We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel with amazing staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz 5th Avenue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Andaz 5th Avenue to your Saves list
Andaz 5th Avenue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #46 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Amazing hotel with amazing staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stopped at this hotel for my 30th birthday and 3rd anniversary celebrations! It was also when hurricane Sandy hit! The hotel could not have been more helpful and accommodating given this situation we were all faced with. On arrival we had an upgrade to a lovely suite room which was great. The restaurant and bar areas are very nice and the food is also lovely!

When we return to NYC we don't have to worry about looking for a hotel as I would always stop at the Andaz!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andaz5thAveMgr, Manager at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear RiaWeller,

Happy birthday and anniversary again!! We are glad to have been part of celebrating your very special occasions.

Warm regards,

Connie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,154
    354
    107
    36
    15
See reviews for
319
686
97
321
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Just finished a long weekend stay at the Andaz. Prefer to stay at Hyatts for reward status, and now have stayed in all Of the Hyatts in Manhattan. Observations:

1) Check-in was a mess. The Andaz philosophy of iPads around a central desk area without a formal checkin desk can be hectic when busy, but there wasn't any line. Stood for a minute with no assistance, eventually an associate looked up from computer screen to see us, but then helped a guest who had a question, who showed up at desk after we arrived. Associate who checked us in informed us our room wasn't ready, acknowledged our Gold Passport status, took our cell phone #, took our bags. Was told at checkin something about 'I'm checking to see what the best room we have available is', and then told quickly before whisking our bags away that 'we have a King room available for you'- same category booked. If no upgrades available, I understand, but don't treat the category booked as a favor.

2) No perfect location in Manhattan as you may prefer both uptown and downtown locations, but hotel is almost in perfect spot. Easy access to Grand Central and 4/5/6 line uptown or downtown, easy walking distance to all midtown locations. Difficult to get a taxi during weekday business hours, there is no dedicated cab stand for hotel. Saw our associate outside the hotel when returning from unsuccessfully trying to hail a cab on 5th Ave, he offered to wait on 5th to hail a taxi, we laughed and said that wouldn't be necessary.

3) Received ph call that room was ready about 10min after checkin. Room was right across elevator-- normally not a fan of this at all but hotel was very quiet during stay, no noise issues.

4) Room is spartan, no wall ornaments/pictures but I don't mind this, not staying for artwork. Large desk with plenty of outlets, one large outside window with automated blind coverage, large cream couch for lounging/clothes, comfy bed. Plenty of room for luggage.

5) Fridge well stocked, I suspect most adults won't drink the fruit soda, there is room in the fridge for your own beverages if you move things around/out. The food is a bag of pretty good potato chips, two ok chocolate squares, and an incredibly salty granola bar.

6) TV has a lot of interactive/smart features but only a smattering of HD channels, not an issue for me but if you are watching a lot of TV in your room it is a bit puzzling.

7) Bathroom is poorly designed. Two sinks, plenty of space, but two extremely bad design choices. First, no door separating toilet from rest of bathroom. I am not a fan of modern/Mandarin Oriental-like open or exposed bathroom spaces, and not having a separate WC is really not negotiable, esp for those guests sharing a room who aren't involved. Second, the shower stall is really poorly designed. The glass partition, like in lots of European hotels, doesn't extend far enough to stop splashing into the rest of the bathroom. The shower is a rainshower head with high ceilings, I'm not that tall or large but there is no way to stop water from splashing over and on to the small ledge separating the stall from the rest of the bathroom floor, you have to wipe the ledge mult times during the shower to control the water from spreading. In addition the corner between the glass partition and the back wall of the shower has at least a 1/3 inch gap between them, so water splashes through that gap and in the corner behind the sinks. More wiping down, and that area has already started to have discoloration and wear of the tile and grout. It's inconvenient, and adds to maintenance costs, and will eventually require renovation before it was necessary. Hyatt must spend millions on new room prototypes- I don't understand how this wasn't recognized as a problem. The Andaz Wall Street has similar shower sizes but not the same problems.

8) Good coffee service in the lobby. Some fruit in baskets but no other snackies. Good selection of papers.

9) Didn't go to gym or spa. No room service ordered.

10) Went to restaurant for Sunday breakfast. Priced similarly to other hotel restaurants. Crowded, had a wait for a table. Breakfast was excellent, recommend the mini brats.

Prob the first choice for Hyatts in Manhattan because of location. I think the Andaz Wall Street has nicer rooms, service, restaurant, 48 Lex comparable in quality for usually less money. Will see what the anticipated Park Hyatt brings. Overall would stay again.

