazing!!
The rooms are really modern (minimalist type decor) and very clean, stylish and spacious bathroom, mini bar included except for the liquor. The staff was amazing specially Jenny Rodriguez from concierge who helped us a lot before and after our stay.
My only issue was the lack of wardrobe or closet. Other than that highly recommended.
I'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed here in May 2011 to attend a friend's wedding. My husband and I took a red eye from SFO and we planned on meeting my sister, brother in law, 5 month old nephew, and their dog who had driven up from VA. We stayed in a two bedroom suite with views of the library, Bryant Park, Empire State Building, and a glimpse of Times Square. The location was superb. We were within walking distance to my favorite NYC places including Ktown, Central Park, and 5th Ave.

Our suite was HUGE especially for NYC. The bathrooms are sleek with C.O. Bigelow toiletries. There was a kitchenette incluing a mini dishwasher. All non-alcoholic drinks were included in the room rate. Since my husband is Hyatt diamond, breakfast for all four adults was included in the rate and we were able to have it delivered to our suite through room service. The breakfast came from the restaurant downstairs - the shop and everything was delicious.

The hotel is trendy and modern and yet it feels cozy. The service was great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#8 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,614 reviews
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#48 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,131 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#13 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Midtown
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#4 of 468 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 2,998 reviews
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#25 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz 5th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz 5th Avenue

Address: 485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#41 Business Hotel in New York City
#41 Green Hotel in New York City
#43 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz 5th Avenue 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 5th avenue at 41st street, Andaz 5th Avenue is in the fashionable Bryant Park area of midtown Manhattan directly across the street from the New York Public Library. Guests will enjoy easy access to iconic New York attractions, like Times Square, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, Herald Square and the Theater District. For a little retail therapy, we are within walking distance to endless shopping along 5th Avenue and are near subways to take you to other neighborhoods and the outer boroughs. The Andaz experience begins the moment you arrive and are greeted by one of our Hosts, who will check you in via handheld PC. Art work can be found throughout the hotel, whether it's 14-foot murals by Carlos Capelan, which glow like fire through the windows on 41st Street, or our ever-changing tbd Art series on the doors to the bar downstairs. But we don't just want you to look at beautiful things - we want to let you live the beautiful life as well. As part of that promise, we offer amenities like free Wi-Fi, a mini-bar stocked with complimentary non-alcoholic drinks and snacks, and 6,400 sq. Ft. Of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Otel, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Andaz 5th Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz 5th Avenue Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz 5th Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.