We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different! A Poor Start but a Happy Ending” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz 5th Avenue

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Andaz 5th Avenue to your Saves list
Andaz 5th Avenue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #50 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
761 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,371 helpful votes
“Different! A Poor Start but a Happy Ending”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Our stay at the Andaz did not start well, taxi driver could not find the hotel due to poor signage and cars double parked by the hotel entrance. Once inside, it was not clear where we had to wait as reception area was not obvious and we had to wait 5 minutes before staff appeared. Once checked in we could not open our room door only to find that we had been given the wrong room.
Why have I awarded the Andaz such a high rating you may ask? Well, once the room issue was resolved the hotel staff were very attentive and efficient. We liked our room, especially the bathroom, my only critisism is with the glass wardrobes, not because they were see through, they were just not big enough to store clothing for two people staying 5 days. Loved the shower, the room size, free non-alcoholic mini-bar, and the high ceilings.
Breakfast was superb, we ate everyday, although tended to have lunch & dinner outside of the hotel. Liked the complimentary wine off the reception area at happy hour.
So, besides our first 20 minutes at the hotel, the rest of the time was great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,204
    371
    112
    37
    15
See reviews for
342
704
102
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was a decent hotel, but for the price I paid, it needs to improve. The problems I had with the hotel are the same problems many reviewers have noted, which concerns me since they don't appear to be being addressed. I'll start with the cons (problem areas): 1) Check-in in has major issues - I initially attempted to check in at 11 am, there was no room available so they took our bags and told us to come back. They said they would work on getting us a high room as I requested. I ended up getting a room on the 4th floor...not high in my book, but I'm assuming it is the highest they had available. Anyhow, they called at around 4 to let me know my room was ready. We came back in the early evening to check in and that is when things took a turn. Check in was chaotic despite the fact that there was only one other couple checking in at the same time. The young man asked us for our name, handed us our key and that was it. No description of the property or amenities, no maps or questions about why we were visiting, no introduction or mention of the concierge, no offer to help us with our bags, nothing. The whole ordeal was a bit cold and unprofessional. 2) The staff is very young and trendy, which fits the hotel vibe, and always smile, but there is just a warmth that is missing. There also seems to be a real lack of organization. The staff always seem to be running around, but not necessarily helping you when you need it. Out of the three days we were there, a staff member opened the front door for us 1 time. That is unacceptable when I am paying $400 a night. I highly recommend management start instituting stations that people must man at all times instead of running around frantically. A person at the front door at all times and a person at the check-in desk at all times is a must. 3) No closet space. The hotel is trendy, I get it and I've stayed at other hotels with similar concepts, but none with this little storage space. No drawers and only a tiny glass closet space to hang a few item and 4) the bed was ok, definitely not the comfiest I've ever slept in.

Pros: Room was very, very clean and the view of the public library was nice. The minibar in the room was a nice touch since it offered free snacks and non-alcoholic drinks. The room was quiet despite facing 5th avenue. Location was awesome.

I stay in NYC at least 2x a year and I doubt I will be going back to this hotel. For the $ I think there are better options with more personal service. If it works out the kinks, I think ti would be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andaz5thAveMgr, Manager at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear lovevacas,

I am truly embarrassed that your arrival was disorganized. It is very important that we make sure our door greeter is present to direct and welcome all of our guests, even though it is true we have a "different" check-in than most other hotels. One of the aspects we focus on is spending more time with our guests than is typically expected - with an escort to the room for our first time arrivals, hotel and amenity explanation, and personal recommendations for the city. It is truly unacceptable that you did not receive this, and it affected your entire stay. I have contacted you directly to ensure you feel the value of choosing our hotel, and would like to invite you back for another night. Despite our modern decor, our team strives to provide old-fashioned warm and authentic service. Thank you again for a second chance!

Warm regards,

Connie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
99 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I don't ask for much. A hotel that's worth the money with good service and speedy and accurate check in and out. The Andaz, a boutique hotel that is trying a bit too hard to be trendy, was a failure for us. It started out a bit weak. The hotel is difficult to find with no discernable marking and only one spot out front. Nevertheless they managed to take the car after we doubleparked and brought in the luggage. They have the oh-so-cool kiosks with young staff dressed in black. We were in quickly. The room was ok, nice modern bathroom, obligatory impossible to figure out lighting and minimal free snacks. But ok.
Nice big bedand we had a good sleep. Excellent breakfast. Brought our stuff down and checked it with the bellmen and told them to keep our car until later. Got the claim checks and went out for the day. When we checked out at 4 the chaos began. They charged us $300 for a late check out (we left at 11:30). The brought us the wrong luggage. Then the wrong car! (worse then mine so I sent it back). They tried to console us but the damage was done. Pay a little more attention to service and a little less to trying to be hip (impossible in NYC--the hotel is so 2010). Please, no canned management comment about how sorry you are. Own up to it and travelers will return.