Contact me for any questions. Happy travels!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andaz5thAveMgr, Manager at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Traveljunkie2005,

We really appreciate your feedback, particularly as somebody who travels very often! I’m so sorry that your arrival experience was confusing. We are trying new ways to make sure that our service in the lounge area is personal (without barriers between us and you) while making it easier to determine who should be assisted next during our busier times. Thank you also for your feedback on our bathroom design. We will consider your suggestions for a future renovation of the hotel. While these are not immediate updates, we have been very fortunate since opening to make several changes based on guest feedback – such as our desk chair and lighting in the bathroom.

Glad to hear that you will be back! I hope you will let me know the next time you return, so that I can meet you in person and chat more.

Warm regards,

Connie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The andaz hotel is a very good hotel.
Pros
Clean
Kind staff
Great food
On 5th ave
Great gym
Near the empire state building

Cons
No 'proper' jam at breakfast. You get conpot!
Poor lighting in cuboards
Overall a very good hotel

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel tries hard to be stylish, modern, funky and top of the range.... it almost succeeds.

Architecturally, the hotel is cutting-edge. Public spaces are sophisticated. Rooms are stylish with state-of-the-art fittings. Huge bathrooms have a real wow factor with black stone and red marble treatment. Complimentary snacks in the rooms are a nice touch. Location is great - directly opposite the New York Public Library.

Unfortunately, we found the service to be well behind that we experienced everywhere else in New York. Check-in with the state-of-the-art island check-in system was confusing and slower than a normal check-in arrangement; it was surprisingly hard to get served in the ground floor bar area and it took the hotel two days to find and deliver to us package that had been sent to us using UPS express service.

Some more active management intervention is needed to get the best out of the enthusiastic youthful staff and turn this from being a great building into a great hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andaz5thAveMgr, Manager at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear ClimbingOut,
Great to hear that you enjoyed your room and our public spaces. I am so sorry that there was a delay in locating your package, and that your arrival was not quick and efficient. Please know that we are absolutely working on a solution to make sure that this is seamless every time. Again, we really appreciate your staying with us, and thank you for your comments!

Warm regards,

Connie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The hotel is very artsy and beautiful! From the moment we walked through the door the staff were very friendly, helpful, and accomodating.

I was traveling with family, so we stayed in a suite. I love the views of the Empire State Building and the library across the street.

I loved the foot bath in the shower, and the food and snacks in the mini were complimentary.

The staff left us store our luggage and we were able to check in two hours early.

While we were waiting for our room, I loved being able to hang out in the library with artsy books to look through and listen to the beautiful, telaxing music playing the background. I felt so peaceful that I actually feel asleep in one of the chairs in the library.

You can't beat the customer service at this hotel. When we take an trip to NYC, we are going to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Truly a fantastic stay! All the agents working at reception are courteous, professional and knowledgeable. My room was spacious and modern. Loved the hardwood floors and sleek design. And the bathroom.. just WOW. Great fixtures, amazing lighting and space, space, space.

I dined both in the restaurant and through room service and the food was amazing. Fresh ingredients and beautiful presentation.

Do yourself a favor... and STAY STAY STAY HERE.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We checked into the Andaz in a rush after checking out of the Yotel two days early because the Yotel has no customer service and is not meant for people who want to sleep. The Andaz staff were so kind and accommodating. They stored our luggage until our room was ready and allowed us to access our room two hours early. We got an upgrade to a beautiful corner suite with a balcony. We could see Time Square, the Empire State Building, and the WTC tower from our room in addition to the beautiful library across the street. The staff were responsive to all our needs and we slept great at this place. This is our new favorite hotel and we hope to return soon and to try the other Andaz hotels in the country.

Room Tip: The corner suites have an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Andaz 5th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz 5th Avenue

Address: 485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#34 Family Hotel in New York City
#35 Green Hotel in New York City
#38 Business Hotel in New York City
#38 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz 5th Avenue 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 5th avenue at 41st street, Andaz 5th Avenue is in the fashionable Bryant Park area of midtown Manhattan directly across the street from the New York Public Library. Guests will enjoy easy access to iconic New York attractions, like Times Square, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, Herald Square and the Theater District. For a little retail therapy, we are within walking distance to endless shopping along 5th Avenue and are near subways to take you to other neighborhoods and the outer boroughs. The Andaz experience begins the moment you arrive and are greeted by one of our Hosts, who will check you in via handheld PC. Art work can be found throughout the hotel, whether it's 14-foot murals by Carlos Capelan, which glow like fire through the windows on 41st Street, or our ever-changing tbd Art series on the doors to the bar downstairs. But we don't just want you to look at beautiful things - we want to let you live the beautiful life as well. As part of that promise, we offer amenities like free Wi-Fi, a mini-bar stocked with complimentary non-alcoholic drinks and snacks, and 6,400 sq. Ft. Of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Andaz 5th Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz 5th Avenue Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz 5th Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.