Room Tip: Ask for a roiom with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andaz5thAveMgr, Manager at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear billyboy18,

You are absolutely right - we should get the basics right before any of the bells and whistles. For us these basics are: an easy arrival and warm welcome, a great shower, a solid night sleep, delicious and quality food, and quick departure. While many guests experience all of the above, we are absolutely focused on continuing to improve to make sure it is consistent. I am embarrassed to hear about your departure experience and look forward to corresponding with you directly so we can have a "re-do" and show you what Andaz is really about.

Thank you sincerely for your comments.

Connie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I have stayed at the Andaz 5th Avenue twice. It is a boutique hotel that is well located, near the library and Bryant Park. My teenage daughter loved the trendy decor. The rooms are small, but larger than most in NYC. The bathroom is very modern and spacious. The free glasses of wine in the evening and snacks and non-alcoholic beverages in the room are a nice feature. The only issue is that the rooms only accommodate 2 people. It wouldn't work out for a family.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andaz5thAveMgr, Manager at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear JPWPhiladelphia,

We are glad to hear that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay, and that you particularly liked our bathrooms. Thank you!

Warm regards,

Connie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall,UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The Andaz would have received an excellent rating from us in normal times - but in the chaos of Sandy they deserve a 5 Star Plus ! The management and staff handled the whole situation in a very professional, efficient and very friendly manner, so important when most of the guests are probably stressed for one reason or another. Also most of the staff were sleeping in as they could not get home and worked several shifts on the trot. Most guests will want to mention particular staff - for us we want to particularly thank "Ramon" and "JD" for their helpful and friendly attention.
The Andaz will be our first call the next time we visit New York!

Room Tip: We had an "Andaz Suite" on the 12th floor - ideal for us as a couple plus teenager
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andaz5thAveMgr, Manager at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear jimcornwall_12,

Thank you so much for taking the time to recognize Ramon and JD for their efforts to provide excellence service despite limited resources during the storm. Your kind words are appreciated. We will all certainly remember this week for a long time to come.

Warm regards,

Connie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naugatuck, Connecticut
Level Contributor
132 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed here for one night and after staying at the Andaz on Wall Street during the summer, I honestly can say these two properties are TOPS for NYC standards. The room at Andaz on fifth was very spacious and I loved the separated bedroom and tv areas. The bathroom was awesome, although we had some company and it was a little odd to not have a door directly closing the toilet area in if someone was trying to get ready on the other side. Staff were all very courteous and helpful, they held our bags for practically all of Sunday until we finally came back from venturing around. Did not try to restaurant or bar area, but the lobby was always a buzz with people. Cannot beat the room sizes here, especially if you are staying for more than one night, feels like home away from home. The free mini-bar items are always a nice touch, and the fridge helps out too! Location is perfect for shopping too :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiesbaden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

loved the "non hotel-like" concept at the reception. Beautiful modern rooms, very comfortable bed, free mini bar except for alcoholic beverages, free wine form 6 to 9 pm at the bar and free coffee 24h. Also liked the restaurant at street level and the downstairs. Only "problem: the blinds don't blaken the room very much. We will definitely go back!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#48 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,148 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#7 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,626 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#14 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,723 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#4 of 468 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 3,015 reviews
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#25 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz 5th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz 5th Avenue

Address: 485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in New York City
#32 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#41 Green Hotel in New York City
#42 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#44 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz 5th Avenue 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 5th avenue at 41st street, Andaz 5th Avenue is in the fashionable Bryant Park area of midtown Manhattan directly across the street from the New York Public Library. Guests will enjoy easy access to iconic New York attractions, like Times Square, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, Herald Square and the Theater District. For a little retail therapy, we are within walking distance to endless shopping along 5th Avenue and are near subways to take you to other neighborhoods and the outer boroughs. The Andaz experience begins the moment you arrive and are greeted by one of our Hosts, who will check you in via handheld PC. Art work can be found throughout the hotel, whether it's 14-foot murals by Carlos Capelan, which glow like fire through the windows on 41st Street, or our ever-changing tbd Art series on the doors to the bar downstairs. But we don't just want you to look at beautiful things - we want to let you live the beautiful life as well. As part of that promise, we offer amenities like free Wi-Fi, a mini-bar stocked with complimentary non-alcoholic drinks and snacks, and 6,400 sq. Ft. Of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Andaz 5th Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz 5th Avenue Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz 5th Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.